We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Courthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This trip to Powell River, we stayed in the "Sweet Suite", a gorgeous two-bedroom loft in Canada's oldest credit-union building. Champagne and sunsets gloriously framed by ocean, mountains, and the Historic Townsite steam stack created a unique ambiance. Breakfast at the Inn is intimate and scrumptious, the proprietors red-hot winners of a recent hospitality award. I would jump at the chance to stay in this one-of-a-kind venue again. A marvelous adventure!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Not only is this extremely comfortable with truly extraordinary customer service, the attention to the integrity of the Inn's history makes this an even more delightful place to stay. It is clear that maintaining the character and flavour of the Inn is a labour of love for the owners. They achieve a really good balance between attention to individual needs and providing an atmosphere of privacy. Oh and the food? Outstanding too. Thanks so much JP and Kelly for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthlingenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

JP and Kelly are amazing hosts! The food was fabulous, the accommodations welcoming and the history of the facility and rooms and the hosts made for interesting conversation! Would highly recommend this stop to anyone travelling the Sunshine Coast! Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I can't say enough about the welcome I received from JP when I arrived at the Inn...it appears as though the hotel is in an iffy area, but don't let that scare you away. In fact, when I first arrived I was instantly put at ease and had a lovely stay there. Kelly made me a delicious breakfast and the bed was really comfortable. Flannel sheets! They were lovely and warm. I was feeling a little homesick, but the comfort of the room made me feel right at home. Thanks for the great stay, guys!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibliobabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here Nov 2013. The place is a gem...full of old antiques & character. And the owner JP has paid a great tribute to his mother by naming the restaurant after her & has great pictures of her throughout. The hotel is small but full of atmosphere. Would I stay here again??? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This beautifully appointed hotel is a comfortable oasis in a historic community. Restored with taste and whimsy, the place was sparkling clean and felt cosy. Lots of cool, eclectic memorabilia make this destination unique. We had a wonderful time and the owners took great care of us. The restaurant below serves breakfast to a lively local crowd.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

In my profession I travel a fair amount and stay in many hotels. After a few unpleasant stays at other hotels in Powel River, I thought I would try something a little different. After just a couple of stays at The Old Courthouse Inn, I look forward to going back each time I leave.
I find that the little thing are what count the most, for example...the sheets are changed to flannel in the winter, they have very good water pressure, comfortable beds, and very friendly staff that make you feel like you are at home.
Like I said, I have stayed in many hotels....and this is the first time I wanted to give a review:)
Thanks JP! See you in 3 months!
Paul

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
2.7 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
56 reviews
11.9 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Courtenay
1,052 reviews
23.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
5.2 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Powell River
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Address: 6243 Walnut St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: £69 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Courthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing