We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accommodation and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brentwood Lighthouse
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation and Location”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

An ideal location for Buchart Gardens, in fact it is a nice stroll from the B&B to the Gardens. Incidentally your ticket allows you to r-enter the same day, this is very good and should be planned into your trip as the Gardens at night are illuminated and really do become spectacular. The famed fountains are magical as is the tranquil Japanese garden. The gardens have 4 seasons and may not have exotic plants for Brits but the planting combinations make up for this. Anyway the B&B is very comfortable, our large room having a giant king size bed and fireplace, the bathroom has a bath with excellent shower over and hot water is abundant. The rooms have there own outside access with another door leading into the house, which is then used to take the stairs to the open plan kitchen lounge area for breakfast. We took the light breakfast options, fruit, muffins etc and this we found very tasty and filling, Nancy is a good cook as well as being a great host, Allan likewise is a great host and very friendly and willing to offer advice on planning your trips. Only slight negative point for us was a lack of chairs in the room or on the room veranda and no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The location is quite and parking is available on the property. It is possible to stroll down to the bay and along to a local restaurant where food was good and not to large portions. Other restaurants recommended by Nancy and Al were also very good. Overall a highly recommended accommodation. Free Wifi. Could be improved with a couple of comfy chairs in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have been to Victoria several times over the past decade, and have typically opted to stay in town at the Inner Harbour. This year we were traveling as a larger group (myself, my wife, our 23 mo old daughter, my parents, and my mother-in-law). As we started looking at hotel prices, we decided instead to look for a B&B close to Butchart Gardens. After reading reviews and searching the internet, I loved the look of the Brentwood Lighthouse B&B.

There was only one problem - it appeared to not have enough rooms for our traveling party. I contacted the owners, Nancy and Allen, and explained our situation. They graciously offered up their master bedroom for my mother-in-law, so that we could have a third room to reserve. Nancy explained that they get such a pleasure of hosting family gatherings that they would move into another area of the house for the two nights we were visiting.

Upon arrival, we were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed and provided a tour of the rooms and house. The setting has a phenomenal view of the Saanich Inlet and Brentwood Bay community. Our daughter also enjoyed meeting the visiting turtle that Allen and Nancy are hosting for the summer in their outdoor water garden.

Since it was a Summer Saturday, we were eager to go over to Butchart Gardens and claim our lawn space. Allen kindly loaned us two large blankets to take for the evening, as well as a 'walking map' from their home to the gardens. I chose to walk, and it was about a 10-15 minute walk through a low traffic residential neighborhood. Walking also gave me an opportunity to spot a nice neighborhood playground, which I brought my daughter back to multiple times.

After the fireworks, we all came home and settled into very comfortable king size beds. My parents are cold natured, and were thrilled to utilize the 'electric fireplace' in the rooms (so much so that my mom now wants one for her house).

We stayed a total of two nights, and each of our breakfasts were absolutely splendid, leveraging foods from local farms. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and this did not disappoint. And Nancy made our 23 mo daughter her own custom breakfast, which was appreciated immensely. To work off the breakfast, there is a nice paved trail that is accessible from the home that goes around the waterfront and marinas. And after your walk, there is wifi in the home so you can plan the rest of the day from your room, from the patio overlooking the bay, or from the patio in the garden overlooking the water garden.

Staying at the Brentwood Lighthouse was definitely the right decision for us. The rates were extremely reasonable ($140/nt per room), the service was splendid, the food was awesome, and the hosts very warm and welcoming. We are looking forward to visiting Nancy and Allen and the Brentwood Lighthouse again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satxtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is a tranquil sanctuary with relaxing views over Brentwood Bay. The accommodation suits are spacious, clean with superb en-suit facilities including soaker tubs and your own private entrance.

Being very frequent travelers we would heartily recommend this as a great place to stay in order to sample this beautiful part of Vancouver Island. The hosts provide both professional and friendly hospitality which is accompanied by a great breakfast that will send you on your way with a smile.

We love this part of the world and are now pleased to have a B&B that we will return to without hesitation.

Chris & Lesley UK

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danziger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We recently spent 2 nights at this B&B and loved every minute of it. Nancy and Alan are lovely hosts who welcomed us and our 2 year old son. The room was perfect for us, and had the most comfortable king-sized bed in it - great for the 3 of us (so big we could all fit in with room to spare!). The views from the lounge area are amazing, and the whole area is quiet and peaceful, yet only a short drive from all the amenities. Victoria is only about 20 minutes drive away, and the Butchart Gardens about 5 minutes - both worth a visit. It's also not far from the Swartz Bay ferry terminal - so in the perfect location (if you have a car).
The breakfasts were very good - all freshly made with local produce, and the facilities within the room were perfect for us.
I'd highly recommend this B&B - Nancy got a hug and a kiss from my son, so he must have liked it!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Great hosts welcomed us with wine and a visit on the deck when we checked in. What a great way to unwind. So relaxing. We had obtained helpful visitor info from the Adams (hosts) before we arrived and they even took care of our waterfront restaurant reservations a few weeks ahead of our arrival.

The Brentwood Lighthouse was designed as a two suite B&B- It's quite new, lots of amenities... yummy towels and a comfy bed. Nancy prepared a regal breakfast featuring fresh locally grown food. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
975 reviews
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,129 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Lighthouse

Property: Brentwood Lighthouse
Address: 759 Sea Dr | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brentwood Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Brentwood Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing