We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Homey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We just returned from a trip to Waterton-Glacier National Park. Our one night stay at Crandell Mountain Lodge was great! The room was clean, nicely decorated, and reminded us of a bed and breakfast. We were impressed that the girl that checked us in also took us to our room. It was a nice touch! We had a room with a gas fireplace, and since it was snowing while we were there, we took advantage of it! We were pleased with the lodge and would definitely stay there, again. We went across the street at Kilmorey Lodge for a delicious breakfast, too.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ARGal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Crandell Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2008

The Crandell Mountain Lodge was perfect for us. We booked a room with a (tiny!) kitchenette, a double bed and a single bed. Very cozy atmosphere, with wood decor and a nice fireplace. The hotel is within walking distance to the village stores.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We stayed at Crandell Lodge in the middle of September.
We were greeted by April, who was very helpful and friendly, and showed us to our room, the 'Bears Den Suite'.

The room was fab! If you love bears, you have to stay here!! I counted, and there are well over 30 bears in the room (ornaments, pictures, cuddly toys, etc) and even a bear holding the toilet roll in the bathroom! Everything was very clean and well looked after, the spa bath (in-room) worked well, the room was a good size, and the bed was very comfortable.

As mentioned in previous reviews, home-made cookies are available mid-afternoon onwards, and they were great - especially when we got them freshly baked and still soft in the middle! All the little touches like this make a difference, and we were glad to be staying here.

Location is good - not too close to the busier part of town to cause any noise, but close enough so that we could walk to all the restaurants and shops. It's also a stone's throw from the pretty lake with a view of the Prince of Wales hotel.

Out of everywhere in Waterton, I'm glad we stayed here - it seemed much more characterful than the other hotels.

Make sure you take a trip to red rock canyon - we saw 11 bears on our trip!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

This lodge is situated at the junction of the main entrance road to Waterton town site. This worried us a bit at check in concerning road noise but actually the location is very quiet with little traffic after 7.00pm and it didn't bother us at all.

The lodge is actually a motel. There are no meals provided but this isn't a major problem as there are plently of options in town.

We were booked in the Bears Den. We were disconcerted on being shown the room by the strong smell of soot from the fireplace and the ceiling fan not working (there was a replacement floor standing one and it was mended in 24 hours). Fortunately this dispersed over the next few hours by letting some air in.

The room is situated around the corner from the main run of rooms with its own parking space. Frankly we thought the bear concept rather tacky - I don't need soft toys. bear models, bear pictures and fairy lights on artificial trees everywhere (and I mean everywhere).

The room was a good size and clean. The standard of housekeeping was very good. It was let down by very dated decor with a feeling of something that had not been redecorated for 10 to 15 years.

Small bathroom with bath and shower over (lots of hot water and good pressure), toilet and basin. Plenty of towels. Oddly there is also a rather large jacuzzi tub in the bedroom which we didn't use.

The room also has a microwave and fridge.

Other reviewers have recommended the restaurant in the Kilmorey lodge for breakfast and dinner. It is certainly convenient being just over the road. We only ate breakfast there but found the atmosphere a bit oppressive. We found Zumms (10 minute walk) to be a much better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We stayed at the Crandell Mountain Lodge for two nights during our stay in Waterton National Park. Lovely little inn. We were very happy with our room. Comfortable beds and very clean. The front desk was very helpful and friendly and the room was quiet. Some of the rooms had kitchens but ours did not. There is a very nice restaurant across the street "The Lamp Post" where we had a fine dinner and a very nice breakfast. Great hiking in the area as this Canadian National Park is next to Glacier National Park Montana, separated only by the border between the US and Canada. It was exceptionally warm when we were there (July) and there was no air conditioning. However there were several windows in the room that we opened at night and a ceiling fan and we were quite comfortable. Every afternoon freshly baked cookies are brought out to the deck in front of the inn. Wonderful! I would definitely recommend staying here. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CalicoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2007

This place was recommended to me on the trip advisor forum, and it didn't disappoint. We were on honeymoon, and it was a perfect romantic getaway, with the snow piled outside. The room was very cosy with a gas fire. As previously said, the room is aptly decorated to fit with the surroundings. Darcy the manager was great, very friendly, and made the best cookies, even giving us some to take with us for lunch on the morning of our departure. Breakfast is available right across the street at Kilmorey Lodge. I would definately recommend!

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank AJM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

My wife & I booked the "Bear Den" theme room for the long weekend in April, and have been delighted with the property and the service here.

The rooms are clean and inviting, with plenty of fresh towels and a terrific Jacuzzi tub! The massive king size bed with its log frame fits perfectly into the room's theme. The hotel provides a firelog for the fireplace, coffee and all the condiments, as well as a microwave oven and large bar-fridge.

Darcy (the general manager) is friendly and helpful, even taking the time to give us some hits on things to do and see while we're here, since the township of Waterton is mostly closed down due to this being the off-season.

If anything negative could be said, I would mention that there is some peeling paint in the bathroom. The general condition of the property needs some minor attention, but it definitely didn't detract from our enjoyment.

A real treat was when the wild mountain sheep came wandering across the hotel property and gave our vehicle a 'Rocky Mountain' car wash - by tongue! (The animals crave the road salt and minerals that collect on the cars, apparently.) We've had deer, blue jays, chickadees in abundance while we've stayed here - just adds to the fun!

We've been comfortable and happy here for three days, and are looking forward to returning again soon! A+ accomodations, highly recommended for a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank YieldNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crandell Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing