We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Well Off the Beaten Path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Well Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Tudor style hotel of the 30's is high up on a windy hill sitting isolated above the Waterton township. Big horn sheep are commonly seen around the hotel enjoying the peace and grass. Views are incredible. This is an old fashioned hotel that hosts high tea in front of panoramic windows overlooking the lake inlet. A trip to a Glacier is just up the road and Waterton township below has many restaurants, stores and a biking walking trail that goes around the town. What is overwhelming is the beauty of the hotel and the fact that it has been left fairly untouched from when it was first constructed. Definitely "an atmosphere" and a trip back in time. Comiing from Montana you need a passport for border crossing. Take the Port of Piegan entry and you will be treated to absolutely gorgeous scenery and wildlife. From Kalispell Mt the drive is about 3 hours. From St. Mary's Mt about 1.5 hours. If you came to see Glacier National Park, don't leave without doing this side trip. The rooms are darker and older but retain the real character of the time period in which it as built.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Waterton Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanalover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    254
    138
    123
    79
See reviews for
196
433
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Everything about this hotel is first class beginning with the beautiful building. The restaurant with an excellent menu, wonderful staff, and a view that is 5 star. Plenty of activities nearby to make for a memorable stay, including a challenging golf course. Did not use a swimming pool or exercise center.

Room Tip: By all means spend the money to get a room facing the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL-43915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I went here for my 22nd birthday! My friends and I dined at their restaurant and it was absolutely perfect.They brought out our champagne and poured it for us and the food was delicious! Each of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and we all had different entrée's. They brought out free dessert with "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate. You can definitely feel the history when you walk in to the hotel and you can tell they work hard to preserve it, it's amazing. Also, the entire back wall of the hotel is glass with a view that will leave you speechless. I will be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hexham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

one of the worst places we have ever stayed! The room was very small and the staff unfriendly. The place seems to attract elderly ,child unfriendly,over weight Americans. I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 599annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lovely historic buidling stading proud on a hill...quite the sight. And what a view! It just can't be beat. It's a busy place, obviously popular..has a very warm feel with all the people coming in and out, enjoying the views and the bar and restaurant.

We scored a super cool corner room so we had windows on two sides. While the view was amazing, the room....well, not so much. Drab and dated with old carpet, soiled in places, and furniture that belongs in a yard sale. But it was big enough for the two of us, and we liked that the sink was outside of the bathroom so one of us could be showering and the other using the sink and mirror without getting a steam bath too. Neat, old fashioned shower with plenty of hot water and decent water pressure. There is a shared balcony outside the room that runs the length of the buidling, so you must keep your curtains shut if you want privacy.

The big bummer about this place is that lack of insulation. You can hear EVEYTHING in your room. We had a terrible time sleeping because of the noise of footsteps overhead (and creaking floorboards), suitcases being rolled down the hall, people out on the balcony, etc. The buidling also creaks and moans with the wind. So if you are a light sleeper and you covet a good night's sleep, maybe this is not the place for you.

We ate in the bar and the restaurant, both of which were not fabulous, but certainly decent and reasonably priced considering the location. Nice service in both. Front desk staff was also courteous and welcoming.

Overall I liked this place because it was historic and memorable. I can live without the sleep. With some updates to the rooms, it could be truly spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

When you first enter the front doors of the Prince of Wales Hotel, get ready because you will get a view that is spectacular! The entire back wall of this old lodge is glass giving you an awesome view of the lake and mountains towering in the background. Seated at the top of a sharp incline, the Prince of Wales looks more like a castle than a lodge. I love the comfort of this old lodge but if you prefer new, modern accomodations, this is not your place! If you enjoy the rustic beauty of the old lodges, look forward to views of the great outdoors and can readily live without a lot of amenities, then you will be happy here. The lodge offers high tea many afternoons, has a full service restaurant with great food, a bar with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains and a gift shop who wish to leave with a treasure commemorative of their stay. Rooms include a bed, nightstand and sometimes a chair but not much else. The beds are comfortable enough particularly after a day of hiking, shopping in the nearby town of Waterton or canoeing on the lake. My husband and I have stayed several times and will continue coming back to this majestic place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I did not stay here but made a stopover for a breakfast on the way back to Washington State on September 2012. Breakfast was excellent, the wait staff was courteous. The view was excellent. We ended up staying for 2 hours to explore the hotel and just enjoyed the view!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing