We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & peaceful vacation chalets right on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Desolation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desolation Resort
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful & peaceful vacation chalets right on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our second time staying at the Desolation Resort and we were delighted to find the place as beautiful as ever (after about 14 years since our last visit!). The lovely wood chalets are all unique, nestled in the trees and overlooking the spectacular and very private Desolation Sound.

We were in chalet #5, which had two bedrooms and a loft, plenty of room for our extended family of 6. The chalet was spotless and well equipped. I agree with some comments that the furnishings are not especially refined or elegant, but this is a remote chalet in the woods and the furnishings are comfortable and fine for the setting. And we loved our coffee table made out of a large cut & finished piece of tree trunk.

The staff was very kind and helpful -- cheerfully offering us new towels every day and otherwise willing to help with recommendations.

The cabins have decks overlooking the water and we spent several peaceful mornings and evenings admiring the view, complete with eagles and seals making an occasional appearance. Our chalet did have its view obstructed by a number of large trees and we debated whether we thought it would be appropriate in a setting like this to "thin" a couple of them to improve the view of the water or whether it was better to be embraced within the trees. I'm not sure we ever came to a conclusion on that, but if you want an unobstructed view of the sound, choose a different chalet. Chalet 5 also does not have a hot tub, but I understand that it is one of the few chalets that can pick up wireless in the chalet itself (slow, but it works).

The free use of canoes and kayaks is a wonderful feature and we used both. You have to carry them (or use the small wheeled cart) a short distance down the hill to launch. Life jackets are also provided. I recommend kayaking over to the small cliffs on the opposite side of the sound where there is a first nations pictograph on the rocks.

As others have said, the Laughing Oyster nearby is a delight for dinner. And Lund is a very quaint town about 10 minutes away -- worth visiting for (among other things) cinnamon buns at Nancy's Bakery in the morning.

This is a wonderfully quiet spot -- no tvs, no phones, no road noise. It's the perfect place to relax and soak in the magnificence of the coastal BC rainforest.

Room Tip: Every room is different, so read the descriptions. Chalet 5 has plenty of room (can sleep 8) and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kipfenberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wonderful luxurious chalets imbedded in a breathtaking scenery that invites for hiking and any kind of watersports - especially canoeing and kayaking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is an ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature. There is no TV or telephone bothering you. The nearby restaurant Laughing Oyster offers excellent meals and in the community of Lund, which is a few kilometres from the resort you will find a well stocked general store.

Room Tip: All chalets are scenic with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Hans-Dieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The location couldn't be better! I felt so relaxed and close to nature there. Absolutely nothing in the world feels better than listening to the sound of your paddles streaking through the still water as you kayak through the water right before the sun makes it's way down the horizon. The complimentary kayaks and canoes are a great addition! Our cabin was so whimsical and even had a hot tub on the large deck. Lovely European-style craftsmanship! They were well equipped with all the basic supplies we needed and the staff were very attentive in getting us towels.The grounds are pleasant but shows some work needs to be done. I was shocked to find that my kayak emergency kit (obtained from office for a deposit) had no batteries in the flashlights, in fact none of them did! It would be a horrible shame if someone was to be in an emergency and not have the batteries to work the flashlight! Overall, I would definitely recommend coming to this resort if your looking to get away. The price in high season is steep, but the views are worth it! Hope to come back someday.

Room Tip: WiFi is only good right outside the office, but who needs it anyway. Some cabins are adult only. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just got back from our family vacation to Desolation Resort, and already we want to go back!!!
It was so peaceful and beautiful. There are no distractions, we actually got to go away and weren't interrupted by phones and TV. There was so much to do just on the property. By the end of the day we were to tired to even think about TV. We spent hours walking along the water looking at hundreds of different colour star fish. I have never seen so many beautiful colours. There were kayaks and canoes for us to use, as well as life jackets. (thank goodness because we forgot ours). Our 6 year old loved the hiking trails. The staff was so helpful and showed us the best trails to take for our little family. They have trails for the more fit people as well. We didn't get to take those trails with the 6 year old but I'm sure they are just as fun.
I loved the chalet we were in!!! holy cow talk about my dream house. The wood work is amazing!!! Everything was clean and looked like a magazine when we got there. My family is so in love with this place!!! We are ready to go back now!!! Thank you so much for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmieS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austrian Alps, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you love mother nature this is the place for you.
We had a scenic cottage with a great view. Two bedrooms with kitchen.
There is no TV. You dont need one in this environment. Just hike along the sunshine coast trail or one of the other ones ( there are hundreds) or grab a canou which is complimentary. You might also want to bring your mountain bike as there are plenty of trails.
Nice Restaurant just 10 min (walking distance) away.
Cottages are very clean. We especially liked the european style sheets and blankets. It was so cozy.
Friendly owners and polite stuff. British Columbia at its best.
30 minute drive from Powell River where you find all you need.
We got special hiking tips from the owner.

Room Tip: Some cottages have limited internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetstream756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Driving into the resort we were greeted with whimsical tree-house like cabins in a very picturesque location on Desolation Sound. My partner and I stayed three nights in Cabin 1 with the one bedroom option (they close off the second bedroom). It's a stand alone cabin right next to the ocean with a private hot tub on the deck. We thought we were in paradise until we went inside.
The first thing we were hit with was the smell. Someone had been doing a lot of very pungent smelling cooking in there previous to our arrival. It was not pleasant. Even with all the windows open the place reeked. It took two full days of having every window in the cabin open for the smell to clear out.
The second thing we noticed was how filthy the place was. The burners of the stove had old burnt food in them. The oven looked as if it hadn't been cleaned properly in a couple of years. The coffee pot had coffee spills down the front. There were cobwebs on the kitchen cabinets and old dried up food under the couch. Our fridge looked clean on the inside but it smelled so strongly of onion we couldn't use it. We had purchased some fruit that we had hoped to eat for breakfast but it was tainted so badly by the smell in the fridge that we could not eat it.
As a previous reviewer stated: it looks as if the cabin has been furnished entirely by liquidation sales. The furnishings are pretty low end and dated and, with the exception of the dinner plates, the kitchen cabinets looks as if they were stocked with stuff from a thrift store.
There is no daily housekeeping service and there is a sign in the kitchen stating that all dishes need to be washed and put away or an additional charge of a minimum of $35 will be added to your credit card. We had a dishwasher in our cabin but they did not supply any dishwasher soap.
There are no telephones in the cabins, no cell phone reception and no wifi unless you are right next to the office.
As for the service here: my partner and I brought the cleanliness issue to the attention of the staff and we were told that it would be taken care of. When we came back the tinfoil burner liners had been replaced on the stove top and that was it. They didn't even wipe the top of the stove after taking the old liners out and there were black burnt food crumbs left behind.
The refused to clean the oven saying that it was just grease that had been built up over time. They opened the fridge and said they couldn't smell anything so they refused to clean that too.
The owner was so rude that he actually walked away from us when we tried to talk to him about our concerns. Considering our three night stay cost us well over $800 I had really expected a lot more from this place.
If ownership/management were to change I might give this place another shot but otherwise, not a chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wc_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesolationResort, Manager at Desolation Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
The guests turned up at the resort after a wedding celebration and a long drive as they were kind enough to let us know at check in.

The gentleman could hardly stand on his feet and said that he was too tired to finish the check in procedures and just wanted to go to his place and will come back next morning to finish his payment.

They were informed that should anything be not right, they shall please come to the office at anytime where they could reach someone.

Next morning , they turn up at the office and the gentleman berates in a confrontational manner the front office lady and had a list of complaints. They refused to finish the check in procedure . Front office told them that she will inform owners/ manager. A couple of hours later they come to the office to pay.

The resort policy has always been that if a guests is totally unhappy , they can check out and we would gladly help them look for alternate accommodation and there would be no charge for the nights not stayed. When the guests checked into their chalet and decided that it was not for them , they should have immediately come to the office and discussed it with the office staff.
Neither did they ask to check out after a night stay despite their complaints.

The guests in no way considered checking out , an option but decided to stay the three nights despite having a miserable time as they claim. This is remarkable considering the long list of complaints that they posted on this review.

Every now and then , there will be an unhappy guests where nothing is done right.

We chalk it up as part of doing business in the accommodation business.

And on a last note , the owner walked away to avoid the confrontational nature of the gentleman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This resort is located in a breathtaking location. The views and serenity cant be beat. Driving is a breeze with 2 ferry rides and and spectacular views throughout. research ferry schdulesand time your travel to avoid long waiting times for ferries. We drove in from Vancouver with a loaded cooler and with plenty of food. All the cottages are located on the water. Be prepared to take in the breathtaking views all around and seeing some glorious sunsets.

The resort provides kayaks for thrill seekers to kayak in the calm inlet. A short drive and boat ride away is the savry island with pristine beaches and lovely views to take in. We rented a 2 bedroom cottage with a well equipped kitchen. had wonderful meals on the deck and relaxed. Only the areas around the office have wifi. But i prefer it that way, to relax and unwind without too much distraction around me. You can just unplug in every sense of the way here. Truly tranquil in every sense. The staffer Josephine was very helpful and even told us about the local attractions. in addition they have a good selection books in the office you can borrow during your stay.

Unwind and reconnect in this remote tranquil resort.

Room Tip: Book a two bedroom standalone cottage for privacy and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarthi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesolationResort, Manager at Desolation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the resort.

We live in a beautiful part of BC and hope to welcome guests to experience and enjoy it.

We greatly appreciate the feedback and hope you have wonderful memories of your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
10.5 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.4 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
21.4 mi away
Seabreeze Resort
Seabreeze Resort
#7 of 10 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceanside Resort Motel
Oceanside Resort Motel
#1 of 10 in Powell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
15.4 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desolation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desolation Resort

Property: Desolation Resort
Address: 2694 Dawson Rd, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 0G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desolation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway to Desolation Sound, these unique and fully furnished oceanfront chalets are in a park like setting on an eight acre waterfront property. Our chalets are ideal for your family vacation, reunions, weddings or that perfect getaway. Some of our chalets have a private hot tub on the deck. Each chalet boasts a unique individual design. Interiors done in local wood. All our chalets have a full kitchen, BBQ and a deck. The chalets are of different sizes and the larger ones can accommodate up to 8 persons. Complimentary kayaks and canoes are available for our guests to use.Packages with accommodation, dining, kayaking or boating are available. A whole range of activities offered by local outfitters, can be booked through the resort. The Laughing Oyster Restaurant is just down the road from us and offer great meals with a West Coast flavor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desolation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desolation Hotel Powell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing