We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull location and Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hornby Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornby Island
Certificate of Excellence
rio de janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull location and Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I just spent 5 days on Hornby and I stay at Ford's Cove Marina in a waterfront cottage. The value was excellent. The cottage felt home-like and was very clean and had all new appliances in the well equiped kitchen. It was very nice beacause we cooked our own meals (on Hornby the restaurants are not open in the winter). The location and view were amaizing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maynart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    23
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
33
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

My family and friends have revisited Fords Cove on a regualar basis for years. If you are looking for a fast paced, stressful or high society type of vacation, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a a place to unwind, be casual and comfortable and enjoy the most breathtaking beauty that nature has to offer, then this is the place for you.

The rustic, yet modernized cabins offer you all the comforts of home. The management and staff are friendly, helpful and respectful of all their guests.

We have stayed at Fords Cove during winter and summer months. The cabins are so cozy in the winter months and make for a very romantic get away. The summer months are spectacular for camping on site or having the convienence of the fully equipted cabins.

I beieve any negative reviews are based on comparing Hornby lifestyles to big city ones. There is no comparison. I have recommended this resort to many many people over the years and i don't know anyone of them that were dissapointed in any way.

See you all again in september.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

In this case every picture does not tell THE story. No quaint cottages here -- as one reviewer said -- a trailer park feeling. Very shabby and dirty cabins; old linen; smelled like cleaning chemicals, pillows stained, steps to cabin broken, management unfriendly and horribly unprofessional. Should go into a different business. This is the kind of place that takes your money and does not care what happens to you or your holiday. My advise is to stay as far away from here as you can.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stayclear2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hornbyisland, Owner at Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
The guest reserved a waterfront cottage. Her deposit cheque bounced so she sent a second deposit cheque which also bounced. Her third deposit cheque did not bounce so we were able to confirm her reservation . When she arrived she was unable to pay and said she had to call her bank to move balances between accounts. She then told us she was a Whistler based travel writer and promised to write a good review if we could do a deal on her accommodation. When we declined this offer the guest started yelling that she would write a bad review about us. We called the police who came and escorted this person from the property. We contacted the publisher of the magazine where the guest work's about their writer trying to coerce free accommodation and they said this is not a practice their magazine condones or accepts. We have informed Trip Advisor that this guest was trying to defraud us and didn't stay at our resort because she couldn't afford to check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We went in with low expectations and left "Pleasantly Surprised". It was definitely much better than what some of the other reviewers had left us to expect. Clean bedding, well equipped kitchen, plenty of room, and decent service. The kitchen even had new stainless steel appliances, coffee machine with bean grinder, ipod player, and plenty of cooking utensils. The bedroom was roomy with a relatively comfortable bed and a flat screen TV with DVD player. The bathroom was quite small and could use some upgrading but considering the size of the cabin was at least clean. The cabin had a private deck to enjoy the beautiful view and had a small convenience store with fresh vegetables, snacks, and DVD rentals. We spent three nights here and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0CanucksG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

Fords cove overlooks the straights giving one an lovely setting to watch the sea and wildlife that constantly tranistion.
However, I cannot recommend the Fords Cove Marina cottages as a place to stay. The cottage we were assigned was old and shabby. The floors were dirty and had not been cleaned. The refridgerator was broken. The room smelled of cleaning fluid, The bathroom was to small to transact business, The neighboring cabins were noisy.
All to gether a nasty experiance.
We left after the first day of a two day booking.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank railson_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

After reading some of the reviews of this facility I admit I was a bit apprehensive when we arrived there. I was relieved to find a quiet, pleasant, waterfront cabin at a reasonable price (in April -- not high season).

Our cabin consisted of kitchen/living/dining area, spacious bedroom, bath and a beautiful deck overlooking the water. The kitchen was well-equipped and the oven, small fridge and coffee maker were all clean and appeared new. We prepared our own dinner and watched the sun set as we ate at the table and chairs on the deck. A flight of steps led down the slope to the rocky beach below the cabins. We felt like we had our own private beach as we explored the unusual rock formations on the shore.

All was not perfect. The cabin was not pristinely clean (dusty, floors unswept), and the mattress was sort of worn out. But the peaceful location and the feeling of getting away from the world for a few days more than made up for any of these shortcomings. I highly recommend Ford's Cove cabins if you're looking for a quiet and serene retreat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahinMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland, Canada, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

I found the cabins to be not up to par for the charges per night.
Sheets were old, cabins not cleaned properly and the only thing that was semi-decent was the DVD collection.

Not worth the ferries, drive to get to this overpriced "trailer park" feeling -- they were not sweet cabins by the water and the service at the general store was far from professional.

If we wanted this cheap and dirty lifestyle, we should have popped a tent!

I don't recommend this place at all and would say that our experience with EXPERIENCED B&B or cottages in Tofino or Victoria were GREAT and Ford's Cove was a DUMP.

  • Liked — DVD collection
  • Disliked — Bad front service and dirty cabins
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifernuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornby Island
4.9 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
19.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
40.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tumblehome Farm B&B
Tumblehome Farm B&B
#1 of 4 in Hornby Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
14.4 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
Two Eagles Lodge
Two Eagles Lodge
#1 of 1 in Union Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages

Property: Ford's Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages
Address: 10835 Central Rd | Check in at Ford's Cove Store, British Columbia V0R 1Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Hornby Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornby Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ford`s Cove Marina Waterfront Cottages Hotel Hornby Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing