We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bamfield Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Eagle Lodge

Imperial Eagle Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Imperial Eagle Lodge
Gulf Islands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bamfield Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This well known lodge now has energetic new owners who are working hard to make the Imperial Eagle a Bamfield icon. The 5 cabins are all undergoing renovations and all will soon have kitchens added so that guests can prepare their own meals. Located on an acre of gardens overlooking the inlet, The Imperial Eagle is perfectly located for explorations of the area, and both Don and Dianne are impeccable, genial hosts. We were thrilled to discover this place and this wild part of our coast. Anyone can go to Long Beach, but those wanting a special experience should opt for Bamfield. Definitely take the Frances Barkley working boat and enjoy the half day trip there rather than trying to drive that killer logging road in from Port Alberni.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank movingmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We paid 200.00 a nite for 2.We stayed 3 nites the garbage was not emptied,no fresh towels.The room was hardly big enough for 2 to do anything but sleep,which was good because there was no TV,clock,phone,coffee maker,DVD.On the up side it was quiet,grounds well kept.The hosts friendly.I wish we would have done the food package as everyone said it was the best food in town,.that would have added 150.00(per day for 2) to the tab. As it was we were never even offered coffee.Even Motel 6 has coffee in the lobby!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FisherGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Road
Level Contributor
400 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed here on a voyage that the Uchuck III does once a year from Victoria to Gold River. Our stay at the Imperial Eagle Lodge was part of the package rather than something we'd chosen ourselves, so our expectations were modest. What a surprise! Our three-course dinner and our breakfast were both excellent, easily on a par with the best small hotels we've stayed at elsewhere. Karen, our hostess, was very pleasant, and our room was small but very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

We recently spent a week at The Imperial Eagle Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, the grounds well maintained. The food was excellent, the owners were friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin which was small (it would be close quarters for two couples) but well equiped with a fridge, stove, double sink and all the necessary cooking equipment. As well there was a small deck in front of the cabin with a nice new barbeque. We had breakfast and dinner in the Lodge most of the time, however, we cooked our own dinner in our cabin two evenings.

The meals in the Lodge were always very good. Breakfast was different
every day. Blueberry pancakes one day, french toast or scrambled eggs
the next. The eggs benedict we were served on the last day were particularily good with a thick slice of ham and a good sauce bernais. As well there was always a bowl of fresh fruit salad served at breakfast.

For dinner they generally alternated between fish one night and meat the next. We had lamb chops one night, prosciutto wrapped scallops the next. The halibut fillet we had on the third night was my favorite. There was a fresh green salad most evenings with a variety of greens and fresh herbs usually decorated with edible flowers. Desert was often a homemade pie with ice cream or something similar.

No television or radio in the cabin, which I certainly didn't miss but some people might. No phone in the cabin either, there's a pay phone a brisk 3 or 4 minute walk away.

We talked to quite a few people during our stay and the general consensus seemed to be The Imperial Eagle provided the best meals included (breakfast and dinner) accommodations in Bamfield.

  • Liked — Good Food
  • Disliked — Cabin was little small
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamfield
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Eagle Lodge

Property: Imperial Eagle Lodge
Address: Box 59, Bamfield, British Columbia V0R 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Bamfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Bamfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing