We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and friendly but ! but ! but !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Reviewed 2 August 2010

An old Hotel in the process of being renovated. Charming lobby with friendly staff but needs proper reception desk with people in attendance. Rooms are clean and adequate, but water facing rooms noisy because of the paper mill. Poor water pressure, a shower that did not work and the fact you have to wait five minutes for warm water was a downer also the mattress and pillows had seen better days. I think a decent mattres and hot water for a hotel would be a prerequisite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

Perhaps we were expecting too much, but we were disappointed with the hotel. The exterior is very run down, and though some interior areas have been renovated, there remains much to be done to restore this building to even a shadow of its former glory. In the middle of tourist season, there was no reception desk, much less any other service. We checked in at the Cold Beer & Wine store at the back of the building. In the morning we dropped the room key through a slot in the door of the store. (Not a soul around.) Upon exiting to the parking lot (at 7 a.m.), it appeared we were possibly the only guests that night. The "ocean view" was obstructed by the pulp mill which is directly in front and across the street from the hotel.
However, the room itself was clean, and for one night it was adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband are interested in heritage hotels so decided to stay at the Rodmay. Upon arrival it was very concerning as the hotel did not appear to be renovated as the pictures on the internet had indicated. The reception was the same location of the liquor store located at the rear of the hotel. We insisted on checking out the room before staying. The rooms were not renovated as shown on the internet. they were not renovated at all. We forfeited the money we had paid when we reserved the room our one nights. They would not reimburse our money nor would they respond to our phone calls or emails.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nella52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

The Rodmay hotel is an affordable option for travelers who like to go off the beaten track. I was interested in checking out the architecture of the Townsite area, now a national historic site, and this hotel is right in the heart of it. Service was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawayvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I cannot say enough about how pleased I was about my stay here. I came during the holidays and the staff was more than accomodating for my not having called ahead. The woman I dealt with, Linda, was friendly and personable and went out of her way to ensure I had a pleasant stay. The atmosphere was calm and quiet, making a restful sleep easy to come by. The bed was comfortable and warm and the room and washroom were clean and tidy, with fresh towels replaced daily. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Powell River for a vist or a business trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdb3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

At first I was a little nervous about staying here, just because I'd read that it was in the process of being renovated and it is almost a 100 yr old building, but I had nothing to worry about! If you are stopping in Powell River for a night or two, definatly consider this place. THe rooms was excellent value, mine was less than $80 a night for a room with a double bed, nice hardwood, free wifi, and cable tv. AC would definatly been a good adition. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly, and everything was clean, neat and tidy. I really hope they are able to fully restore the hotel back to its former glory, maybe ad a nice restaurant. Oh, I also enjoyed the several cats that appear to run the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
0.1 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
363 reviews
2.6 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
110 reviews
12.0 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
68 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Powell River
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#12 of 20 in Powell River
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodmay Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodmay Heritage Hotel

Address: 6251 Yew St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4J9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: £33 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodmay Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful full service heritage hotel located in historic district. Close to beaches, kayaking, hiking, theatre, restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Rodmay Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing