We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our special go-to”
Review of Alchemist - CLOSED

Alchemist
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our special go-to”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

As a local, I believe this is the best food and service in town. Outstanding meals, lovely presentation, great wine selection and excellent service. You won't be disappointed. Make reservations!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“An actual gem”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Was recommended here by the Lady at the Beyond Bliss apartments where we we staying.
For a small town this was truly one of the best meals I have had, service, excellent and as only small a really nice place to eat, would recommend you try it, was closed on Sundays but we were there in low season. Quality of ingredients and presentation also outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Speaking as a local person, I would say this is the best restaurant in town! Food is delicious and the staff are great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisFamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing food and friendly service!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have eaten here several times, and have not been disappointed. I work in the industry and have had opportunity to work with several celebrity chefs, and i am comfortable in saying that this food as truly amazing!
Some pleasant surprises, and always a great combination of flavours!

Kudos to you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is great French food but pricey. The food is very tasty and fresh. The prices are quite high for a smaller town. Great wine selection.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MyOpini0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alchemist also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing