We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Running on fumes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Running on fumes”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This proud old girl is running on fumes. There's not much gas left in the tank. Everything is tired, dated and dirty. It desperately needs a deep cleaning. The beds, bathrooms, everything is just plain old. The staff is GREAT. There is only one small elevator that must be run by an employee (if available). My trek from the 6th floor to the basement (for ice for my foot) and back was painful. Even the plugs in the wall were so worn they wouldn't hold my iphone charger. The contacts were so loose the plug wouldn't stay in. We had dinner there and it wasn't bad, actually, but the dining room was lit up like a ballpark and we never ate there again. We stayed in 2 different rooms and they were consistently fair. The location is fantastic, but you know that. The lobby just doesn't give you that warm feeling where you want to sit down and rest for a while. Busloads of tourists run through this place on a daily basis so if you are facing the mountains you will probably have to listen to an idling bus for an extended period every morning as it parks in front of the hotel with the engine running.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were glad to read of your kind words regarding the staff. We apologize for any inconvenience in regards to the plug-ins and elevator. I am passing along your comment about the dining room and we will keep that in mind for next season. We hope you will come back to stay with us again!


Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park, Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    303
    149
    131
    87
See reviews for
242
508
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norris, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Princ e of Wales in September, 2013. Although we travel on a fairly tight budget, we decided to splurge and get a balcony room facing the lake. In our opinion, it was worth it. Like most lodging inside national parks, the rooms are smaller than many of the more modern hotels and some of the fixtures are not as up-to-date but we were staying for the view rather than the luxury. All in all, the room was clean and comfortable and perfectly satisfactory.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room facing the lake, be sure to get your reservations early. We made ours in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siteseers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is in Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park and is located in Alberta, Canada. It was one of the original inns built in the park. No elevators (well, not on demand) and we were on the 4th floor so that was a challenge. Dining room unremarkable although the food was good. No Wi-Fi service but, hey, you're in the woods! Waterton town was very cute with a bunch of nice eateries. Room was clean and comfortable but not spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a wonderful visit last week to Waterton Lakes National Park and the Town of Wateron. The Prince of Wales was not at all what we expected. Marginal room conditions, bathrooms terrible, toilet broke, if you are over 130 lbs good luck getting in the shower, decor better at a holiday inn. The dining room was too bright, food was only fair, only the windows had any atmosphere. Front desk staff were okay but nothing special. Most knowledgeable and helpful were the bell staff. Very friendly, willing to help and provided great information about the town. The only thing the hotel has really going for it is the view. By far this was the worst of all the lodges we stated on our Glacier trip. Not WORTH the money at all. It has so much potential but only worth seeing...don't stay better hotels and better service in the town of Waterton.

Room Tip: Absolute only view ---that of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chemistandnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Chemistandnurse,

Thank you for providing us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Prince of Wales Hotel. We were disappointed to read of your experience and apologize for any inconvenience with the toilet and lighting. We will send your suggestions to management for review and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Ann Arbor
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed three nights (mainly because we couldn't get another night at Many Glaciers). I will start off by saying that we traveled during the last week of the season and I hope many problems are due to that, rather than being common. This is a pricey hotel ($300/night) on top of a hill: a historic building with a gorgeous overview of Waterton Lake and the surrounding mountains. We walked into a room that had 12-16 flies (a card in the dining room explains this is a seasonal thing when the sheep and deer move down from the mountains.) Since the flies stayed on the screens we learned to ignore them. Another card explained that, besides the perks of an historic building, we were also to expect uninsulated walls and dripping faucets (apparently ours was not the only one). Even the fire hydrant outside had a steady stream of water pouring down the sides. After getting settled, we tried to locate our keys before going out for our first hike and could find only one. We spent way too much time turning the room upside down and checking pockets before going to the main desk and politely asking if there might be another key. Our bellboy had opened our door, put the key in his pocket and then, when he discovered it, handed it to another bellboy, who put it in his pocket. Guess we were lucky we asked when he was on duty or no one would have been the wiser. The carpet of our room was vacuumed but very soiled. My husband was convinced it hadn't been cleaned in years. The bathroom floor was swept but had dark patches. Unsure if the old linoleum was simply worn from age, I took a wet washcloth and some soap and easily wiped a spot clean. I'd like to think this was end of the year-dirt and that the staff doesn't have time to properly clean rooms between 11am and 3 pm. Ice is in the basement, which meant walking down and up five flights or paying a bellboy to use the single lift. Only a problem if you'd been doing strenuous hikes and were already worn out. We did LOVE the large soaking bathtub. (a store in town sells epsom salts). Biggest problem was that night when we found we could not sit on the toilet without a towel over our head or we'd get wet due to dripping from the ceiling above. We called the front desk and were told some customer probably didn't put the shower curtain in the tub and maintenance would be sent up the next morning. We reminded the front desk the next morning (as we'd again been subjected to the drips) and they said they'd send maintenance right up. We never heard back but that night we once again suffered through drips. I called and politely asked that, if someone was not putting the shower curtain in, could staff be sent up to inform the people above of our problem. Another day and another polite call. Another visit from maintenance who talked to us, went and checked upstairs and then informed us the problem was not with the room upstairs but the roof. Get real. It hadn't rained for days. This was right above the toilet and probably from a faulty seal.
By the third day of dripping every morning and evening I was not so polite. Why were we paying $300 a night and wearing towels to use the bathroom? The hotel quickly credited our account so we only paid for two of the three days. That removed much of the frustration and disappointment. Now, for other things. Unlike Montana, this part of Glacier Park does have Verizon coverage, though if you don't have international coverage it will cost you an arm and a leg. The hotel does not have WiFi and refers you to the Baywood Hotel or Zum's Restaurant down in Waterton. The food is pricey but good. Breakfast was not a buffet but for almost the same price as Lake McDonald and Many Glacier buffets we got generous breakfasts that left us with enough for a box lunch. It was a delightful change from the blander food of the buffets. Food was somewhat dependent on cooks. The first two mornings my husband raved about the best blueberry pancakes in the world and I thoroughly enjoyed the mountain man omelet. The third breakfast was different. Good but not fantastic. The pancakes showed the biggest difference in cooking technique. We ate one dinner there, as the hotel dinners had competition from the restaurants in town. This hotel did have the best view. In the heat of summer, it must get nice breezes. As we sat in the dining room for our last breakfast we had a splendid view of the lake and mountains and watched an eagle souring overhead. While we got in some good hikes, we saw little of the wildlife we'd seen in Many Glaciers. It was a nice visit but we would probably stay in the US park next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

POW hotel is a restored, "old", hotel - quaint - not fancy. You are staying in a historic hotel. Get used to walking up the stairs, as the "ancient" elevator can only be manned by a bellman, which are hard to find. Regardless, the views form the lake side of the hotel are breathtaking - also, there is no where else to stay with any such views. The food was ok. This is not the Fairmount in Lake Louise, but still worth the trip, since Waterton and the surrounding areas are amazingly beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake and better, a corner room on the 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrplDNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

it is expensive but we decided to stay 1 night. thank goodness i read other reviews as our room was on 6th floor. the elevator stops at 4th floor and the stairs up to 6th are narrow so we packed small backpack overnight bags. cannot get key to room till 3pm so we walked around the grounds that had magnificent view of lake and mountains. all by itself on a little hill but walking distance to the village and visitor center. our room was 608 i made reservation online and hard to make out the abbrevations so i got least expensive room with i thought a double bed. we had 2rooms with a double bed in each room . one room had door to balcony and other room had window. nice connecting bathroom with hair dryer and amenities. they said our view was of mountain but we also enjoyed a southern view of lake. so nice we sat on balcony and enjoyed a beer for awhile. the breakfast menu had a lot of choices good food. staff was really nice but we had to wait for the elevator guy because he has other duties also. so glad we experienced this place. even if you don't stay visit for a meal or just to see it

Room Tip: get room 608
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerwen-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterton Lakes National Park
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
225 reviews
15.0 mi away
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mountain View
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing