We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, friendly and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waterton Lakes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Mountain Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. Rooms are basic (painted cinder block walls, tinny shower cubicles, limited clothes storage space), but clean, warm and comfortable - particularly the bed, which seemed very new.

There is a gas BBQ for guests' use, as well as a microwave, and unlimited tea and coffee while the office is open.

Internet access is variable, but I was able to deal with urgent emails most of the time, with a bit of patience,

The motel is close to various places to eat, a few minutes from the grocery store and very close to the pier.

Great location, good prices, nice staff. If you are visiting to explore the great outdoors, do you need anything more?

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    98
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
55
121
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I'm giving this five stars -- not because it's a five-star hotel: it isn't! -- but because it does what it sets out to very, very well. Bear Mountain Motel is an inexpensive, family-run 1950s motel in the centre of Waterton's village. It's a little bit like stepping into a time warp - in a good way! The accommodation is basic but clean. We had a two bedroom suite with a double bed in each room plus a double sofa-bed in the living room. There was a small table and two chairs, a TV, a fridge, and a basic shower room. Everything worked, we had ample hot water and towels, the sheets were proper cotton and everything was spotless. There were pretty, patchwork covers on the beds, but not much other decor. In other words it was a perfect base from which to explore the gorgeous National Park we were in. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the free Wifi worked, and there was free tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the office. Outside each room there are a couple of wooden deck-chairs and a table with an ashtray. We stayed for five days and could easily have stayed longer. We will definitely be back to stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: There are many different configurations available - no two rooms / suites are the same. It is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashcroft, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very small tinny shower in a very small bathroom. No A/C and to prop up the windows with a stick for some air.....you are kidding ? Small room with clean sheets and you can park at the door of the unit. Not much more to be said except would not stay here again. Will certainly visit this overpriced area again but will stay in the nearest town (Pincher Creek) about 30 miles away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bed room because my husband is a little noisy (understatement) sleeping. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was newly remodeled, and the chairs outside the room were fun though crowded. Put my feet up on the bumper of our car. There was a microwave by the ice machine which we took advantage of and the coffee in the office was good and a necessity. Waterton is extremely expensive to eat out in and I don't always want a full meal. We brought microwavable soup dinners with us from the states and ate them a couple times. Enjoyed Pearl's Pantry for breakfast and internet connection. We were there after the crowds had left so everyone we met was nice and seemed to want your business. (Except the ice cream shop where the young clerks had attitude.) Take a book and an ipod because there's no TV or entertainment.

Room Tip: 2 bed rooms was a wonderful luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiftyfun__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Really, the lady at the check in desk handed me two sets of ear plugs when I checked in! I asked if it was really that bad and she said, "NO, but some people are just so sensitive!"

We found it to be very quiet in mid September. The coffee and tea in the office were appreciated. We had a room with a kitchenette and plenty of room for two people. Our room was on the first floor with no one above us and parking was available right outside.

The price was reasonable and we enjoyed staying here and plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becki1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

yes, this motel is 50's style but its very clean and the beds are comfortable. Its also in the middle of the town and the coffee is always on. Most of all, its about half the price of anyway else in Waterton townsite. Have stayed there twice now and will not be looking for anywhere else when we visit. Would recommend that you see if the upstairs room is available - and if you are travelling in a group (family or otherwise) there are units with more than one bedroom up there, we stayed before with friends in the 2 bedroom suite - just like having your own apartment with a big lounge area - great for a group!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Waterton is a small town where motel space is at a minimum. This small motel had the most reasonable rates of the others in town. Rooms have Wify with passcode, are very clean, have nice beds and free parking. The office provides free regular brewed coffee and hot chocolate all day. A friend of mine and I stayed two nights and we were able to get a two bedroom "room" which was a very nice upgrade and break from the tent camping we had been doing. The motel is a very short walk to the boat dock to take a boat to the very cool Crypt Lake Hike, or to take a boat to the end of the lake and back to see eagles, bears, etc. A reason I rated this hotel as excellent is because I left behind a pair of earrings. They were at the office when I called, and the motel shipped them back to me back in the states. Hard to find that kind of honesty. I also got two very good nights of sleep there.

Room Tip: It is going to be hard to find any quiet motel room in Waterton because it is such a small town with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Motel

Property: Bear Mountain Motel
Address: 208 Mountainview Rd., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada (Formerly El Cortez)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Motel Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Bear Mountain Hotel
Bear Mountain Motel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing