We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Quaint...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seahorses Cafe

Seahorses Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a local Family owned lunch restaurant located on the water in Beautiful Brentwood Bay. We offer a diverse lunch menu with gluten friendly options, and a breakfast bun to satisfy you egg lovers out there. We cater to private events/functions, and are fully licensed making our picturesqu venue a perfect spot for your special event.
Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Quaint...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This place is "So Quaint"...just love the cozy atmosphere and it backs it up with wonderful cuisine...we had the seafood chowder and a BLT (amazing bacon) with salad and both my wife and I were suitably impressed...great service and a overall wonderful experience...and did I mention the amazing bacon?? Wow...the bacon!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank G0CanucksG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little waterfront gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We ate here years ago and liked it and this recent visit confirmed our feelings. Do try the chowder, it is super! And it actually has fish in it not just potatoes and cream. We weren't that hungry so we had a cup each and shared a sandwich which was fresh and excellent. The people beside us ordered the fish and chips and gave them thumbs up all round. You are tucked against the ferry dock but you can still see the bay nicely. If you want to work off lunch try the paddle shop next door. The bay is quite quiet and good even for beginners. Seahorses feels more like a working person's restaurant, especially with the fishing activity, and not a tourist trap. The service here was very attentive and chatty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gonegaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This little casual restaurant is tucked away next to the Ferry in Brentwood. It sits at water level adjacent to the small marina. They make a killer fish and chips, as well as great salads. The view from outdoors is spectacular. It is close to Butchart Gardens and represents an excellent alternative to the Sea Grille restaurant in the hotel up the road.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cute!! Delish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This cafe is actually called Seahorses and has its own review page separate from this one. I had to post here as well just so people don't take Daniela's review on its own.

We came here one afternoon after getting a spa treatment at the Brentwood Bay Resort and Spa. As soon as we walked up to the wharf we were amazed at the beauty and quaintness of the place. The decorations and little touches like an old free-standing fireplace provide great ambiance.

We ordered the BLT sandwhich and the breakfast plate. The BLT was to die for. I think I closed my eyes as I ate it. The service was fine. There was a live guitarist playing for tips who was really good.

I will definitely return here, even for an afternoon cofffee/tea. Great place to gaze out at the ocean and watch the fishermen work.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The seafood chowder was thick and fresh and perfectly seasoned, really delicious... it was just warm enough though, soup should be served hot so at least the first spoonfuls have to be cooled down to eat. My friend had the hash which he said was very tasty. It looked good, with poached eggs over nicely roasted potatoes, onions, and peppers, all topped with Bearnaise sauce. The service was prompt and friendly, and being on the wharf on a warm summer day was rather nice. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seahorses Cafe also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Seahorses Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing