We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Go for the Views”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I travelled to this hotel with my husband and two kids (age 7 &10) after booking a nice package on Living Social. We were on Vancouver Island because my husband was doing the half Ironman race in nearby Shawnigan Lake, and the location worked out well for us. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and check in was easy and efficient. Nice that there was no charge for parking or WIFI. We enjoyed the location on the main strip in Cowichan Bay with some fun shops and restaurants, and nice areas to walk along the water.

We stayed in an end suite (room 414) and the views were fantastic. The kitchenette was really nice but sparsely equipped; we were easily able to get extra cooking implements from the lobby though. The pull out couch worked out well for my two kids, and we appreciated the separate bedroom and comfy king sized bed and separate TV. They don’t have flat screen TVs and the bathrooms could use some upgrading, but that wasn’t an issue for us and thought the rooms were nice and spacious.

We spent a bit of time playing on the rocky beach area directly behind the hotel; the kids had fun exploring the tidepools and looking for seashells. Watch out for the very steep drop off on the way to the beach though… there are no railings (or even warning signs) and the drop is huge. We took advantage of the indoor pool and hot tub (basic but good, nice water temperature) and the spa services (decent quality and prices). We didn’t go to the restaurant in the hotel but another family we were travelling with found the food to be overpriced for basic quality, and thought the nearby restaurants offered better value.

We didn’t spend much time in Shawnigan Lake itself, but if I were to go back I’d look into whale watching and/or kayaking excursions. The town of Duncan is only 10m down the road and there are options there for basic shopping and there’s an old theatre there playing first run movies.

Room Tip: Ask for an end-suite with a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneV15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    83
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
64
90
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel/resort is located right on the beach with a marina directly in front. There is a great restaurant on the fifth floor and a spa on the first floor. The first two floors allow dogs which is why we booked this resort. There is coffee in the morning in the lobby and ice/lemon water served the rest of the day. Each room is a suite with full electric oven, microwave, full fridge and dinner setting for two. You can request extra utensils by calling the lobby. Each room faces the ocean and the first floor has walk out sun deck. The other floors have floor to ceiling windows in the living room and the bedroom. We stayed in room 210 and the bed was extremely comfortable and my son slept in the living room on a hides bed and said he thought it was very comfortable for a pull out bed. The resort is conveniently located steps from all the great shops and other restaurants.

Room Tip: First floor has walk out balcony onto the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownbebe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I chose this hotel over the many cheaper options in Duncan as I wanted a treat. I was not disappointed. It was so nice to come in to a quiet room and nice view. Check in was smooth on our later arrival on May 17. However, the girl that checked us in was having a fairly loud personal conversation on the phone upon our arrival in the lobby as well as during our in and out afterwards. We were given clear directions and she did share all the hotel ammenities which we were unable to use during our stay. The girl who checked us out was cheerful and attentive. Given the opportunity I would stat here again if I were looking for a quaint and quiet retreat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I had read some of the Tripadvisor comments and was worried but as I was booked in for a night by the folk I was working with I decided to take a risk and stay there for the other night rather than change hotels - What a great surprise - the room was fabulous - I could watch the birds from my room and to top it all it had a full kitchen. I travel a lot and being able to eat in, is a pleasure!
The staff were amazing - The bedroom TV did not work so I hope they get a cord that can actually plugs into the wall - I was working so it was not a major issue but could be if folk are on holiday !

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anafricanincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hotel staff were gracious and welcoming. Rooms were great, deluxe. Good a la carte restaurant. Rooms had tile and wood floors and all had views of the marina at Cowichan Bay. Enjoy our stay and suite was well worth it, with a pull out queen bed in the living room. Restaurant staff were amazing and were informed about the best places and wineries to visit. Close to Cherry Point and Maple Bay, both nice places to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one that isn't on a bend, as there will be more delightful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOFS, General Manager at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hello Paula C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. The hotel is a wonderful small easy getaway from the lower mainland, and we take pride in providing our guests with comfortable accommodations, and warm and friendly associates.

Sincerely,
Colin Mantell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have read the reviews since the start of 2013 and presume everyone else stayed on a weekend.

We stayed Sunday and Monday nights and were most surprised to find out there would be no breakfast available on either morning. As we reviewed the hotel on the web prior to booking, it gives the impression the restaurant will be serving breakfast. When you arrive, the tv screen behind the front desk promotes the restaurant with no mention that it won't be open. The elevator has menus on the walls but no mention that this is pointless unless it is Friday or Saturday evening.

The view from the room is actually really nice but as you settle in you discover the silly little annoying things. The regular light in the bathroom is not bright enough to shave by, so you turn the timer on (switch is outside the room), to trigger a heat light. It will probably go off just as you are about to slit your throat!

The kitchenette has one garbage can which states that 'We recycle', but being the only one, you can't separate your garbage.

As someone else mentioned, you might consider using the kitchenette because of the lack of breakfast, but there aren't really enough plates and utensils to have breakfast with more than two people.

I was walking in from the car and noticed the weather forecast on the screen behind the front desk. Oh good, the weather looks promising. But no, on closer inspection, the forecast was for some days about two weeks prior to our arrival! I was told they were waiting for it to be updated!

As I say, silly little things. I don't think the room rate was bad at all. I'd sure like to know which 5* hotel in Vancouver you can get for way less than $119/night.

We would just have been happier to turn up there knowing that the restaurant would not be available. This should be on the website and not , menus and descriptions of what a wonderful atmosphere you will (not) experience!

We'd probably stay again because the location is good and Cowichan Bay is a good spot, but I'd phone ahead next time and find out for sure if we need to bring breakfast!

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view. First floor rooms have patios. The reception desk is on the 4th floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burns Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Oceanfront suites in just over a year and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

My first contact was by phone with Maddy and when someone tells you first impressions are everything, listen to them. Her friendliness was exceptional. She answered all of my questions with a smile in her voice.

The room was very clean, well set out and quite comfortable. I used the fitness room, which was clean, well maintained and offered excellent views. Check in and check out went smoothly both times and I had the pleasure of having Maddy at the front desk during both of my visits as well. She was just as wonderful at her job in person!

During my March trip, I was fortunate enough to be there on a Wednesday and took advantage of the complimentary (for guests) 90 minute yoga class in the banquet room. For a first time yoga experience, it was amazing! The young woman who leads the class was welcoming and a great leader/teacher.

The positive Oceanfront Suites experience, will definitely keep me coming back!!!

Anne Currie
Burns Lake, BC

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Island Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
9.8 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
26.3 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
0.4 mi away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
13.2 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Property: Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the Cowichan Valley, between Victoria and Nanaimo, in the seaside village of Cowichan Bay. With its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants and the wharves filled with, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes it is one of the most picturesque, secret locations on Vancouver Island. The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious suites, all facing the ocean. Each is equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, and a comfortable living and dining area. Most are equipped with a complete kitchen. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing