We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job”
Review of Town Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I made a resevation for four rooms around three weeks in advance. When I called to double check the reso, they said they only had me down for 2 rooms. So we made it four rooms, no problem.
Then I showed up and they were confused when I said I needed 4 rooms and not 6. They didn't charge me any extra, so that was good.
Our rooms were adequate. They appeared clean, comfortable beds, operating AC and TV remote. They were also good enough to lend us a small cooler.
The last night there, I went to fire up my laptop to takee advantage of the free wireless. Hada to plug it in, so I moved the bed-side table away from the wall for an outlet. What's behind the table? A dirty diaper. Now two things come to mind. Why wasn't it cleaned up? And who in the heck shoves a dirty diaper behind the bedside table when they go to a hotel?!!
All in all for the remoteness of the town, I was pleased with the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ft_Garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Town Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stains on the carpet everywhere. Rooms smell like urine. Pubic hairs found on the floor in the bathroom. Nail clippings on the carpeted floor underneath the table in the hotel room. I am very disappointed with this location since it is "the" place to stay in Powell River. I would not recommend that you stay here until they clean up their establishment for the comfort of all.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paraswimchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

This would have been a more pleasant experience if the place had been cleaner. Walking to my room, there was a cobweb draped from the ceiling, and dirty carpeting. Oddly, I wasn't reassured by the vacuums lining the hallway. (???)
The overall impression of my room? Grubby. Dirty carpets, nasty looking upholstered furniture, a long, black hair in the bathtub, and grime around door handles and frames.
On the flip side, there's a wonderful courtyard and the restaurant was a nice surprise even though it proved impossible to get a 2nd cup of coffee at either of the meals I had there.
I'll end up there again only because it's the best of the available accommodations .

1  Thank WearyTravellerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

This is very definately a hotel from the 80's and probably hasnt been updated decor wise since then, however, it offers really good basic accommodation that is clean and well kept. Its best point is the food it serves at TC's Lounge and in the Hotel dining room. Its fabulous and the staff are downhome friendly. I love it .

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank superstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2006

This hotel was previously a Coast Hotel. It's obvious from the rooms that the company now running it doesn't invest capital. Room carpet is in desparate need of replacement. Only a few things new about the room, such as the tv and dehumidifier. There's a notice that - if the dehumidifier was noisy (it was) - plug it back in the morning. Nothing like thoughts of mould dancing around your head at night.

My room had a king bed set up on the wall opposite the window, a couch with large coffee table, table and chairs. Everything (but the worn carpet) was clean. One wall was missing a picture. Big storage drawers. A closet with iron and iron board. Tub had tub surround; bathroom was a good size.

No business centre. There's a seasonal outdoor whirlpool; no indoor pool. The fitness room is available till 10pm. It's the size of a small hotel room. One old and noisy treadmill (with a sign to get off it to adjust the incline), a stationary bike, and a Weider fitness station. No water cooler. The tv in there works fine, but don't look for a remote. The round dial on the tv turns it on and adjusts the volume. The air conditioner in there looked like it was past its best before date.

Staff are friendly, and I enjoyed lunch in the restaurant. Free shuttle service can be arranged. Convenient location to the mall.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 13 July 2006

First of all, this hotel is not part of the Coast Hotel chain. Just returned from a stay at this hotel. This hotel was probably constructed in the late 80's as it has a feel from that time period. The hotel is provides basic amenities. It is clean, well maintained and the staff is friendly. Accomodation options are relatively limited in Powell River. By far, this one is the best of the bunch.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley H, General Manager at Town Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
2.7 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
352 reviews
14.5 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
66 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 20 in Powell River
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Centre Hotel

Address: 4660 Joyce Ave, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 3B6, Canada (Formerly Coast Town Center Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: £101 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Centre Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located hotel in Powell River, close to shopping and recreational ameneties. Ideal home away from home for business or family.Continental Breakfast buffet included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Town Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing