We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay for any type of vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sticks and Stones Country Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sticks and Stones Country Cottage
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful stay for any type of vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This trip was definitely amazing. The owners were really nice, and payments and such went very smoothly and straightforward. We also got great advice about where to go on the island. Plus, the people are amazing. The whole island was very welcoming and interesting. Our group had a wonderful time. As a group of teens on a graduation trip, we would be typically thought of as looking for a more exciting adventure, and we got that as well as the relaxation. It was a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ibdirectors2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just stayed for 2 nights. As we were 4, 2 people were sleeping in the bedroom and 2 in the pullout sofa in the living room. It was really confortable still. The access to the bathroom is in the bedroom, which didn't make any problem as we knew each other closely (family). Ralph and Rocky were really welcoming, giving tips to discover the island. The cottage is lovely and well maintained. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annnananana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My partner and I, along with our dog, spent 2 nights in March at the Arbutus Grove Cottage on Galiano Island. It was ideally situated in mid-island within a short drive to wonderful hikes on the island. The hikes along Shell Beach/Montague Harbour, Bodega Ridge and Galiano Mountain were fabulous and not to be missed. We loved our evening meal at the Hummingbird Pub. We had such a great time and this cottage felt so cozy with an abundant supply of wood for the wood stove. The kitchen was well-appointed and the bedroom was very comfortable. We loved the peaceful setting and the property caretakers were very helpful and welcoming. Ralph, the owner was very accommodating, responsive and accessible by e-mail. We would definitely recommend this cottage if you want to explore this enchanting island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Luckily for us, there happened to be a cancellation and we were able to reserve the Arbutus Grove Cottage in August for a spur of the moment getaway. We were very pleased when we arrived to find that this was exactly what we had in mind. A very well equipped , clean and cute cottage nestled in the trees and just across the road from a beautiful sandstone beach. We were greeted warmly by never-ending smiles and were also well informed about the islands' "what to do and where to go" by the very friendly & helpful Ralph and Rocky who are amazing hosts and long time residents of this island. This is a very relaxing and peaceful setting to come home to after a day of exploring the island, which we did extensively during our stay. With map in hand we set out each day and discovered some amazing mountain hikes throughout the island that lead us to very captivating vistas at the summits. We also found some lower-level hikes through beautiful forested areas,usually leading us to the ocean, so there is a good choice of terrain to hike. We also love to beachcomb and the beaches are very diverse in that there are miles of sandstone beaches and when the tide is out we found areas covered in shells and mounds of starfish. There is a beach of polished pebbles, marine caves to explore and a few sandy beach areas as well. Galiano is a true "nature lovers" paradise and we enjoyed the beaches and pristine forests and felt totally comfortable on our deep forest hikes, knowing that there are no natural predators on the island to surprise you. We spotted many small deer throughout our adventures, along with otters, piles of seals on Collision Reef and if you are lucky enough, you will spot Orcas passing through Active Pass on a regular basis..just go sit at Bellhouse Park and you will be amazed ! We also enjoyed Montague harbor and park area and enjoyed sitting at that beach to watch the sunsets...so beautiful. We brought enough supplies to barbecue and have peaceful dinners at the cottage after all day explorations, but we did grab some great take -out fish & chips at the Sturdies Bay Cafe . For a treat, there is also amazing cinnamon buns and scones at the Sturdies Bay Bakery,to go with a delicious latte, but get there early as they sell out quickly ! There are a couple markets and a corner store to replenish grocery items & toiletries if needed as well. Rocky surprised us with some of her very delicious desserts on a few occasions, so leave room after dinner ! The trip up to Stone World is an intersting trip to see the stone carvings of a late island artist. On Saturday mornings there is a small farmer's market near the medical clinic . At this market you will find local produce, baking and local artisians display their crafts for sale such as pottery, paintings, clothing and jewelry. A fun Saturday morning stop for sure. There is just something very pristine, calm and inviting with all the natural beauty that has been so well preserved and Galiano Island is called the "Gem of the Gulf Islands" for a very good reason. Just go to Galiano !.... and stay at Sticks & Stones, you won't be dissappointed ! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaKelowna_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at Arrow's Run cottage (upper portion) and were extremely impressed by the updated, luxurious condition of the cottage. It's pretty much a regular home away from home. You won't find yourself wanting for anything here. Everything is tastefully decorated, the kitchen is fully stocked with all your gadgets and updated appliances, the beds are super comfy, and the setting is peaceful and relaxing. There isn't much here that you won't like. Rocky and Ralph were friendly and helpful, and we even got to sample some of Rocky's blueberry pie while there - yumm (our boys gave it a 10/10). Galiano itself is a great place for nature lovers. It is much less developed than Salt Spring, so be sure to bring enough groceries to last the trip. You will find the two markets on the island good for last minute supplies, but neither are suitable for large grocery shops. The island is what you would expect - much of the natural beauty has been preserved and there are no safety fences on high bluffs or carved out trails - so bring proper footwear and take care with young kids. The restaurants were hit and miss for us - the diner was good the first day, and we thought good enough to go back the last day, but obviously there was a different cook working the second time around, and we were less than impressed. The pizzeria was only average for us - we've had our share of wood-fired pizzas so our standards were probably quite high. The pies at the Hummingbird Pub were very good, but we didn't try and of the other food there. They have a nice patio and area for kids. All in all, you will feel like you've gotten away coming to Galiano, and S&S cottages is a good choice since it's far enough from the shops but not so far that it seems like too much effort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Ralph and Rocky will go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable during your visit. They won't encroach on your space. As locals, they tell you all the best spots to visit on the island, they've even created their own professional map of the island. The accommodation itself is cozy with new appliances including an induction hot plate and great coffee maker. Flat screen TV too. Easy in and out parking at the cottage site. It is a short drive to the markets, and the hikes. We are the kind of people who like to go out during the day doing adventure things but really be able to return home to a clean, cozy, comfortable place and their cottage is that. The atmosphere around the cottage was one of relaxation. I sat in the sunshine, while my husband sat in the shade. We visited family at the campground in Montague Harbour and it was a 10 minute drive from parking lot to parking lot. We saw deer at sunset, walking around.
We had family over to the cottage to enjoy a barbecued meal cooked on their large BBQ. For drinks we sat on one deck and watched the cook, then to eat we all sat around a dining table at the other outside deck. I love the little knick knacks around the yard, that you don’t quite notice at first glance, but as you’re sitting looking out into the greenery, you spot something. Nice. After supper we all went for a walk down to their beach access and watched the sunset and listened to the waves.
As for Galiano Island itself: the Bakery closes at 3pm! They made good Panini. Scoops ice-cream and burger bar is open at noon until 7pm. The Corner store (which sells a wide variety of stuff) is open at 9am, 10 on Sunday. We liked the wood fired pizza at Galiano Inn. We were not impressed with the pizza at the Hummingbird pub but the service was nice. Cell phone service is not available all over the Island, there are definitely dead spots. Best reception was out at Bellhouse Park watching the ferries at Active Pass!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystic2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We just spent the first week of July at Arbutus Grove cottage. We loved Galiano Island and an amazing time! Ralph and Rocky are super nice and knowledgeable, the cottage is very nice and cozy and very well maintained..
My kids loved exploring the many beaches and loved Scoops Ice Cream. We saw seals, otters, starfish and lots of crabs. This is a fantastic place for a family to vacation!
Thanks so much Ralph and Rocky,
Christina, Jason, Hudson and Sadie :)

Room Tip: Just book it, don't hesitate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
6.9 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.6 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.0 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#8 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sticks and Stones Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sticks and Stones Country Cottage

Property: Sticks and Stones Country Cottage
Address: 300 Sticks Allison Road | BC, British Columbia V0N1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STICKS and STONES COTTAGE (ARBUTUS GROVE) is a self contained accommodation that is located in a quiet wooded setting that is home to wandering deer and 150+ types of birds. ARBUTUS GROVE is a 500 sq.ft self contained cottage with a master bedroom (Queen bed)+ 4 piece en suite bathroom. It also has a pull out sofa (Queen) in the living room, suitable for another couple or 2 children. Heat is supplied by either baseboard heaters or a wood fireplace (wood supplied). It also has a galley kitchen, with full amenities (coffee grinder + coffee maker). Quality linen and towels are supplied. It is most suitable for 2-4 people. Hiking trails and sandstone shore access points (#53 and #55) are close at hand. FREE Satellite TV and WiFi are included in the rental price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing