We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Food, Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Terain Restaurant at the Oceanfront Suites is one of the best kept secrets in Cowichan Bay. It has recently changed management and is now serving very good food. The servers are some of the best, specially Sherri, who makes you eating experience very special. The atmosphere is quite and friendly and the view from the top of the hotel is a panoramic vista of the bay. Altogether and most do if you are ever in this part of the island

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DT1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    79
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
83
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sxm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

If you want to get a professional mani/pedi done do not go to the ocean glo! Less than 24 hours to my ceremony myself(the bride) and the bridesmaids went for what we thought would be a nice relaxing spa visit. Turned out to be a waste of 2.5 hours and left with what a 5 year old could have done better. Truely a disappointment. Not only my party left unhappy but did a couple of my out of town guests staying at the hotel. The hotel itself is wonderful and they did a fantastic job accommodating my guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreSxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments about your recent stay at the hotel and Ocean Glo Wellness Spa. We were pleased to find a workable solution for you when the incident occured. Since then, we have taken many corrective steps to improve the spa experience for future guests. I am glad to hear the remainder of your trip was wonderful as we strive very hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay. From our whole team, we wish you congratulations on your marriage.

With thanks,

Lisa McCormick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Met and exceeded out expections. Great place from which to tour the country - close to several wineries.

Room Tip: Ask for marnia view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssoderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Albert
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Oceanfront Suites for an overnighter the last week in March as had a function in nearby Cobble Hill to attend. Unfortunately we were only at the hotel for a few hours but were most impressed and would definately stay there again. Might even make a point of staying over as there appears to be so much to see in the area. The restaurants alone that border the hotel seemed quite intriguing. What impressed us with the hotel was the rate <$129 plus tax> for a full one-bedroom suite that overlooked the marina and inlet. We have stayed in many 'suite hotels' over the years and this one is a REAL suite. Lots of room, immaculately clean, and a super view. We also had breakfast in the gorgeous restaurant and were impressed with that as well! Will return if we can for sure!

Room Tip: Think they all front the inlet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

It was a business trip to teach a course in the hotel and my wife came along because we had heard so many good things about the place. From start to finish the whole trip was a great success. The staff could not do enough to help at all times and Scott, the Food and Beveridge Manager is clearly a highly experienced professional who looked after my every need and kept the class topped up and happy at all times. The view from our 4th floor room was every bit as superb as we hoped it would be; spotlessly clean and roomy. The village of Cowichan Bay is one of the friendliest I know and has some very interesting sights to enjoy, including several excellent restaurants. For a day or a weekend away, this is THE place to go!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view but try for the 4th as it is level with the lobby and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have been staying at the Oceanfront for the past 6 years every summer.. The management (Rachel Quesnel) and staff have ALWAYS been accommodating and wonderful in service.
The rooms and entire establishment are always very clean and they are always helpful in every way.
The Oceanfront is the only place I stay when I visit Vancouver Island and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to that region..
Thanks again for your kindness help and service you provide.. See you this August
Scott Norris

Room Tip: The main floor offers walk out balconies and patios where one can sit at the waters edge and relax a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very nice view. Lovely rooms. The restaurant is very good. The food was amazing.

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean view. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
26.3 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW PREMIER Collection
6.4 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
13.2 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Property: Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the heart of Cowichan Valley, situated between Victoria and Nanaimo. The seaside village of Cowichan Bay - with its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants situated amongst the wharves, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes - is one of the most picturesque locations on Vancouver Island. Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious Oceanfront suites - each equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette as well as a comfortable living and dining area. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing