We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rockin on the Billows” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mills Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mills Landing
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rockin on the Billows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had an Oct. fishing trip with my daughter and grandson at Mills Landing. Loved the view and ambience of the west coast setting. Gerry and Diane were helpful and friendly. Gerry had an engaging sense of humour and helped a nervous grandmother enjoy a first fishing experience on the open sea. Knowledge of the sea creatures and fishing instructions added to the joy 5 day experience. Well worth the 88 km trip over the logging road from Port Alberni.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I recently took my mother and my 16 year old autistic son to Mills Landing for 5 days of fun and fishing. Jerry and Dianne the owners were excellent with us. The accomodations were perfect and they make you feel like family! We chartered a day of fishing and Jerry was terrific with my son. I have never seen him so engaged in an activity and Jerry was terrific at answering all the questions my son had. Not once did my son ask to go home which is really something! I would definitely recommend Mills Landing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleG841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Canada, Mills landing is a Gem!
The simple cottages are well equipped and extremely clean. Gerry and Diane treat us like family.

Can't wait to get back.

Dave K.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have stayed at Mills Landing a few times and the new owners have made made great improvements. The cabins are comfortable and cozy with furniture and bedding up grades. Each cabin even has satillite TV even though we did not use it that much. Jerry has really improved the packaging and freezing. We liked the improvments to the cleaning station as it has a feeling of comadery. It has become a local and guest place to hang out and swap fish stories..!! Jerry makes his guests feel like friends not just customers. As always the guides, are awesome and Jeff is probably one of the best guides in Bamfield. Nish finds the Fish! Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just finished our 2nd annual visit to Jerry and Diane at Mills Landing and again came away with a very pleasant experience. The guide Jeff was excellent, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. A great spot for a couple of days and came away with enough fish for the winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzDenroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Caught over 80 lbs of fish in 3 days. They processed and packed all of it for us. Friendly welcome when we arrived with a relaxing 10 minute board walk along the ocean. Rooms were clean and nice. Helped us with fishing permits, styrofoam coolers for the way home and EVERYTHING in between. There guide Jeff was AWESOME! Even took us to his secret honey hole for fishing. Safety on the water was important to the guide, nice to see, I had family with me. My daughter was thrilled with her 42 lb. Hali that she caught! Can't imagine anything that would have made this trip better!!! I'm in for next year!

Room Tip: Remember to bring rain gear and gum boots. Also if you get sea sick bring meds to help you through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed for an overnight visit and just loved the place.In rural and rustic Bamfield this place offers just what you need.Friendly owners,clean rooms with everything you need,full kitchen,bath,shower etc.Nice views.This is where I would recommend for any friends and family that wanted to visit the area for recreational purposes.Went out with Jeff the resident fishing guide and he makes the whole experience that much better.Very knowledgable and reflects the friendliness of the ownership

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamfield
40.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
40.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Bamfield Motel
Bamfield Motel
#1 of 2 in Bamfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Eagle Nook Resort
Eagle Nook Resort
#5 of 13 in Barkley Sound
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
38.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
20.3 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mills Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mills Landing

Property: Mills Landing
Address: 295 Boardwalk, Bamfield, British Columbia V0R 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Bamfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Bamfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mills Landing is a small oceanfront resort on the west coast of Vancouver Island. We cater to people looking for exceptional marine and fishing adventures, and pride ourselves in providing exceptional service in Bamfield BC, Vancouver Island's most historic coastal fishing village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing