We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean motel.”
Review of Hubs Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hubs Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

One night stay before starting the Bowron Lakes circuit. We were given a warm welcome by the Hubs Motel upon arrival. Lovely people, good beds, CLEAN room! Convenient across the street from Bear Paw's. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We've stayed here for 3 nights in Room 13 and enjoyed every minute. The warm welcome made us feel at home right away and the home baked cookies are fantastic. There are not many TV channels but free movies are available and a wonderful nature. There's no cell service and to us that was really great; there's a landline available if wanted or needed. The bed was very comfortable, the room very clean, flat screen TV, electric fireplace, fridge and you could make your hot water for some tea. This is the perfect place to visit Barkerville and to relax. The area is beautiful and we'll be back someday for sure. You'll get the best fish and chips on this property!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We (4 adults) stayed here the night before we started the Bowron Lakes circuit. We were met with a warm, friendly smile and offered some delicious cookies. The room was very clean and beds were exceptionally comfy! Within walking distance of a great little restaurant across the street. Upon check out, were were given a bag full, I mean full, of more cookies for our trip! How thoughtful. Would stay here again and hight recommend you stay here too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My family and I planned out summer vacation and we decided to go to Barkerville, we stayed at Hubs Motel and we were very impressed with the staff and owners who made us feel welcome. The motel was very clean with great rates. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anafleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I spent most of a wonderful week at Hubs last week. The owners, Diane and Harald, are superb human beings. And while lacking in decor and amenities, the spacious rooms more than make up for that in their spotlessness and comfort. The beds are clean, tidy and oh so comfortable for those bear-like hiberations you will have. Friendly guests, a loveable cat and Diane's delectable chocolate chip-oatmeal cookies add to the wonderful atmosphere. Man, I wish I were there RIGHT NOW. I will definitely return. Right now, I am planning to hunker down at the Hubs immediately after my imminent lottery win so that I can plan the future. Diane and Harald and staff are so kind and accommodating to all guests. I can't rave enough. A rare treat in this impersonal world.

Room Tip: I don't think any one room is better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caperkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 kids aged 6&7. We stayed in one of the suites with a kitchen. The place was clean and comfy. There are a few dated things in the room, like slight staining in the tub, older counter tops and cupboards but it was very clean. There were a lot of little touches that made this an extra special place to stay. There is no cell service but there is wifi! There are only 3 tv channels but there are hundreds of DVD'a to choose from. There are always cookies (I think I ate 4 in our 2 nights we were there). There is a ping pong table set up and 2 other games you can play. The service was great. Don't forget to try the fish and chip place on the property, sooooo good :) We would defiantly recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have stayed at the Hubs Motel each summer for several years while attending the Artswells Festival. Dianne is a great ambassador and her cookies are such a nice touch. The fish and chips were really good. Really good. The accommodations are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The location is good. I really can't say anything negative about it. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
5.8 mi away
Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thyme Getaway
0.2 mi away
The Wells Hotel
The Wells Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wells
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubs Motel

Address: 12438 Barkerville Highway, Wells, British Columbia V0K 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Wells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: £35 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As new owners, we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms, great service, friendly hospitality and a convenient location. The BC Tourist Accommodation Guide report commends us for outstanding housekeeping. All rooms come complete with a telephone, television, fridge, coffee maker and kettle. Enjoy the unique, friendly, historical towns of Wells and Barkerville (5 min), the beautiful Bowron Lakes (Canada’s world renowned canoe circuit, 30 min.), snowmobiling right from your door, wildlife and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hubs Hotel Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing