We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
553 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Okay, I read the other reviews and must say this is a must-see/must-stay at least once. We had a lakefront king room #415 with a spectacular view of Waterton Lake. The service was excellent and the staff very attentive. Good bed and the room/bath were very clean. Whatever we asked for was supplied with no hesitation. The restaurant was very good and as to pricing, etc is a better value than what we encountered in town. In short, a nice experience. If you're going to qibble over price, then there are other options, but then they are not The Prince of Wales!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jelsrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you. We love to get this type of review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    254
    138
    123
    79
See reviews for
196
433
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Montana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I read some of the reviews of this quaint, but majestic lodge...the complaints reminded me of some of the snotty people on House Hunters,( who whine about the size of everything, the bathroom down the hall, the lack of granite countertops...) If you enter here with the right mind-set and leave your need for unnecessary amenities, you will stand in the grand 3-story "lobby" and look out at the most stunning, mind-blowing views ever. And the food is great!

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms are small, but who cares!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montanavicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband took me here for our first anniversary and wow! the location of the hotel and the old rustic charm took my breath away. It really hasn't changed much since it was built and that added to its beauty. Their service was excellent. But, don't expect any modern amenities- there is no TV and only a few electric outlets. But, with the phenomenal view of the Waterton lake from your room, why would you need a TV anyway!

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are a bit expensive, but well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandrasEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
You are right. Folks probably saw pictures of this majestic landscape on TV and now that they are here, they should take in the reality. I joke that if we ever provide a TV in the rooms that it should have video footage of the concrete jungle playing. Thank you for taking your time to leave us the feedback, and we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights, stayed in one of the two "haunted rooms" the first night... Rm510 which was apparently the living quarters of the young woman 'sarah'. Didn't sleep well at all that night but gave us a good story to tell friends! Staff were happy to share stories that they have experienced and stories passed on by guests about this room and the one of the 6th floor (608)... Creepy stuff.

The second night we stayed in a lakeside room with no ghosts lol... had a fantastic meal in the hotels restaurant (one of the best we had the entire time we were in Waterton (almost 2 weeks)

It was great to experience something so well preserved from the time it was built in 1926-27. Anyone who complains about this hotel "not having enough insulation in the walls" or "Not having TV" stayed at it for the wrong reasons. Anyone can stay at a modern hotel for 100 bucks a night but this is a very unique hotel... very cool experience.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are even numbers... the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whippler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
You said it! Thank you for defending us and the decisions made over the years to preserve the historic nature of this building. We would love to have you stay with us again. I am going to choose to not comment on the “ghost stories”, but are glad that seemed to enhance your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Impressions of this hotel depend on expectations. If you're just looking for a bed this is probably not the best choice. If you are looking for a unique historical landmark in one very spectacular setting, you can't beat the Prince of Wales. It is old and difficult to maintain and probably could be maintained a bit better, but our experience was just what we expected and wanted. The room and bed were very comfortable and very clean and you certainly couldn't top the view from the room and shared balcony. The place oozes with history and character in the lobby, the rooms, the dining room, the lounge and even the elevator. The staff, as in many seasonal park lodgings, is young people many of whom are college students. What they lack in experience is more than made up for in enthusiasm and overall attitude. It is expensive but Park lodging in the US and Canada tend to be expensive and the Canadian Rockies in particular are quite pricey. The Tea was OK and the dinner was quite good and considering the surroundings, both were well worth the relatively high price.

Room Tip: It's expensive but don't skimp. Book a lakeside room with a King Bed for the full experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time and leaving this comment. We appreciate our guests coming to our defense, when it comes to other folks disapproving of the decisions to maintain the historic nature of the hotel. We hope to see you again, on your next trip into Waterton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We had added Prince of Wales Hotel into our itinerary, thinking - wow - what a romantic setting, what a million dollar view, what a nice getaway into the wonderful neighborly warmth of our Canadian friends to the North. We were sorely disappointed.

Not only was this an expensive stay (we expected that), it came with some "added surprises" not all of which were welcomed, appropriate for the setting and didn't match our expectations - nor those of the clientele that are attracted to this level of lodging.

We well understood that this would be a "historic" site visit, not a modern facility. But a bartender playing RAP "music" who refused to cut it off, made for a bad initial impression, and soured our good will. The crem de la crem were 75 mph winds that shook the wings of the hotel so violently, whistled so hard that we both had vertigo / sea sickness our one night there. Definitely a first. The winds were so loud, that it was like sleeping in a wind tunnel. We hardly slept a wink, and honestly - the swaying scared us both. We aren't fickle people. We fly small aircraft, general aviation aircraft, so we are well versed in exciting times, places, and events - not to mention weather conditions. A warning in the literature or by staff, upon our check in - would have gone a long ways to help set the expectation bar. No warning was offered. A lapse.

The Rap Playing bartender was special, ignored our request to cut the "music", and had NO clue about what he was doing to the atmosphere. Disgusting, and low brow, low class - for a setting that was attempting to ozzzz class atmosphere. Totally undermined the whole deal for us. We made sure we tipped the waitress, and told her zero of this was to go to the obnoxious and arrogant bartender (male), as he ruined our visit to that part of the hotel. He should be used doing laundry services in the basement, and not interfacing with customers, period. Bad move by the Hotel Manager not to recognize this obvious oversight. Q: How does harp music (in the lobby, tea room) blend with rap "music"???? A: it doesn’t. Rap and 500 buck a night settings don't really match up, in the marketing arena nor rank high for customer satisfaction.

THe dinning room was good; The best food of the trip thus far. The wine list was devoid of high quality Central Coast wines, however. We ended up with a "Red Truck" bottle of mid-low end syrah, with a high end price (40 ish). The entree's were good - however. WE got there 3 minutes behind another group, and missed a setting at a window. No big deal. Ya snooze, ya loose - not their fault, but my bride was disappointed. I made it up to her, with desert.. The hotel General Manager checked with us. Nice touch. Thank you.

Winds and rain kicked up while we were eating dinner. Amazing view of the lake. What we didn't know was our 100 F visit to Red Rock Canyon, with little or no winds was a fluke, and we were in for a night of hell. (see top paragraph).

We like adventure. We love old historic places. We love the history of the Montana / West / Canadian Railroad developed Lodges. However, we will never stay in this pricy, windy, and marginally staffed hotel. Attitude is everything. The balance of the staff was great, but that Bartender burned us, and we'll never forget it. Arrogant. Totally out of touch. He should be re-assigned to laundry services, where his noise won't offend high-end paying clientel.

We could forgive the winds, and the experience of the swaying 5th floor in a midget sized room. That was historical experience, but combined with the arrogance and attitude of the bar-keep (male), that just ruined the whole thing for us, given the million dollar view, and the tiny windy room. All in all, I wouln't recommend this as a stay - to my friends or family, just a day visit.

Write me if you have any further questions or comments: wmweirich@hotmail.com

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wweirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
I am so sorry to hear of your experience while you dined with us. I am going to pass on this comment to the president of our company in order to aid the process of enriching our guests’ experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We just returned from a 3 night stay as we worked our way through Glacier and Waterton parks. After reading all the reviews, we didn't have high expectations, but in the end were very surprised at what a great experience we had. Yes, it is a historic hotel and is very old, but the rooms were quite comfortable, clean, and far better than anything we experienced at any of the other Glacier parks hotels. The staff was also very friendly and helpful with pointers for Waterton's hike's and activities. The food was also the best we had in all of Waterton by a longshot. High tea was an enjoyable experience, even if slightly over priced. We felt we got more for our money at this hotel versus the other Glacier Parks hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DATD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing