We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, Restaurant wasn't worth the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, Restaurant wasn't worth the Money”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We chose to stay here for our Annivesary, the price of the rooms was steep but the view is magnificent. The rooms are tiny but it's part of the rustic appeal, I did have an issue with the bathroom as it was really small and didn't have a bathtub just a VERY small shower stall. I am six month pregnant and I struggled to shower in it.
We had the High Tea at the Prince of Wales and it was excellent so we decided to go to the restaurant for dinner and we were very disappointed. The appetizer we ordered came without some of the ingredients listed on the menu and then my husband ordered Pork Chop(S) and it was only one pork chop (we also heard the other tables complianing about this. My pasta came and there was no chicken so they went back to put it on the plate and by that time it was cold and dried out (probably was under the heat lamp for too long), for the quality of the hotel and the price we paid we expected much better.
I would however go back for the view and the afternoon High Tea!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami_luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to leave us this feedback. You bring up a good point on the size of our bathrooms. They are not the largest, that’s for sure. The reason for that, is that they were not a part of the original construction of this historic hotel, but were remodeled later on. It is good information for our future guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate the high ranking, but are disappointed to hear of your dining experience. Next time you visit, please know that the standard of service that our management team expects is much higher than this. We are ready and willing to correct this type of issue as soon as we are made aware! In fact, we take this type of feedback very seriously, and I want to let you know that I will be passing your review on to our company president, as a part of our effort to continue to improve all aspects of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    291
    146
    130
    84
See reviews for
230
494
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Although the best part of this hotel is the view of it set against the lake and mountains, the property itself provides a good relaxing experience with great views. Lobby seating is good, but the lack of outdoor seating makes it difficult to fully appreciate the setting. We also enjoyed the bar restaurant, it's great service and views. If you like historic hotels, you need to experience this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thanks for leaving us the feedback. It is gorgeous isn’t it? I would like to address your disappointment in the lack of outdoor seating, as there is a very valid reason why that is not available. Although, on a peaceful day, it is hard to imagine, this area can be very windy. In fact, while building the hotel, the process was delayed 3 times because the entire structure was blown out of “square”, and had to be reset. We would love to offer outdoor seating, but it is just not an option, because of the wind at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here one night - June 17-18. Some what pricey but well worth the price for the experience. Great views. Great room - no TV or cell phone connection but who needs them. The staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully, the next time you are in Waterton, we will see you again. We appreciate that you left us the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My family of five lucked out and snagged a cancelled room this week. It is stepping back in time and the breakfast took very long- but so worth it! This town is the most beautiful we'd ever been to before.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollie129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Wow! What a compliment of Waterton. It is really hard to beat the fantastic views! We are sorry that breakfast was not timely, but hope that you will stay with us again, the next time you visit the Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Last week my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Prince of Wales Hotel as part of the Great Lodges of Glacier Tour (which I also strongly recommend). We signed up for this tour because we love the old lodges of the National Parks and decided that we wanted to stay in as many as possible in the future years. While reading the travel pages of the NY Times we read an article on this tour and signed up the following week. Earlier, I had seen a documentary on the Glacier Lodges that described the Prince of Wales and I was immediately taken with it. Thus, of all the wonderful lodges on the tour, the Prince of Wales was the one I was most looking forward to. I can tell you that our stay exceeded all our expectations. The hotel is simply wonderful!!

Yes, the rooms are a bit old and creaky. But that's what you expect in these older lodges. The view from the lobby is stunning. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and the view from our room looking over the lake was the most wonderful of any I have seen. A picture of that view now graces the background of two of my computers. I still enjoy thinking of the first time I viewed the lake from my room. Beyond the beauty of the hotel and the view, the service was delightful. The young servers were so pleasant. Our stay was early in the season and there were delays
in the restaurant, but our server was so delightful that we hardly noticed. And what can I say about High Tea?!! That was so special and sent us on our way to the next lodge with unique memories of our experience.

We had a delightful stay. I strongly recommend the Prince of Wales to travelers seeking remarkable civility in a beautiful rugged national park environment. If you are seeking all the amenities of modern lodging it probably is not for you. But it was everything we expected and more.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake offer terrific views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RER120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us this review. It is greatly appreciated! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

It is true that the views from the Prince of Wales are fantastic but for $269 I expect more than peeling paint on the bath tub, linoleum floors, no TV, no hair dryer, no maid service (at least no one came to our room) and a bed that sloped sharply to the middle.It was also very noisy. I would say just go there for a meal but that too was terrible. Who puts pineapple and melon on oatmeal? The Prince of Wales hotel does! Our eggs were cold and the bacon almost raw. Dinner was no better. They were out of several items on the menu. The dinner that was served to us was cold and tasteless. All is all, a very bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lostintex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time to leave us this review. We take criticism very seriously, and would like you to know that because of this review, our General Manager has alternate fruit choices on the menu, with breakfast, and has personally looked into the situation with the rest of the “protein” items that were a part of your breakfast, as well as the maintenance concerns that you had. The company Vice President is also aware of your comment. The next time you are in Waterton, we hope that you will consider staying with us again, in our historic hotel, and give us the chance to earn a higher rating. We are very sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is an older hotel, so yes it creaks. But, that is part of the appeal! The weather was perfect when we got there, so we were able to hike, enjoy the properties, and see lots of wildlife. Our room was tiny, but just fine for two people. We had a lakeview room so that was priceless. I highly recommend getting a room on that side of the hotel. Everything in the room was very nice. We walked out on the balcony of our room....breathtaking view! The bed slept fine and was very comfortable. I do have to mention that at 4am the wind *really* picked up and we could feel the hotel swaying. That was interesting!

The staff was incredible. Everyone treated us SO nice and really made us feel like we were there only customers. The bell staff was the best! The first night our bellman took our luggage to the room, took time to explain Waterton, pointed out mountains by their "names", etc. Wow! Thanks to him!

We went into Waterton and had bbq, which was very good for lunch. We went to Waterton Pizzeria late night and the pizza and service was excellent.

This was the first night of our 25th wedding anniversary trip. The staff knew this and made a point to congratulate us. Thank you! That meant alot!

I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillkrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing