We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shhhhh.....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hornby Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornby Island
Certificate of Excellence
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“shhhhh.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We, like many others, generally book next year's stay when checking out. I don't camp so we rent a 2-bdrm cottage. Over the years the owners have made tremendous improvements both inside and out... full-size appliances in the kitchen, covered cedar deck, major "green" infrastructure projects, they've now installed a water filtration system which takes care of the water pressure "problem". The location is perfect for us... hubby and son scuba dive right off the rocks or rent a boat at the marina, a well-stocked general store (lots of organic products) with great coffee and fresh-baked croissants at 8am and fresh-baked pizza later in the day, video rentals, there's a small art supplies/gallery on the property (why not... google Hornby Island artists and be blown away by the number and variety of studios). It's a 20 minute drive from the ferry terminal, 10 minutes to town , quiet but not too quiet, friendly staff. One thing... if you're driving a large RV I wouldn't recommend it, the road is narrow into the cove and the property doesn't suit turning a huge vehicle around.

Room Tip: ask for waterfront if that's what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LangleyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    23
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
33
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We've stayed here 3 times now; once camping and twice in the cabins. It's a very nice location at the end of the road, so no car traffic. The campground is very quiet as well, since I think some people come here to avoid the noise at other campgrounds. The cabins are great, and on our most recent stay, we had an awesome ocean view. I had looked into another location this year as it was closer to places we'd like to bike to, but it would have cost more than double for no real discernable benefit. The only real downsides are weak WiFi and low water pressure (but the island doesn't have a lot of ground water). I have to agree with another commenter that they do keep improving things. Our cabin had satellite TV this time (they don't mention on website so maybe not all cabins have this yet). The store is great. We came on a long weekend and the Coop was closed for the first two days of our stay, so it was great to have the store a short walk away. Their pizzas, roast beef subs and brownies are awesome. I was tempted to deduct a star for the WiFi and water pressure, but there are so many positives. One caution: the dishes break easily. The previous guests might have rinsed but didn't wash their dishes before putting them away, so we ended up prewashing a lot, but we never seem to break dishes anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank geinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Travelling with truck and camper - and parked on the lawn out back near the washrooms. This is a clean and quiet campsite - steps from the ocean and a park laced with great hiking trails. The road to Ford's Cove is high and narrow in places and it's a tight fit getting into the camping area with limited opportunityes to turn around. Larger RV's are advised to scout it out before committing. Friendly helpful staff and good value for the money. The rooster others have mentioned was apparently on holiday when we were there - or had made its way to the dinner table!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The campground was great. It's in a beautiful setting and is well kept. The operator was very nice and helpful as well. The one HUGE FLAW to this campground was that it is right next to a chicken farm. We were woken up every day at 4am by the roosters. They "cock-a-doodle-do" about every 5-10 minutes, so getting any sleep after 4am was nearly impossible.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agoodfoodfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just spent a weekend camping at Ford's Cove and found the care taker to be very friendly and helpful. He ran around showing people their campsites and in our situation he also showed us where it was best to put our tent. Very helpful.

On another note, it seems there is only 2 washrooms for the whole campsite and only one shower. So when someone has a shower one of the washrooms is occupied for a lengthy time, so you are left with now only one washroom (bathroom).

We ended up getting our water from the washroom as the the water spout is far away. I heard from someone that there is another place near the store. Lastly the sites are too close together, fairly loud (for instance, 2 sites over a guy had a chainsaw!).

I think if you have a camper or tent trailer this place would be a good match. I prefer Heron Rocks though it is really hard to get into that campground unless you book in advance. Their sites are way better for tenter's and the layout is amazing. Then again this isn't a review of Heron Rocks but Fords Cove which is going to get better.

Hope you find this helpful and insightful

Room Tip: if it rains the water pools in the open areas, best to pick a site under a tree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickInTofino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I just spent an awesome week at Fords Cove. My grandparents rented a cabin as well as my dad getting a campsite for the week. The staff is super friendly and helpful, the property is gorgeous, and the Island itself is simply magical. The one thing they don't tell you when renting campsites however is that there is a chicken coop in the adjacent property with roosters and hens and chickens that, if your are staying in a campsite on the waterfront side of the property, you WILL be woken up every day at 4am and every five minutes after that by the roosters. Even though this is a beautiful place I didn't get much sleep all week and will be requesting a site as far away from the chicken coop as possible on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a campsite away from the roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have been coming to Ford's Cove for several years and each time we are pleasantly surprised by the constant upgrades to the cottages. The sunsets are spectacular and having a well stocked store there is so convenient. The staff and owners are friendly and helpful. This is the type of place you can recommend to your friends and know they will enjoy their stay. We always look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: Bring your mountain bike or hiking shoes as there is a 3 km trail starting at Ford's Cove throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornby Island
4.8 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
19.3 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tumblehome Farm B&B
Tumblehome Farm B&B
#1 of 4 in Hornby Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
14.4 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
9.2 mi away
Two Eagles Lodge
Two Eagles Lodge
#1 of 1 in Union Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages

Property: Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages
Address: 10835 Central Rd | Check in at Ford's Cove Store, British Columbia V0R 1Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Hornby Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornby Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ford`s Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages Hotel Hornby Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing