We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table on the waterside terrace”

Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #23 of 70 Restaurants in Powell River
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Savoury Bight is your ultimate seaside dining experience. We are open for daily for lunch and dinner. Enjoy our inviting hospitality in the pub, or spend some time around our fabulous fire pit, quickly becoming known throughout the entire Sunshine Coast as the place for a memorable night. We offer nightly dinner features of fresh cut meats & seafood for your dining enjoyment So EAT, RELAX & ENJOY.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Table on the waterside terrace”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

They have a large menu with something delicious for everyone -- particularly seafood lovers! -- and the setting and view are as "super natural" as BC can be.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavouryBight, Manager at Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hope you were able to try our Ciopinno which is loaded with local seafood and hopefully you will be returning soon to sample some of our other great new choices like our hand-made cavatelli or gnocchi pastas or the Savoury Bites slider medley. Of course with all the spectacular sunshine there is no better place to enjoy these items than on our patio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not eat the food!!!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I ordered salmon it was dry and freezer burnt the portion was baby size and I got wilted greens with some slivers of carrot and syrupy raspberry dressing.My husband ordered the carrot ginger soup which was pretty much baby food and the meals were salty lacked freshness which on the menu it said it was fresh local salmon.very dry but the local beer was great!Save your money order the local beer and enjoy the view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poontzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavouryBight, Manager at Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am so sorry we didn’t live up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on being able to offer fresh Barkley Sound Sockeye Salmon during the summer months, however it obviously was not cooked to your liking. I wish we had been made aware of the situation so we could have had the opportunity to rectify the situation since our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us. Great to hear that you did enjoy the Townsite Beer and our spectacular view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Setting,Friendly Staff,Great Food :)”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lunch Server exceptionally helpful and attentive to our table. Food was fresh. Soup hot and flavourful. Crispy Croutons and delicious fresh Garlic dressing on fresh greens made for a tasty Caesar Salad. Even if you are not Vegetarian the Veggie Burger is Spiced so well you won't miss the Beef!
Thank you Savoury Bight for your Hospitality. Highly recommended :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ofustravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavouryBight, Manager at Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you! So glad you enjoyed the Caesar Salad! Our new Veggie Burger is just one of the many items which are made fresh in our kitchen. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Tried this restaurant for one evening. It turned out to be the worst meal we have ever had. First of all it was so slow. Not the waitress's fault, it was all in the kitchen. It took 40 minutes just to get our appetizers, one of which was a simple chicken strip order. The we waited and waited. After another 30 minutes, my order of fish and chips showed up but not my wife's stuffed chicken breast. The waitress was really going crazy. After another 15 minutes my wife's order showed but the chicken was almost raw so we sent it back to be recooked. In the meantime, I tried to eat my fish. Thick raw batter covered all of the fish under a thin skin of fried batter and the fish tasted like it was really, really old. When we asked about my wife's order after another 15 minutes, the waitress came back to tell us it had been thrown out! So after almost 2 hours my wife had no food. Of course we left at that point :(.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavouryBight, Manager at Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I cannot apologize enough for your experience. We rely heavily on seasonal staff and often things don’t go as smoothly as we would like when bringing new people onboard. In this case the fault was not entirely with the kitchen, however as a result of both the wait time and the way the chicken was cooked we have made some major changes to our menu and procedures.

I can appreciate how you must view the Savoury Bight. However, if you would like to contact us directly, perhaps we could persuade you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad food, poor service.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place relies too heavily on the view from the patio. The good begins and ends at the view. Uninspired menu, dirty back house and bad food. Don't waste your money here

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bjornconvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavouryBight, General Manager at Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It is unfortunate you found our menu “uninspired”. This summer in answer to our guests many dietary concerns we have tried to address them by offering a la carte selections which allow the individual to basically customize their meal, and in doing so lowered the price of many entrees.

In reference to your comments regarding the back house - we are regularly inspected by Vancouver Coastal Health & these reports are made public on their website under Environmental Health Services. I am not sure when you visited our kitchen but I would be happy at any time to give you a personal tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Savoury Bight Seaside Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing