We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly proprietors and excellent value”
Review of Hubs Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hubs Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly proprietors and excellent value”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed in a well-equipped kitchenette at very reasonable price. Clean, quiet and neat. Highly recommended! Do not fail to enjoy dinner at the Bear's Paw diner across the street. It is warm, friendly and also an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
48
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at the Wells hotel for a night before visiting Barkerville and then canoeing the Bowron Lakes Circuit. We absolutely loved it. Dianne, the manager, is such a nice lady. She's the kind of person that makes you feel like family the instant you meet her. She took great care of us.

The room was simple, but very clean and comfortable. There was a nice flat screen TV on the wall with a DVD player, and DVD's in the office that you could borrow (or rent? not sure - didn't try it). There was also a mini fridge in our room which was useful. The shower was nice and hot, and the bed was comfortable. We also had free high speed internet in our room - which was great, because there is no cell phone service in the area. Dianne even upgraded us to a King size bed for free! (Thanks!)

Be sure to ask about Dianne's cookies - they are delicious! She'll probably give you a handful, plus a bag of them for the road.

The price was very reasonable for the experience.

We loved our time at Hubs Motel so much, that really wanted to stay there when we finished the Bowron Lakes canoe circuit. Unfortunately the motel was full, so we ended up staying at the Wells Hotel (which I do not recommend - the Wells Hotel is more expensive with less amenities).

Book as early as you can, and make sure you get to stay at the Hubs Motel! I would highly recommend staying at the Hubs Motel to anyone visiting Wells, Barkerville, Bowron Lakes, or any of the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlazeBoy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hubs before and after our canoe trip in Bowron Lake Provincial Park.

The room was great. Very clean. Great night's sleep. They have DVDs and board games you can take back to your room. They comp'd us a slightly larger room so we'd have space to do final packing for our trip too.

If you've read the other reviews, you've seen that D bakes cookies every day. yum! She also sent us on the trail with an extra bag of them.

Big H's halibut and chips is well worth a visit or two as well. The fish batter was great and the coleslaw is homemade.

Summary: great room, great cookies, yummy fish, very friendly staff, and all surrounded by the beauty of the Cariboo.

P.S. They have a ping pong table and bbq grills too, which we didn't use, but they looked dandy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seacyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My husband and I went up to 100 Mile House to visit with my sister and mother and we all went to stay at Wells, BC to spend some time at Barkerville. As the Hubs Motel had what looked to be the best rating, I gave them a call and booked for two nights.

Wells is only a couple of minutes from the Barkerville site and you really can't do the site justice in just one day. The Hubs Motel is very basic but the cost is also very reasonable.

What blew me away was the fact that my sister and Mom brought their little terrier dog with them. We chose to have dinner at Barkerville our last night and had to leave the dog in the unit. We forewarned one of the employees that the dog may make some noise as she doesn't like to be left alone but we wouldn't be all that long. Well, sure enough, little Miss Maizy (the dog) started to cut it up so not only did the owner, Diane go and check up on her, but she took her for a walk! How is that for kindness. I had read in one of the reviews that she sometimes supplies cookies, but this was something really, really special!

I would recommend Hubs Motel to anyone, anytime. Not only was the unit clean and ready for us, the owners were so nice and helpful with any needs or questions that we had. They made our trip memorable. Oh, and yes we DID get cookies!

Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmocellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

A very basic motel, but it's the little extras that make it - home baked cookies, a little DVD player in the room with a pretty good selection of films at the office and friendly welcoming owners. The fish and chips available from the stand beside the parking lot are superb as well and The Bear's Paw restaurant over the road has food that would be more than acceptable at any major city five star restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeWeaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Basic but super clean, super friendly and affordable accommodation. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

In March 2010 twenty-five members of our snowmobile club spent the weekend in Wells. Diane, the owner of the Hubs Motel, was invaluable coordinating our entire weekend including lodging, meals at the Bear's Paw Cafe directly across the street and entertainment . When we arrived she greeted us with freshly baked cookies and treats in the lobby as we checked in. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and appointed with everything we needed. Every morning as we were packing our snowmobiles to ride right out of the motel's parking lot Diane would pass out several bags of freshly baked cookies for us to share at lunch. She also arranged some of the local galleries to open and show us their beautiful works of art. Both Diane and Harald did everything they could to make each one of our group feel welcome and valued. They treated us more like family than customers.

Jay and Donna, from the Wells Snowmobile Club, rode with us showing us breathtaking scenery, well groomed trails and fabulous meadows to "play" in. They kept us safe and well away from any avalanche risk.

Cheryl and Dave from the Bear's Paw Cafe provided our group with fabulous meals, entertainment and atmosphere.....read more about that on their trip advisor.

Many of our club members will return to Wells, both in the winter and other seasons. Friendly people, wonderful service, amazing countryside with lots to do and see make this a repeat destination many times over. All of us feel we now have "extended family" ........Thank you Diane, Harald and all the people we enjoyed meeting in Wells.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thyme Getaway
5.0 mi away
Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort
0.2 mi away
The Wells Hotel
The Wells Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wells
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubs Motel

Property: Hubs Motel
Address: 12438 Barkerville Highway, Wells, British Columbia V0K 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Wells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As new owners, we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms, great service, friendly hospitality and a convenient location. The BC Tourist Accommodation Guide report commends us for outstanding housekeeping. All rooms come complete with a telephone, television, fridge, coffee maker and kettle. Enjoy the unique, friendly, historical towns of Wells and Barkerville (5 min), the beautiful Bowron Lakes (Canada’s world renowned canoe circuit, 30 min.), snowmobiling right from your door, wildlife and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hubs Hotel Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing