We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number Ten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Courthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Number Ten”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great staff, great cafe/bar, great food. Beware of room 10, unconvincingly titled, by manager, as the European Room. From our direct experience two of the rooms on the first floor are nicely accommodating. Vegans can eat a good breakfast there. Order the Heavenly Hash.

Room Tip: Be sure not to be booked into room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    79
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
128
21
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place has to be seen to be appreciated, very quaint facility for sure. The owners were incredibly hospitable and made us feel very welcome. The included breakfast was a multitude of choices including eggs Benny! Where else can you find this? Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We picked this Inn from a web review, and were thrilled that we did. The whole inn, including the rooms, were decorated with antiques, and is located in an historic district. Yes, it is located next to the papermill, but so was the historic townsite,and at is a part of the history! We were welcomed by JP, one of the owners, who was a pleasure to meet - lots of information and suggestions. In fact, the cafe in the hotel is named after his mother, and the food was excellent. We would certainly stay here when we are back in Powell River.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We enjoyed this lovely old hotel - clean, friendly service, good breakfast on the large deck. The location worked well for us - a short trip to the lovely Lund and back, and mere steps away from the renowned Townsite Brewing and a funky little restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed one night at the Old Courthouse Inn in Powell River. The hotel itself is great. It's an old-fashioned interior, great decor with lots of vintage items. It has a restaurant as part of it with a nice deck you can sit out and eat on. The owner and all the people there are friendly, helpful and the service is excellent. Room was very clean and nice and thoughtfully put together. Everything worked fine. Dinner and breakfast were great. Dinner was very reasonable.
BUT, all of this was offset by the fact that instead of the great view of the sea that I expected as my room and the restaurant deck face out on the sea, there was a large, fully functioning wood pulp plant with large chimney stacks belching steam day and night and with the rumble, albeit fairly quiet, of machinery going on through the night. I would like to have been warned of this before going to the hotel. I would probably have chosen somewhere else. I had imagined a beautiful view of the British Columbia coastline. There is an all-pervading smell of wood pulp being processed. It's not noxious or anything but it is there most of the time.
So, I don't like criticizing but I do feel that visitors should be warned of the setting of this hotel and some people may be very happy with the history of the pulp mill etc. But it spoiled it for me. At least you should know before you get there.
I could add a photo of the pulp mill but it would not really be fair as I don't have photos of the inn itself to go with it and the inn is really nice.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like. Mine was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidcp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Spent a night recently on our vacation. Located in the Old Mill Townsite.. the hotel has a history, the rooms were decorated in yesteryear antique furniture. High ceilings ..10'... Very clean..and the proprietors were warm friendly and helpful. The hotel is also pet friendly.. and the food at the restaurant is reasonably priced and delicious!.. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out4Fun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My sisters had stayed at this Inn three years ago when the previous owners owned it and loved their experience. We booked the "Sweet Suite" which turned out to be like a large sized apartment, fully furnished with full kitchen. When we got their our charming Host JP gave us a tour of the Courthouse Inn which has been recently renovated and decorated with very tasteful antiques. The nostalgic cafe was a highlight as well. The food was great and the staff were super friendly. Our whole experience was top notch. After staying here for one week all four of us didn't have one negative thing to say. We all agreed that we would never consider staying anywhere else and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
2.7 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.9 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Property: The Old Courthouse Inn
Address: 6243 Walnut St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Courthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing