We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Powell River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon B&B By the Sea
Ranked #5 of 20 Powell River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Beacon B&B would have to be the best B&B on the Sunshine Coast.Very comfortable acommodation and the Breakfast on both mornings were fabulous. Shirley and Roger are the very best of host and a wealth of knowledge as the the surounding area of Powell River and can tell one what are the best restaurants. the 2 Shirley told us of were both very good. then on our way back after our meals the 2 red beacons on the driveway showed us where to turn in.
The view from the lounge room is great and at night Roger will show you how to slow down the speeding motorist as they speed past.
If we ever come back to BC we will go and stay with them again.
Thanks to both of you.
Geoff and Jean Western Australia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great acommodations and excellent breakfasts.
We were made to feel at home by hosts,Shirley & Roger who were most helpful when I took a spill on the outdoor stairs.
The location is convenient to restaurants on Marine Drive as well as to the Ferry Terminal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A great place to stay up in the sunshine coast. Comfortable room and a fabulous breakfast so well presented by the owners Shirley and Roger, we highly recommend this to any one who is visiting that wonderful part of British Columbia.
Billy and Shirley Strang

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and we were totally made to feel at home by Shirley and Roger. They were very good hosts and very knowledgeable about where to go and what to do. We were there during the Blackberry Festival and it was packed with people. The only thing I would wish different was that it had not rained that evening but enjoyable just the same. We had the serenity room and we could not ask for better. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean and full of little chocolates everywhere. Yum... The bathroom and toilet area were very clean and everything was there to make sure you did not run out. Lots of nice fluffy towels and Shirley has a " I forgot" cupboard in the powder room that contains everything. Not much this lady has not thought of. It is very quiet to sleep and the breakfasts are just superb served by Roger and carefully cooked by Shirley. Thank you Shirley & Roger. You made our trip just that more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for one night after a trip up the coast and the hosts were thoughtful and accommodating about our travel schedule and needs. They welcomed us to bring take out dinner to their patio so we could look over the Strait while dining in comfort, made sure they planned our breakfast in time so we could catch our desired ferry, and helped us with other things that came up.

The rooms were well appointed, comfortable, private, secure, and the bathrooms were excellent. The bathrooms had a "forgot something?" cupboard with anything you could think of ready for use. There was amaretto in the room for a nightcap, chocolates beside the bed, and an overt willingness to make us comfortable.

Breakfast was a full-on large bowl of fruit with yogurt and granola, poached eggs, and a muffin for the road (early ferry to catch and who could have eaten a muffin after the first two servings?). Of course it is the details that really catch you - the icing sugar decorated serving plate with stencils on theme, the freshly picked nasturtiums to decorate the fruit bowl, the pride in presentation. All evidence of a very experienced couple who know how to deliver a genuine bed and breakfast experience.

A couple warnings: if its poached eggs on the menu, let them know how runny you want them - ours were on the firm side; the location is right on the main road and while you will not hear much traffic in your bedroom, it is pretty noticeable when a Harley decides to rip up the street; the hosts may be a bit over-exuberant and friendly for some - the sign up that says the "opinions expressed by the man of the house may not reflect the views of management" is a fair warning - his views will be expressed.

Room Tip: The ensuite room is the better room but you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is our first review for Tripadvisor; the world has to know what a wonderful place to stay Beacon B&B at Powell River is !
Shirley and Roger are a very warm and welcoming couple. It felt like home coming !
They have a beautiful house with lovely rooms and great views over the ocean and an eagle's nest close by.
It was really great fun, staying 2 nights at Shirley and Roger.
Eric & Klaudia from Rotterdam, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaudia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 1 night in June and have to say Shirley & Roger were wonderful, friendly hosts. They made us feel right at home and were only too happy to make suggestions as to restaurants, travel times etc. The views from the Beacon lounge window over the Strait to Vancouver Island, and the sea life, are great. We had the Serenity Ensuite which is just off the large lounge/breakfast room and has a double and a single bed. The room was very clean and comfortable and had ample space for our needs. The bath/shower is separate from the toilet/wash hand basin but that's not a problem.

Breakfast was plentiful and excellent and we won't forget the attention to detail which was obvious in it's presentation. We were even given muffins to take with us on departure!

All in all the Beacon was a great choice and must be the place to stay in Powell River. We would heartily recommend it and will certainly stay there again if we ever make it back to Powell River.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Powell River hotels
4.1 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
360 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
110 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Powell River
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 20 in Powell River
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon B&B By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon B&B By the Sea

Address: 3750 Marine Ave, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 2H8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Powell River
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are sorry to say but after 28 years we will be closing our doors Oct. 1st, 2017. We will miss all our fine guests and wish to say a big thank you to all those who have stayed with us. We offer a centrally located, adult oriented, 2 room B&B featuring real Sunshine Coast hospitality. Come and marvel at our ever-changing ocean vista from our common area, complete with telescope and television. Enjoy awesome sunsets and soaring eagles. Awake to a healthy, hearty breakfast! Free wireless internet or plug-in. Plan to spend at least 2 nights in this large, wonderful scenic and outdoor adventure area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing