We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty, great wait staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hummingbird Inn

Hummingbird Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very tasty, great wait staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The waitress was wonderful, and the place had a lovely menu, outdoor patio, and relaxed atmosphere. Only downside was that there wasn't a particularly good selection for particular diets (no vegan, very little gluten-free), but for those who can eat most anything, it was a nice stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bikkurinabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    47
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
1 review
“Great bus ride to pub with good eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We enjoyed the fun bus trip with Tommy driving. He handed out tambourines, maracas, spoons to play with the 50s/60s music he provided. He told us about several "sites & restaurants" along the way to the Hummingbird Pub. We had chicken burgers and the Hummingbird burgers - all four of us enjoyed our meal. The menu said if busy, the meal could take 40 minutes. Well it wasn't that long, but we were there for a leisurely meal anyway, so no problem. On our return trip - more good music. A good evening out and a fun break while out on the boat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
351 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Decent pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a good place for a casual meal in a pleasant environment. We sat on the deck for an early dinner. The service was friendly, though not particularly fast. We weren't in a hurry, so we didn't mind. The food was decent, with typical pub offerings and a reasonable beer and wine list. We'd go back if on the island again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Above average pub fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Unassuming Island pub that served up great food with lots of veggie and gluten free options. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good pub food, fun bus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Classic pub food, if you visit Galiano you should at least have a lunch at the Hummingbird. Menu and decor have not changed in years, so the experience is very Gulf Island. The bus driver Tommy is a great character.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GulfIslandsExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hummingbird Inn also viewed

Galiano Island, British Columbia
Galiano Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing