We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the Beach Gardens...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Incredible views and the staff are always so friendly and helpful. Lovely beach
close by and we enjoy walking down to the marina.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Arrived there from the ferry off Vancouver Island. It is called the sunshine coast but the rain was pouring down. Stayed on the second floor with an absolute gorgeous view of the Pacific. Room was clean and everything was just perfect. The restaurant was on the ground floor and the food and service was excellent. Never had time to get breakfast as I had to be at the next ferry at 6.00 am. Had to pay in advance which was not a problem. Probably the best hotel in Powell River with a view. Enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Never used room service and have no idea if they had a pool. Did not seem necessary with the rain co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The "new" building at this property felt very cheap adn old, the heater was extremely noisy and the rooms are directly on a parking lot, which is oceanfront. There were a lot of construction types staying at the property with really loud trucks and the room was not soudproof at all, I could hear my neighbours phone conversation clearly. Next time I'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I had occasion to stay in the Powell River on a course for 3 days. I booked a king sized room with a refrigerator (an extra $15 day), this also included a microwave. The room was large and clean and comfortable with a view of the marina. There was a large and modern flat screen TV and a couch and sitting area. Pretty standard but comfortable. No bargain at around $139 a night plus tax. Note: the internet can only be accessed via cable. Okay for most but if you are carrying a Mac Air Book you will need an adapter. Did not try the restaurant as time did not permit, but they have a well-stocked liquor store with snacks available as well. The entry to the hotel drive is very and needs serious re-paving. All in all not a bad stay. Nice staff at the front desk both times I dealt with them.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room in the "new" building. Nice view of the marina and water - hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent one night at the hotel on the top floor which has a nice view of the harbour and Texada Island. When I called to book I stated the need for a quiet room. I was told to upgrade from the $89 room to a newer one on the top floor. We paid $119.00 + tax for this supposed upgrade. What we received was a sleepless night. The walls were paper thin and I could hear the semi muffled and sometimes clear conversation of the people next door, a child crying, the door opening and closing and even their trips to the bathroom. Listening to that alone was nothing short of disturbing.
Though there were very few travelers noticeable (the parking lot was nearly empty) apparently putting those of us who were there in one area made sense to whoever was booking. The atmosphere and food at the restaurant was OK (again beautiful view) but we had one dish of battered fish that was underdone. The rest of the complex looked tired, somewhat confusing in its layout with no proper signage and certainly didn't inspire use of the facilities. I have never felt compelled to write my opinion until this hotel. I truly believe that what is shown on site is the best part of what they have...a view that mother nature provided. Anything man made is starting to lose its beauty and restful it was not!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a room on the top floor of the older building. It's a retro styled room and is in no way fancy. But we slept well and it was quiet.

The view is spectacular - bobbing boats in the Beach Gardens harbour. You can see across the inlet to Texada Island.

We paid $99 inc tax, and this was high season during Blackberry Festival (we had come back to town to go to the street party). The shower worked really well.

I would be so glad if the owners installed screens on the sliding doors. It's so difficult to ventilate the room without screens or air conditioning.

The older building is a bit rickety, but if older motels don't bother you, it's a pleasant place to stay. Maybe we're more forgiving of the decor, but the location is great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemoteCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

not bad. pool is under lock and key from manager which is wierd. we were there to kayak in desolation sound and that was almost 50 min away by car but you are closer to "town" which was good. room was clean, doors windows dont have screens and there are bugs so you need ac in summer and ac is loud. canada in general is expensive. this place was 175/nite and should have been like 80 but like i said canada especially bc is expensive

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
5.2 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
112 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
2.6 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
68 reviews
24.2 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens Resort & Marina

Address: 7074 Westminster St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 1C5, Canada (Formerly Beach Gardens Resort Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Gardens Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the natural beauty of the West Coast at the Beach Gardens Resort & Marina. Relax on your deck as eagles soar through the rustling pines while you watch the ocean for a glimpse of a passing pod of Orca whales. Enjoy the panoramic view of Malaspina Strait, the entrance to Desolation Sound. Deluxe Room Amenities • Located in our new, non-smoking 48-suite building • Coffee maker, hairdryer, TV, as well as air conditioning, private decks with a fabulous ocean view, and high-speed internet • Deluxe rooms with queen size beds • Wheelchair accessible room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Beach Gardens Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Gardens Hotel Powell River
Beach Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing