We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner @ Terrain Regional Kitchen - GO CHECK IT OUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Cowichan Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner @ Terrain Regional Kitchen - GO CHECK IT OUT!”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Having lived in the Bay for nearly 2 years - The Oceanfront Grand Resort has had bad press from the day we arrived. We've heard many stories of the last owners, last management and the reputation of the previous staff, the food and the decor.

As a local - I only set foot in the hotel once for delivering a wedding cake last August - before last Friday that was!

I HAVE to write this review on two counts:-

1: The wedding venue is PHENOMENAL, the views from the Wedding Breakfast room are FANTASTIC. The wedding photo's I was lucky to see (from the cake) looked as though they had spent an absolute fortune on their venue. They were simply STUNNING, the sea backdrop, blue sky, gorgeous sun. I would not hesitate to recommend the Oceanfront Grand Resort for such an event!!

2: Last Friday 27th - we decided that for our 16th Wedding Anniversary we would try "something a little different" to usual. There are lots of great "eats" in our village but as i'd seen an advertisement for Kitchen Staff at the OGR and it mentioned "butchering the whole animal", "Locally sourced foods" as well as "attitude is important" - I thought you know what - I have to go take a look for myself, the words sprung out to me that the new management really seem to know a)what they want and b) what they are are talking about!.

So we ventured down last Friday night - no reservation, we were greeted warmly by the Receptionist on duty. We were then greeted again very warmly as we walked into the Restaurant "are you joining us for Dinner" - yes please!

The waitresses pointed us to our seats, which were in a fantastic spot. We were given our menus. The short menu is ideal - YOU KNOW ITS COOKED FRESH!!!

We were given bread, water and we chose our beverages. We chose our appetizers and mains and watched the water whilst we chatted. Now if you are a foodie, you'll not mind waiting that little bit extra for your food - the wait was not long not even enough to mention really - but I must if you are thinking of popping in. Its cooked to order, the quality outstanding - therefore ease up, sip your wine and enjoy the view!.

We ordered: Brie wedges and crab cakes. The portions were very good, the plating delightful. The attention to detail was evident and it was very well executed. We swapped about a bit so we could taste each others - my Husband ate every morsal - he usually leaves tomatoes but actually made me try one as they were so "awesome". I loved the Brie as did I the Ciabatta type wafer toasts, asparagus and tomato salsa - devine and they complimented each other perfectly.

The Entrees - Steak and I had the Wild Sockeye Salmon. Again presentation was wonderful. The vegetables were very tasty, the roast potatoes creamy in the middle. The Salmon was a very healthy portion and was complimented by the Wasabi Mayonnaise. I would like to tell you about the Steak - but my Husband ate it all and wouldn't let me taste it hahah. All he would say "that was really good, sorry you missed out".

I think it is fair to say that the decor is in need of a overhaul, the windows a clean, a table cloth, side plate here and there and the ditching of the "clipboards" but if you found exceptional food at a reasonable price ($100 for 2, with plenty of drinks, attentive staff, fantastic food, gorgeous view!) - would it matter what the place looked like? I think not.

This management have made changes which are evident already - starting with their staff - I'd heard such bad things but I can't compliment them enough - very professional and attentive. I think its about time us locals gave them a helping hand to make some more changes - by frequenting their Eaterie! With that will come profit and then new decor - lets get it back to where it once was!!!!

(Quickly I must also say that they are also opening for Lunch and for Breakfast - where the butchering of the animal comes in - they MAKE THEIR OWN BACON!!!! - We are visiting Saturday to see how that fayres (with a couple of our neighbours) - i'll be back to tell you! - im looking forward to it!!).

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK OGR - TO BIGGER AND BETTER THINGS!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowBayInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    85
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
68
93
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed a night to celebrate our anniversary. We found the staff to be friendly, professional and helpful, the rooms to be spacious and clean. The view and location are excellent. The hotel is obviously going through updating and perhaps one could argue the rooms are a little dated, but for us it was absolutely fine. If you are REALLY fussy, maybe you'd be better off staying elsewhere (like one of the highest-end hotels in Victoria, because you won't find anything better from Duncan north on the island!)

The restaurant is still closed for renovations, but apparently will open soon. The pool and weight room areas have been recently renovated.

We stayed in a corner one bedroom suite - has a full kitchen, although as others have mentioned, no microwave yet.

Although Cowichan Bay is less than an hour from Victoria, it feels like a world away. We'll certainly return to the Grand Resort for other mini-getaways.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOGR, General Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear DRSouthern,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to continuing to welcome you back to Cowichan Bay!
We are pleased to let you know that we are currently undergoing some exciting and refreshing improvements to the hotel. You will soon see some updates to our guest room furnishings & bedding, including microwaves in all of the kitchenettes. Our restaurant in the hotel is now open! Terrain Regional Kitchen is a regionally inspired dining experience where all of the dishes are made from locally sourced ingredients. We also have OceanGlo Wellness Spa opening June 1st in the hotel. You will be able indulge in unique therapies of wellness and relaxation in the spa or soon to come the oceanside cabana.

Best Regards,
Lisa McCormick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed here even after reading some horrible reviews (choices are limited in the area). I have to say that our experience wasn't bad at all. The staff were very pleasant and helpful (not that we needed a lot of help, but recommendations for and directions to dining options were appreciated). We had a 1 bed suite. The only criticisms would be that somebody should turn the heat on the day guests are arrivine...it was pretty chilly and with the marble floor took a while to warm up. I also found it odd that there was no microwave...but certainly not a deal-breaker. The layout of the kitchen/dining area was a bit strange..lol..there was this triangular area off to the side that was completely unused...I'm not sure what you would use it for though...seems like a lot of wasted space. I will warn people that cell reception is sporadic at best with complete loss of service for 1/2 an hour or so at a time...that's beyond the hotel's control though.
The king size bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet, the bathroom was very clean.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank langley_traveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOGR, Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that the Front Desk Staff were pleasant and helpful, and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am disappointed to hear that your room was not at a comfortable temperature when you arrived however, as this is a standard procedure for us, and I will certainly follow up with my Housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again.
As mentioned in my previous manager response, we are now operated by a new management company and are in the process of updating certain amenities in each guest room including microwaves.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, and hope that you will enjoy the positive changes soon to come!

Regards,

Rachel Quesnel
Hotel Manager
Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Yes we asked for a pet friendly King room but the bedroom did not have a door. We also asked for an efficiency kitchen and got one but without a microwave. No bottled water supplied. Not a napkin to be found.
The best thing about the room was the decent mattress but the red duck tape holding the dust ruffle to the bed was a decoration we could have done without. The alarm clock supplied annoying feedback all night and the barking seals in the bay were loud enough to be heard through my earplugs.
Very bare essentials and not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyDlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOGR, Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a pleasant one. With respect to the kitchenettes, each of our guest suites does offer a kitchenette with a full size fridge, stove/oven but unfortunately no microwaves, and this is something we hope to change in the near future. I do like your suggestion regarding having napkins in the guest suites, and am now in the process of implementing this - thank you.
Being an Ocean Front Hotel, we do on occasion have some "noisy" visitors (the sea lions that you refer to) in the marina as well as other marine life such as seals, otters, whales and eagles.
As of Jan. 1st, 2011 the Hotel has acquired a new management company, and there are many exciting changes happening with more to come over the next few months.
We hope to see you back here in the near future!


Regards,
Rachel Quesnel
Hotel Manager
Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
26.3 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
32.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,429 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
438 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Property: Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the Cowichan Valley, between Victoria and Nanaimo, in the seaside village of Cowichan Bay. With its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants and the wharves filled with, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes it is one of the most picturesque, secret locations on Vancouver Island. The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious suites, all facing the ocean. Each is equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, and a comfortable living and dining area. Most are equipped with a complete kitchen. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing