We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice place, the service was fantastic. The place needs a coat of paint and some upgrading though. The bed was old and you had to watch opening doors. The place was built a long time ago so there are no modern amenities. The thing is you don't go to Waterton to hang out in the room so it did its job. Gave us a place to hang out when we were getting ready to enjoy the next adventure.

Room Tip: It looked like room#1 would be good if you had kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Yup, this isn't a bad property at all and if you can get it for decent price you won't be too disappointed. Just be forewarned, that the hotel has not been updated in quite awhile and there is a lot of "deferred maintenance" that needs to be done. The wifi is also pretty weak. The shower in our room was very strange with the hot and cold water "switched" and we never could get it right. The village of Waterton Lake is very pretty and mellow, so relax and go with the flow!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor to cut down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Crandell Mountain Lodge definitely has accumulated a lot of character over the years, and we hope our guests appreciate the quaint and unique experience it offers here in Waterton!

We apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered, we are working to improve on these issues, but I'm glad to hear your enjoyed your stay otherwise.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to have you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had a friendly greeting at reception with plenty of info. The lodge is one of the first buildings you see on arriving in the main townsite so is convenient. We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, a living/kitchen area and bathroom. However the bathroom entrance was through one of the bedrooms. The bed was a little uncomfortable and the walls/ceiling are extremely thin. Also the tv aerial wasn't much use. If you get a room for a decent price it is still a reasonable place to stay and is clean. There is also free access to a jacuzzi and pool place in the town.

Waterton itself is a great little town in a beautiful National Park. We saw various animals including Big Horn Sheep and a Fox within the town itself, and a Black Bear in the distance at the Golf Course. Well worth a trip (or more) from Calgary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, your feedback is appreciated.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is by far the best place to stay in Waterton. We stayed in the winter in the big Grizzly room at the end of the hotel. This is their fanciest room and has a jacuzzi tub in the room. We also stayed in the winter with some friends in a double room complete with fireplace and kitchen. The rooms are very cozey with that real cabin feel. They couldn't do enough for us. The scenery in winter is beautiful and the town is quiet. It is a perfect winter get away! Loved it can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Every room is nice but if you want to treat yourself ask for the Grizzly room. It is located at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for writing us a review!
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Bear's Den room.
Please come back and visit us soon, it's just as beautiful here in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

When staying in this area you have to realise where you are and how remote you are from City life.If it's 5 star treatment, full tv channels etc. then you are in the wrong place. If on the other hand you want clean, comfortable and a warm place to stay then Crandell Hotel is fine. Our room at first looked small but you soon realise that its good. Just a short walk down the road to find a good choice of where to get breakfast or an evening meal. If you are into self catering then there did seem to be limited availability. Weuld certainly stay at Crandell again.

Room Tip: Closer the Office if you want WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The rooms at Crandall Mountain Lodge are pretty small, the one queen bed fills up the space (we stayed in room 8). There is a refrigerator in the room, and a TV too, but the TV only picks up two Canadian news channels, so it is only worth turning on to catch the weather report. The manager at Crandall is quite friendly and helpful too, plus they have a tray of homebaked Crandall cookies in the office. The location is ideal, right in the town of Waterton. When we finished the Carthew-Alderson hike, we were able to easily walk right back to our room.

Noise travels easily between the walls of the room, there was one night that our neighbors carried on a boisterous conversation late into the night. I found that the hot water in the shower in our room was scalding hot, even when turned as far toward the cold setting as possible. Oddly enough, although someone came in each day to make up the bed, they ignored the used glasses that we left out on the table (we had used them to hold yogurt, so they were clearly dirty, yet they were not replaced)

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in a double room and we found it to be very pleasant. Someone else commented that it was outdated and like staying in grandma's house. Well I thought that actually made it quaint and appealing, with quilts and that cosy feeling. The room was quite small but big enough to do it's job. We found it to be very clean. It was in a great location in a lovely town

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crandell Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: £110 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing