We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sticks and Stones Country Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sticks and Stones Country Cottage
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at Arrow's Run cottage (upper portion) and were extremely impressed by the updated, luxurious condition of the cottage. It's pretty much a regular home away from home. You won't find yourself wanting for anything here. Everything is tastefully decorated, the kitchen is fully stocked with all your gadgets and updated appliances, the beds are super comfy, and the setting is peaceful and relaxing. There isn't much here that you won't like. Rocky and Ralph were friendly and helpful, and we even got to sample some of Rocky's blueberry pie while there - yumm (our boys gave it a 10/10). Galiano itself is a great place for nature lovers. It is much less developed than Salt Spring, so be sure to bring enough groceries to last the trip. You will find the two markets on the island good for last minute supplies, but neither are suitable for large grocery shops. The island is what you would expect - much of the natural beauty has been preserved and there are no safety fences on high bluffs or carved out trails - so bring proper footwear and take care with young kids. The restaurants were hit and miss for us - the diner was good the first day, and we thought good enough to go back the last day, but obviously there was a different cook working the second time around, and we were less than impressed. The pizzeria was only average for us - we've had our share of wood-fired pizzas so our standards were probably quite high. The pies at the Hummingbird Pub were very good, but we didn't try and of the other food there. They have a nice patio and area for kids. All in all, you will feel like you've gotten away coming to Galiano, and S&S cottages is a good choice since it's far enough from the shops but not so far that it seems like too much effort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Ralph and Rocky will go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable during your visit. They won't encroach on your space. As locals, they tell you all the best spots to visit on the island, they've even created their own professional map of the island. The accommodation itself is cozy with new appliances including an induction hot plate and great coffee maker. Flat screen TV too. Easy in and out parking at the cottage site. It is a short drive to the markets, and the hikes. We are the kind of people who like to go out during the day doing adventure things but really be able to return home to a clean, cozy, comfortable place and their cottage is that. The atmosphere around the cottage was one of relaxation. I sat in the sunshine, while my husband sat in the shade. We visited family at the campground in Montague Harbour and it was a 10 minute drive from parking lot to parking lot. We saw deer at sunset, walking around.
We had family over to the cottage to enjoy a barbecued meal cooked on their large BBQ. For drinks we sat on one deck and watched the cook, then to eat we all sat around a dining table at the other outside deck. I love the little knick knacks around the yard, that you don’t quite notice at first glance, but as you’re sitting looking out into the greenery, you spot something. Nice. After supper we all went for a walk down to their beach access and watched the sunset and listened to the waves.
As for Galiano Island itself: the Bakery closes at 3pm! They made good Panini. Scoops ice-cream and burger bar is open at noon until 7pm. The Corner store (which sells a wide variety of stuff) is open at 9am, 10 on Sunday. We liked the wood fired pizza at Galiano Inn. We were not impressed with the pizza at the Hummingbird pub but the service was nice. Cell phone service is not available all over the Island, there are definitely dead spots. Best reception was out at Bellhouse Park watching the ferries at Active Pass!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystic2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We just spent the first week of July at Arbutus Grove cottage. We loved Galiano Island and an amazing time! Ralph and Rocky are super nice and knowledgeable, the cottage is very nice and cozy and very well maintained..
My kids loved exploring the many beaches and loved Scoops Ice Cream. We saw seals, otters, starfish and lots of crabs. This is a fantastic place for a family to vacation!
Thanks so much Ralph and Rocky,
Christina, Jason, Hudson and Sadie :)

Room Tip: Just book it, don't hesitate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I will start by noting that Sticks & Stones country cottages actually consists of two separate cottages, each included in this review. Arrow's Run & Arbutus Grove. We stayed in Arbutus Grove Cottage. Though we did not see Arrow's Run from the inside, it appeared to be incomparably better than Arbutus Grove.

We did not particularly care for Arbutus Grove. There were a few main reasons for this. First, lack of privacy. The cottage is directly facing the back of the owner's home. While the owners make every effort to provide privacy, there is only so much one can have when another house is directly facing them. Arrow's Run, on the other hand, is in a separate yard and allows for a great deal of privacy. We came to the island hoping for an isolated "cabin in the woods" like experience.

Our second problem with Arbutus Grove was the kitchen & cooking facilities. There was not a proper stove top to cook on, but rather an electric plug in stove top. the owner explained this was due to island regulation about only one stove per home allowed. There was also not a proper refrigerator, rather just a mini-fridge. The barbacue outside was also not working properly. The owner was able to start it for us one evening, but after they left for Vancouver, we were without BBQ & left to the subpar kitchen.

The grounds were also in my opinion not particularly well maintained. There were sheds, etc. on the property with tarps, tools, etc. The yard often appeared unmaintained, particularly near Arrow's Run, where it appeared the lawn/brush had not been trimmed in some time.

All in all, it was not the isolated cabin experience we had hoped for on the gulf islands. I feel as if my home in Vancouver has more privacy than Arbutus Grove Cottage. Again, I would suspect that this is not the case with Arrow's Run. It looked fantastic and I am sure the inside was equally impressive. I suspect if we had stayed at Arrow's Run, our experience would have been very different.

The owners are also very nice people and Rocky makes a fantastic Rhubarb Pie. The bathroom in Arbutus Grove appeared newly updated and was very nice.

Room Tip: Stay in Arrow's Run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was a such great weekend. Since our first email and phone call until we left on Sunday afternoon, Ralph and Rocky did everything to make our stay enjoyable. They are great hosters and Rocky's carrot cake is the best I've have had.

They gave us great tips of where to go and how.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dupiotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

My two kids and I stayed in Arbutus Grove cottage early June and fell in love. We even booked an extra night just so my husband could come over after the work week. My 7-year-old daughter says she wants to go back for her birthday and skip having a party. It is in a lovely spot on the island....quiet, scenic and yet still easy to get to things. My kids spent several hours exploring tide pools at the near-by beach. Rocky and Ralph are such welcoming hosts. They make you feel like a friend from the moment you arrive. They also had several suggestions for places to visit and all were right on the mark.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank needaname37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ralph and Rocky were gracious hosts. My extended family of 7, including our toddler stayed for a recent weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The house was clean and comfortable and contained everything we needed to enjoy large family meals. We were even lucky enough to sample some of Rocky's amazing carrot cake.

The recommendations given by Ralph for activities were excellent and we all enjoyed them very much. Some of us were even lucky enough to be able to rent mopeds for an afternoon tour around the island.

We would definitely recommend this location to anyone wanting to visit Galiano Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 604traveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
6.9 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.6 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.0 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#8 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sticks and Stones Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sticks and Stones Country Cottage

Property: Sticks and Stones Country Cottage
Address: 300 Sticks Allison Road | BC, British Columbia V0N1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STICKS and STONES COTTAGE (ARBUTUS GROVE) is a self contained accommodation that is located in a quiet wooded setting that is home to wandering deer and 150+ types of birds. ARBUTUS GROVE is a 500 sq.ft self contained cottage with a master bedroom (Queen bed)+ 4 piece en suite bathroom. It also has a pull out sofa (Queen) in the living room, suitable for another couple or 2 children. Heat is supplied by either baseboard heaters or a wood fireplace (wood supplied). It also has a galley kitchen, with full amenities (coffee grinder + coffee maker). Quality linen and towels are supplied. It is most suitable for 2-4 people. Hiking trails and sandstone shore access points (#53 and #55) are close at hand. FREE Satellite TV and WiFi are included in the rental price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing