We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View makes up for the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel was as expected from the website description and outdated however the ocean view made up for it. Doggy friendly but they can not be left alone in the room so we ordered takeout from their restaurant which was of good taste and portion size (calamari, snapper and seafood linguini, lava cake). Liquor store onsite and beach access may be limited depending on the tide. On the pier there is also a shuttle to get you around town if you are without a vehicle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed at the Beach Gardens last June and I am planning another trip there again this Spring. My 3 night stay was fantastic. The hotel was fully booked and the only rooms left were in the older section. The room had a nice ocean view patio, was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, I slept great my entire stay. The stunning view's and sunsets at the Beach Gardens are truly amazing - I have attached a photo (view from my room) to my review. I ate lunch and dinner at the Savoury Bight Restaurant and both meals were delicious! Great stay all around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Had a great stay at Beach Gardens over Easter. Even though it was the long weekend this hotel still seemed quiet. Rooms were clean & comfortable with waterfront balconies overlooking the marina. They have adjoining rooms if you have quite a few in your party.
Below the rooms along the Marina there is a liquor store and pub which is convenient. Didn't check out the pool but the lobby seemed quiet like there wasn't much for amenities there. Only restaurant was the pub so had to make a trip into Powell for breakfast.
If you book here just make sure you're in the newer building (I think that's where they put most guests) because the older sections look tired and run down.
Staff was really friendly and accommodating and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you're booked in the newer building. All rooms appear to be on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALfromtheCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Incredible views and the staff are always so friendly and helpful. Lovely beach
close by and we enjoy walking down to the marina.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Arrived there from the ferry off Vancouver Island. It is called the sunshine coast but the rain was pouring down. Stayed on the second floor with an absolute gorgeous view of the Pacific. Room was clean and everything was just perfect. The restaurant was on the ground floor and the food and service was excellent. Never had time to get breakfast as I had to be at the next ferry at 6.00 am. Had to pay in advance which was not a problem. Probably the best hotel in Powell River with a view. Enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Never used room service and have no idea if they had a pool. Did not seem necessary with the rain co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The "new" building at this property felt very cheap adn old, the heater was extremely noisy and the rooms are directly on a parking lot, which is oceanfront. There were a lot of construction types staying at the property with really loud trucks and the room was not soudproof at all, I could hear my neighbours phone conversation clearly. Next time I'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I had occasion to stay in the Powell River on a course for 3 days. I booked a king sized room with a refrigerator (an extra $15 day), this also included a microwave. The room was large and clean and comfortable with a view of the marina. There was a large and modern flat screen TV and a couch and sitting area. Pretty standard but comfortable. No bargain at around $139 a night plus tax. Note: the internet can only be accessed via cable. Okay for most but if you are carrying a Mac Air Book you will need an adapter. Did not try the restaurant as time did not permit, but they have a well-stocked liquor store with snacks available as well. The entry to the hotel drive is very and needs serious re-paving. All in all not a bad stay. Nice staff at the front desk both times I dealt with them.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room in the "new" building. Nice view of the marina and water - hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
5.2 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
372 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
112 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
22.6 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
2.6 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens Resort & Marina

Address: 7074 Westminster St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 1C5, Canada (Formerly Beach Gardens Resort Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: £70 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Gardens Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the natural beauty of the West Coast at the Beach Gardens Resort & Marina. Relax on your deck as eagles soar through the rustling pines while you watch the ocean for a glimpse of a passing pod of Orca whales. Enjoy the panoramic view of Malaspina Strait, the entrance to Desolation Sound. Deluxe Room Amenities • Located in our new, non-smoking 48-suite building • Coffee maker, hairdryer, TV, as well as air conditioning, private decks with a fabulous ocean view, and high-speed internet • Deluxe rooms with queen size beds • Wheelchair accessible room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Beach Gardens Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Gardens Hotel Powell River
Beach Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing