We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Beds Ever”
Review of Island View Lodge

Island View Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island View Lodge
Ranked #14 of 20 Powell River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I stayed only 1 night at this lodging. The room was clean but the beds were terrible.They were cheap older style hotel beds and hard as a rock The room had new laminate flooring down and new paint on the walls but thats were it ended. The bathroom taps dripped continually, possibly due to the age of the faucet and sink. For the money that was charged for the rooms they could and should have spent some money to make it more inviting. We will not be back to this motel in the future.

Room Tip: This motel faces the water and the lumber mill
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Island View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay in Powell River found this place the front desk man he was Polish told us like it was , a clean older place great shower and comfortable.He was right the price was suited for the accommodations clean and very comfortable I would say a 3 and a half star .I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Disappointing when you've reserved a room, taken hours to travel up to Powell River, and then there's nobody there, the office is closed, no one picks up the phone, & there's no after-hours number. Surprised they didn't bother to call a guest that had pre-booked and let them know they were closing their office before the last ferry arrives in town.
Shameful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
4  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at the lodge and found it to be very affordable with clean rooms,comfortable beds,great water pressure in the shower. The onsite managers were very accomadating and friendly with lots of tips on places to see and visit. Most rooms have a very nice view of the ocean. The townsite where it is located is being revitalised and has four restaurants a theatre and micro brewery all within walking distance. There is a kids park two blocks over as well as a dog park and the lake and the beach are 15 to 20 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I travel to Powell River 5 to 6 times per year and have tried a variety of hotels in the area. I have found the Island View Lodge to be the best value for your buck. The rooms are dated but clean, quiet neighbourhood and the shower is amazing; excellent water pressure here. It's conveniently located in the historical Old Townsite across from the Townsite Micro Brewery, steps to restaurants, pub, theatre, etc. with a great view of the ocean. The manager is fantastic, always very accommodating and informative.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Clean, convenient, reasonably priced and run by nice people. It's only draw back is that it is beside the Granada restaurant, the good news is that is is a short walk to Magpies, the best restaurant on the sunshine coast.

Room Tip: A 2 story older building with no elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A basic, clean motel with everything you need for a safe and comfortable stay. If you're used to five star, you won't like it. If you love toodling around small town BC, you will find this the perfect place to lay your head. Friendly staff, good water pressure! Located in the old townsite, just a few minutes from the main drag. Great walks from the motel around the old neighbourhood. It's also just across the corner from Canada's oldest working cinema, and just up the road from a microbrewery. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTravel168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
2.7 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
2.7 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
66 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Inn
Marine Inn
#17 of 20 in Powell River
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Lodge

Address: 6255 Marine Ave, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Powell River
Price Range: £53 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Island View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing