We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Courthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I cannot believe this website's endorsement of the hotel.
This hotel is a few feet away from a large wood mill with the requisite smells.
The rooms were small and oppressive and the "innkeeper" had to be awoken at 5 pm to register us. The view was supposed to be breathtaking. You could just about make out the sea from the concrete towers. The hotel was in the middle of an industrial zone.
It was so bad we did not spend the night, found a new place with a view and no mill but lost the full night's cost of the room.
A good lesson learned is to check other websites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelseyBaker, Owner at The Old Courthouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I wish you would of investigated further on our booking page as you would of noticed there were comments of our location. We have nothing to hide from anyone. We have posted our location on trip advisor, our booking page, and also on our web page. As you have booked through our booking page we do have it strictly in black and white that there will be a 48 hour cancellation policy and if you had done your research prior like many of our satisfied guests you would of made up your mind to staying with us way before the 2 day cancellation.
I was hoping you would of stayed the evening and see for yourself that besides our location... which I do have to say is quite beautiful, and us being in Canada's one of only 2 national historic sites your experience would of been one great unexpected delights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a fabulous stay - almost like staying in a friend's house with antiques and collectables in the rooms and corridors. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent quality and filling (and many choices were included in the room rate). The hotcakes have to be sampled - thanks Kelly! We didn't manage to sample the dinner menu (too early in the season) but we did enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace of an afternoon.

The location is a few miles from the main business district but it is right in the heart of the historic Town Site.

We would stay here again - no question.

Room Tip: We had room 4 - large and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights in "The Jury Rooms". It was part of the charm that the rooms weren't numbered but named after rooms one might find in a court house. The decor in the passages helped one to escape from city life, to slow down and relax, thinking of the olden days!
Location near a variety of restaurants was very convenient. And the BEST: Breakfast at Edie's Cafe! yummy and perfect.
Thanks for the great break.

Room Tip: Just tell the owners exactly what you need - they are perfect hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Thank you and your staff for such a warm welcome. Truly felt at home. Such a quaint get away down memory lane. I felt so at home. Breakfast was great, can't wait to try out the dinner menu this summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Old Courthouse Hotel is a funky, charming hotel that is very much like a Bed and Breakfast in the town of Powell River. Art and antiques abound inside the old courthouse making every corner interesting to visit.
The included breakfast at Edy's downstairs was fresh and tasty ...served by a sweet girl with a charming French accent.
If you are planning to vibist the Desolation Marine Park... Make sure you stay here...it will complete your visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathybari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely, charming heritage inn. Comfy bed, clean room and very pleasant staff. Really enjoyed all the history throughout the inn. The breakfast at Edie Raye's was great, too! A lovely place to stay while enjoying the beauty of Powell River.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful nostalgic building with beautiful antiques and artifact and history through-out. Staff were extremely accommodating. Breakfast was five star all the way! Eggs Bene were perfect.

The view outside is lacking due to the mill, but, enjoy the beauty and comfort with-in.

Beds and rooms were supper cosy and clean!

Love it!

The Stars

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
2.7 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
111 reviews
11.9 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
989 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Powell River
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Address: 6243 Walnut St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: £72 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Courthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing