We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly magical getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Prince of Wales hotel is a destination. For nearly 100 years the ancient Giant Douglas Fir beams have held up the walls and windows overlooking the rugged environment of Waterton Lake and the glorious surrounding mountains - and you feel it when you walk in. The building is largely original and the wood work, light fixtures, and artwork tell of time long forgotten. The scenery is truly breathtaking and the hotel provides an opportunity for a sense of timelessness as you sit in the lounge or restaurant overlooking the majestic Rocky Mountains. Run by the parks service, the servers all seemed to be talented and interested young people (university students) on an adventure of their own - and they all wear the tartan and kilts of the hotel which adds to the ambiance of the experience.
In concert with the natural beauty and wildlife of the park, the Prince of Wales really is a unique and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gweneverium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had tea and stayed here 2 nights. The views from the very tiny rooms are breathtaking! Be warned: it is very windy. Is it worth it? A resounding yes! Is it for everyone? no. It is old and small and maybe to some, rundown. But it is charming and romantic and I loved it! I will be back. The staff was accommodating and very pleasant. The scenery is spectacular right outside your door. This is a hidden gem. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Ask beforehand which ones are less "windy".
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalenalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea and the view was superb! For $30 it was good value, having read other reviews if you expect 5 star go elsewhere. The staff were friendly and attentive. The sweet pastries were a bit dry, the savory sandwiches were fresh, tasty and made in house. If you want a relaxing afternoon to enjoy the view and have tea I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank PanoKnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is one of the true iconic hotels in the Rocky Mountains, be it in Canada or the USofA. It has been around for over almost 90 years but you'd never know it by the way it is kept up. It is located on a hill overlooking Waterton Lake and is very elegant.(see the photos on their website). And the view of the lake from the dining room is spectacular. Excellent dining room where "high tea" is held in the afternoon. And since it is on a hill overlooking the lake and the Waterton townsite, it is very quiet. Rooms might be a tad small, but that is to be expected with a building that is pushing 90. Don't stay anywhere else in the area...this IS the place. But PLAN AHEAD, if you know what I mean. :)

Room Tip: Obviously you would want a room overlooking the lake. Which is one reason why I wrote "PLAN AH...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwhubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Tudor style hotel of the 30's is high up on a windy hill sitting isolated above the Waterton township. Big horn sheep are commonly seen around the hotel enjoying the peace and grass. Views are incredible. This is an old fashioned hotel that hosts high tea in front of panoramic windows overlooking the lake inlet. A trip to a Glacier is just up the road and Waterton township below has many restaurants, stores and a biking walking trail that goes around the town. What is overwhelming is the beauty of the hotel and the fact that it has been left fairly untouched from when it was first constructed. Definitely "an atmosphere" and a trip back in time. Comiing from Montana you need a passport for border crossing. Take the Port of Piegan entry and you will be treated to absolutely gorgeous scenery and wildlife. From Kalispell Mt the drive is about 3 hours. From St. Mary's Mt about 1.5 hours. If you came to see Glacier National Park, don't leave without doing this side trip. The rooms are darker and older but retain the real character of the time period in which it as built.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Waterton Lake.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montanalover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Everything about this hotel is first class beginning with the beautiful building. The restaurant with an excellent menu, wonderful staff, and a view that is 5 star. Plenty of activities nearby to make for a memorable stay, including a challenging golf course. Did not use a swimming pool or exercise center.

Room Tip: By all means spend the money to get a room facing the lake and mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AL-43915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I went here for my 22nd birthday! My friends and I dined at their restaurant and it was absolutely perfect.They brought out our champagne and poured it for us and the food was delicious! Each of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and we all had different entrée's. They brought out free dessert with "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate. You can definitely feel the history when you walk in to the hotel and you can tell they work hard to preserve it, it's amazing. Also, the entire back wall of the hotel is glass with a view that will leave you speechless. I will be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: £134 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing