We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and ambiance but no sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“History and ambiance but no sleep”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lovely historic buidling stading proud on a hill...quite the sight. And what a view! It just can't be beat. It's a busy place, obviously popular..has a very warm feel with all the people coming in and out, enjoying the views and the bar and restaurant.

We scored a super cool corner room so we had windows on two sides. While the view was amazing, the room....well, not so much. Drab and dated with old carpet, soiled in places, and furniture that belongs in a yard sale. But it was big enough for the two of us, and we liked that the sink was outside of the bathroom so one of us could be showering and the other using the sink and mirror without getting a steam bath too. Neat, old fashioned shower with plenty of hot water and decent water pressure. There is a shared balcony outside the room that runs the length of the buidling, so you must keep your curtains shut if you want privacy.

The big bummer about this place is that lack of insulation. You can hear EVEYTHING in your room. We had a terrible time sleeping because of the noise of footsteps overhead (and creaking floorboards), suitcases being rolled down the hall, people out on the balcony, etc. The buidling also creaks and moans with the wind. So if you are a light sleeper and you covet a good night's sleep, maybe this is not the place for you.

We ate in the bar and the restaurant, both of which were not fabulous, but certainly decent and reasonably priced considering the location. Nice service in both. Front desk staff was also courteous and welcoming.

Overall I liked this place because it was historic and memorable. I can live without the sleep. With some updates to the rooms, it could be truly spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    254
    138
    123
    80
See reviews for
196
434
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

When you first enter the front doors of the Prince of Wales Hotel, get ready because you will get a view that is spectacular! The entire back wall of this old lodge is glass giving you an awesome view of the lake and mountains towering in the background. Seated at the top of a sharp incline, the Prince of Wales looks more like a castle than a lodge. I love the comfort of this old lodge but if you prefer new, modern accomodations, this is not your place! If you enjoy the rustic beauty of the old lodges, look forward to views of the great outdoors and can readily live without a lot of amenities, then you will be happy here. The lodge offers high tea many afternoons, has a full service restaurant with great food, a bar with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains and a gift shop who wish to leave with a treasure commemorative of their stay. Rooms include a bed, nightstand and sometimes a chair but not much else. The beds are comfortable enough particularly after a day of hiking, shopping in the nearby town of Waterton or canoeing on the lake. My husband and I have stayed several times and will continue coming back to this majestic place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I did not stay here but made a stopover for a breakfast on the way back to Washington State on September 2012. Breakfast was excellent, the wait staff was courteous. The view was excellent. We ended up staying for 2 hours to explore the hotel and just enjoyed the view!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was my first time out of the USA, we traveled up through Glacier into Canada. The Prince of Wales Hotel was the peak of our trip. It's a beautiful historic charming place. Older "Swiss" charm, but that was one of the greatest elements to staying there. NO INTERNET OR CELL PHONE COVERAGE BUT THAT WAS GREAT!!! Anyone who complains about that is an idiot. That's what vacations are for!!!!!!! We loved every bit of it, including the old elevator (used only for luggage) so you have to climb the stairs to your room, which is GREAT! We cannot praise the staff at the hotel enough. Christian the bellhop, Jana, Stephanie waitresses...they were all sweet and amazing. Would love to go back again some day.

Room Tip: AWESOME views from every side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onthegowPhilandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our second trip to the hotel exactly one year apart. The hotel is very elegant and we really enjoy staying here. The view from our room was beautiful as we were facing the lake. The beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms are a little small, but given the age of the hotel, no surprise. We didn't have any room noise whatsoever, but then again we were here the first couple days that they were open for the season! Not many people. Our 12 year old son, who I thought would not enjoy himself, loved the hotel. He asked if we could go back. He especially loved the "tiny" hand-driven elevator.

We also saw a lot of wildlife, including two young grizzlies that were wrestling for about 30 minutes. Got some great pictures!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake. Gorgeous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillkrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was the most expensive of the 4 we stayed at during our trip to Glacier. We appreciate the age and size of the rooms, but found that some well-needed cleaning and paint would have made our stay more enjoyable. Loved the view from the lobby. Found the food to be extremely expensive so we ate in the village for most meals.Very glad that we stayed there despite these short-comings. It was an amazing sight as we drove from the Chief Mountain border crossing. You could see it from everywhere we went in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake can be noisy with wind shaking the windows - but the views are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is impressive. It sits up on a hill overlooking the town. It is a short, easy walk to the town.
The rooms are small, and not well insulated (you can easily overhear your neighbors). We overcame this problem by running the suitcase fan in our room all night (white noise). The beds are comfortable.
The hotel is historic. It deserves at least 1 night of your stay in Waterton. It is pricey, but you have to remember Waterton is a tourist town. The hotel closes in mid-September for the winter.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 376laurar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing