We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet family resort”
Review of Desolation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desolation Resort
Marburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet family resort”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in apartment 4A for the second time for a week. This is great for a couple.
In late July / early August the weather was magnificent. The kitchen has everything you need for making a good meal. We loved the washer & dryer after kayaking or hiking - it's a great way to keep the weight of your luggage down. It's so nice that all the chalets are designed differently. The woodwork and craftsmanship is absolutely magnificent.

We've stayed in many resorts on the West coast but this is the cleanest and super well organized. Clean fresh towels and everything is very practical and easy to use. The walk-in shower is also
bliss.

Management can answer all questions and will give you really good advice on what to do in the area and how to book it. The owners are very kind and lovely people. We are already thinking about coming back.

Some great things to do in the area:

Day-trip kayaking with Powell River Sea Kayak in Desolation Sound
Seafood Buffet on a Wednesday at the Laughing Oyster, a short walk away
Blueberry buns from Nancy's Bakery in Lund
A hike to Malaspina bluff on the Sunshine Coast Trail
A water taxi ride to Savary Island to enjoy the beaches, sand and sun
Hike or bike around Inland Lake (near Powell River) - also has great swimming

Room Tip: Read the descriptions on the home page - it really depends on your needs and size of your travel par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    27
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Lovely location to relax (although unfortunately during our stay, we had very loud neighbours in the next closest chalet who seemed totally oblivious to anyone else's desire for peace and quiet). We stayed in unit 8-2 which is very unique in design and woodwork and has lots of windows with views on the living/dining level. Large wrap-around deck with an excellent working bbq. The kitchen contained all dishes and utensils we needed. Room was very clean. Furnishings are kind of dated and mismatched but suitable for a cabin atmosphere. Spiral staircase to the bedroom is a bit steep and rooms upstairs have quite small windows. The parking for this unit is up by the main reception area so requires a bit of a walk up some stairs, but luggage can be dropped off at the cabin first. We used the kayaks provided and had a lovely day kayaking in the inlet. The staff were very friendly and the resort is a unique getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2cantravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a fabulous time at this lovely resort--not pretentious, just beautiful and homey. Everything is provided except for groceries, and it's a long haul to the market, so best to bring everything in advance. There is some new beer being brewed in Powell River which is very good, and groceries can be gotten there as well. Lund has one grocery store, and except for the hamburger the meat is frozen, so plan in advance! There is a lovely bakery there with a very nice view. The resort is quiet and the views spectacular. The chalets are very spacious, and we could sit out on the deck. There are oysters on the beach which you are allowed to gather with the appropriate license. We borrowed two of the resort's (free) kayaks and took a trip on the sound, but spent so much time looking at a bald eagle that we couldn't make it back, so beached the kayaks and were given a ride back to the resort by some very friendly residents. Josaphine took us back to the kayaks the next morning. Everyone in the area is very friendly and helpful, the hiking is amazing (portions of the Sunshine Coast trail are just nearby) and the whole experience incredible. We loved it. It is definitely the best place to stay on the Sunshine Coast in my view!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreenleafVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Or
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This area was on our bucket list. Be SURE you print or know your ferry schedules before heading this way. It is crucial, as ferries don't run every day at the same time. Check on BCFerries.ca website for pertinent info. Desolation Sound Resort is a beautiful, peaceful
place to spend a few days. Our friends from Vancouver Island came over and shared our Chalet #10 for 3 days of our five. There was plenty of room, as there were two bedrooms and
2 full baths. My husband and I slept up the circular staircase in very comfortable beds, the style of which reminded me of Switzerland. The deck had a table and about 6 chairs, and a
propane BBQ. AND the most fabulous view of the Okeover Inlet, which I believe is actually
an arm of Desolation sound. We met in Powell River at Safeway and bought staples like butter, eggs, bread, cold cuts, salad greens, veggies. Our friends had brought some fresh
halibut, oysters and salmon. If you like oysters, you can't find them any better than in BC.
The chalet was beautifully constructed, with craftsman carvings in the walls in the bedrooms.
I could never think of this as a cabin. It was well supplied, (no dishwasher in this one) with
microwave, full stove, fridge, coffee pot, dishes and flatware, sharp knives, some pots and pans. Bring ziplock bags in several sizes. Very helpful. The staff is welcoming and helpful.
There are complimentary kayaks and canoes, and we did kayak one day on beautiful flat
water. We saw otters in the inlet one day, and a black bear across the inlet one other day, which unfortunately was chased by a dog who was on the beach with his people. Don't know if the dog made it back. Took a zodiac trip with Terracentric Adventures one day, and it was
great. Knowledgeable well spoken guide Christine. Ate three dinners at Laughing Oyster and
were wishing for more. See separate review. It was the most wonderful vacation, as we totally decompressed and left feeling relaxed and very happy. Four days later there is still that sense of calm. Watch out for Josaphine's (the owner) husband Berndt buzzing around in his flying
contraption name Chitty Bang. You can see it parked down by the canoes. The water is warm
enough for swimming in late July. This is bear and cougar country, so be on your toes after
dark. It is also mosquito country. Bring repellent for early morning and dusk. There is WiFi
but you have to head toward the office to get a signal. There is a phone on the outer wall of the office that you can use to make reservations for tours, dinner etc. No TV. My husband
turned on the radio in the house one day, and it was shattering in all that piece and quiet. It got turned off quickly. my fondest remembrance, sitting on the deck in late afternoon with our
friends sipping wine and nibbling on smoked salmon. Fabulous.
Potential visitors can view the chalets photos online on the website. And prices. Chalet 10 was
$300 per night with tax.
Thanks Josaphine and staff for providing us with such a memorable vacation .

Room Tip: As stated above check website for photos of each chalet and additional info. Things like number of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall City, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in Chalet 7 for three nights. Hardwood floors, tile bathroom with a big shower, 2 bedrooms, one with adjoining powder room. Living room with couch, love seat & dining room table. The deck was great & the hot tub even better!!! Plates, silverware, cooking pots, etc are provided, but you need to bring everything else. The little town of Lund is about 10 minutes away by car, and there is a general store there. We utilized the kayaks provided by Desolation Resort and paddled around Okeover Arm. Very peaceful setting. Steep but easy trail down to the dock. A place we'd definitely return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IMHO_425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This group of cabins/chalets is located in a remote setting on a hillside overlooking Desolation Sound. The setting is nothing short of spectacular! The “welcoming committee” behind the check-in desk is comprised of several stuffed black bears and cougars which were killed on the resort property over the years. Pay attention. It is not a large property!
The accommodations are rustic and the furnishings basic. We stayed in cabin 8-1 which cost CN$ 178.08 inclusive of taxes. It had a fully equipped kitchen (no dishwasher) including a small circular dining table with four chairs. An adjacent space was outfitted with a small sofa, coffee table and lounge chair. There is no television. Large picture windows afford an excellent view of the sound. The spartan bedroom had a sleeping platform and the bathroom a walk-in shower.
A large deck faces one side and the cabin front overlooking the sound. It is outfitted with a picnic table, chairs and a propane grill. Spending an evening sitting on the deck is the epitome of relaxation. There are extended moments of complete silence. It does not get any better.
There is a small convenience store in Lund that sells basic groceries and supplies. The Laughing Oyster restaurant is close by and is an outstanding dining venue. Dinner for two including a bottle of pinot noir was CN$ 132.31 including taxes and gratuity.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in cabin 8-1 for only one night. It deserves a longer stay for sure. Lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
2.4 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
10.5 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
318 reviews
13.2 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
21.4 mi away
Seabreeze Resort
Seabreeze Resort
#8 of 10 in Powell River
23 reviews
2.3 mi away
SunLund By-The-Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desolation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desolation Resort

Property: Desolation Resort
Address: 2694 Dawson Rd, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 0G3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desolation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway to Desolation Sound, these unique and fully furnished oceanfront chalets are in a park like setting on an eight acre waterfront property. Our chalets are ideal for your family vacation, reunions, weddings or that perfect getaway. Some of our chalets have a private hot tub on the deck. Each chalet boasts a unique individual design. Interiors done in local wood. All our chalets have a full kitchen, BBQ and a deck. The chalets are of different sizes and the larger ones can accommodate up to 8 persons. Complimentary kayaks and canoes are available for our guests to use.Packages with accommodation, dining, kayaking or boating are available. A whole range of activities offered by local outfitters, can be booked through the resort. The Laughing Oyster Restaurant is just down the road from us and offer great meals with a West Coast flavor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desolation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desolation Hotel Powell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing