We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation to the park.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterton Glacier Suites
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation to the park.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The stay was great. The rooms were nice and the views really good. Came out the first morning to a bunch of deer not 20 feet away. Jacuzzi was nice as well. The only recommendation I would make is a few more tv channels as I think only 6 or 7 were on at the time. They serve a nice breakfast in the morning and everyone there is very nice and polite. Overall I was pleased with the stay and recommend going around this time to avoid any Banff like crowds.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pookbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    125
    63
    26
    13
See reviews for
86
205
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and it is an ok hotel. The deluxe (regular) suites did not have a tv in the bedroom which we did not like. So, we upgraded to a "romantic" suite. The fireplace started making a really loud, weird sound so we turned that off. They only have about 10 channels on the tv. I would try another hotel before I stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyenne2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertonalberta, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Suites, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello - I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. The Deluxe Suite only have a TV in the living room and not in the bedroom, we have never had a request for an additional TV but i will bring that to the attention of the ownership. I know you upgraded to Romantic Suite and i do not know what the noise in the fireplace was but i have informed maintenance and they will look into it. I wanted to mention that there is no cable TV in Waterton Park and we offer more satellite channels then any other hotel. We also include a DVD player in every room and over 150 DVD's available complimentary for our guests. We will work harder to make sure you have the best experience next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

stayed at the Waterton Glacier Suites for our 20th Anniversary.
Nice rooms,good family style breakfast.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Will be returning again as it was a restful relaxing time.
opened the patio doors in the morning to be confronted by the local wild life,good to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in Romantic suite # 201.Front Desk staff were great and our Check in was very prompt and we were allowed to check in at 1pm and our room was great with Jaccuzi and fire place.The breakfast served in the cafe was excellent.

Room Tip: Call and speak to the Manager to get Room # 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here in winter, and during the winter season there are only two options for accommodations in Waterton Lakes National Park. That being said, we were just happy to have a warm cozy place to sleep and get out of the snow. We didn't need anything fancy or super-high end.

We had a one bedroom suite which worked very well for us as a family. Our son slept on the pull out couch in the main room while we enjoyed our large bedroom with fireplace in the back. The suite was basic with no kitchen beyond a small fridge and coffee maker but we enjoyed complimentary breakfast each day in the hotel's cafe, located in their front lobby.

We enjoyed dinner in the evening at the hotel's cafe as well which was convenient and offered tasty food. There was no children's menu for dinner but they had lasagne on the menu so that pleased our son.

If I had any suggestions for the hotel, it would be to fix the jacuzzi tubs. When your neighbor is running his or her tub, it sounds like an alarm is going off in your room. This is not cool when your neighbors are using it for an hour at midnight. We actually called the front desk because we thought maybe there really was an alarm or something going off in another room, and that maybe there was a problem on site.

Overall, the hotel is nothing special but serves the purpose to keep you warm and dry in Waterton over winter.

Of note, the service from the staff is amazing!! The lady on duty was there when we arrived late to show us into our room, was there when we had a problem around midnight with noise from the next room, was still there at breakfast the next morning, serving and cooking for us, and then was there again for dinner that night, serving and cooking again! The next day, yep, still there at breakfast. I honestly don't know if she slept all weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryGirlYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Where to start??

Frontdesk was closed upon arrival and had to call to have on dutie manager come from their room to check us in. Didn't have to wait long but it would have been nice to be greeted after a long drive in the snow to arrive at the Hotel.

Upon checking in we were told we were staying in room 202 to try the keys to have another guest answer the door. (Sorry for waking you up!) to look at the keys to find out we were at the other end of the hotel.

Found blood on the duevet shortly after check-in but since frontdesk was closed couldn't get the duevet changed.

Went out the next day and upon return found housekeeping had sort of serviced our room and could only tell by the towels left outside our door as the toilet wasn't cleaned, towels had been hung back up that we wanted replaced, jacuzzi wasn't cleaned, floor wasn't vaccum and bloody duevet was still on the bed.

When we complained at the frontdesk to the manager; we didn't even get a sorry or anything but he after a bit of pushing he final took 10% off the stay. (not much considering the issues we found)

Will not stay here again as it wasn't worth the price or the trouble to travel during off season to this hotel. Next time we are camping if we go back to Waterton Lakes at all!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banff_Bear31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertonalberta, Owner at Waterton Glacier Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I want to first apologize that you were not happy with your stay with us or for your stay in Waterton Lakes National Park as a whole as your other reviews in Waterton have showed. Waterton is a very quiet place in the winter and it sounds like you were not aware of that being from Banff. We close the front desk early as it is very quiet however as you said as soon as you called , someone arrived very quickly. Upon check in you were given the correct key to room 209, i am sorry if you mis heard or did not read your key tag/ check in form and tried to open the wrong door. When you found blood you should have called as that takes you straight to night manager and they would have changed it for you right away, in fact you didn't tell anyone until you check out. We checked at that time and found no stains of any kind on the duvet and our duvets are white. Perhaps we missed it but they were all washed after your stay. I am very sorry you did not find your housekeeping up to par, The towels were re hung as we have a sign in all our guest rooms that say " if you would like your towels changed to leave them in the tub", they were on the counter so we thought you would re use and they were hung. Fresh towels were left inside the room as we have outside hallways and they cannot be left outside. We have spoke to the housekeeping manager and told them to do a more thorough job. After reading your reviews of the rest of the park i find it upsetting that you just could not appreciate one of the most beautiful places on the planet , Perhaps the summer is more your speed when everything is open as you say there was "nothing to do" , maybe you enjoy the hustle and bustle of Banff which Waterton is not.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for three nights December 26 to 29, 2013; the rooms were clean, spacious, warm and inviting. You could not hear anything from adjacent rooms or outside. There were a couple of issues though. The toilet leaked - had to shut the bathroom door so we did not have to listen to it all night. The jetted tub was in desperate need of a cleaning. Turned it on and black guck spewed out from the jets. Informed the front desk and all we got was a ‘Sorry, I will let maintenance know’, no compensation was even offered. The other was the restaurant. During the winter this is a make-shift effort at best. The tables are café style tables set up in the hotel lobby, while the kitchen is nothing more than a regular kitchen cooktop, microwave and home sized deep fryer. The food served was nothing more than a cash grab; it was pre-packaged frozen entrees purchased from the big box store in the neighboring town; a huge disappointment. We were never told there was an alternative place to eat (with a full menu and stocked bar) until our second night when the cook was late for dinner service as she had not returned from her grocery run. They should stick to what they do best, providing clean, comfortable accommodations and leave the meal service to those who are set up for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertonalberta, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and found them clean and spacious. I checked the maintenance log and you had mentioned the toilet was leaking but said you did not want to be disturbed with maintenance there and that why he was not sent. I am very sorry if the toilet disturbed you. During the winter we turn the lobby into a restaurant because of the lack of restaurants in Waterton Park, we do it as a service, not as a cash grab as it is actually a loss for us. There is only one other restaurant in town and it is actually closed for Christmas and all of January so we keep a restaurant open to service our guests and all our meals are very reasonably priced. I am sorry you felt the food was pre-packaged frozen food from a big box store ,we actually make everything in house. I want to apologize if you were not told about the other restaurant in town, we work very closely with them as we are a close knit community. I hope you will give as another try to meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Glacier Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Glacier Suites

Property: Waterton Glacier Suites
Address: 107 Wildflower Ave | Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterton Glacier Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterton Glacier Suites is Waterton's newest and highest rated hotel. We have three different types of suites - Deluxe, Romantic and Loft Suites with two full bathrooms! This all suite property boasts a fireplace, jetted tub, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, in room safes and heavenly bedding in all our rooms. We are located in the center of the village and we are a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterton Glacier Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Glacier Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Waterton Glacier
Waterton Glacier Suites Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing