We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butchart Gardens

Butchart Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.41*
and up
Brentwood Bay Kayak Tour and Butchart Gardens Visit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens, and National Historic Site of Canada, started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We were absolutely blown away by the beautiful gardens. We visited in May 2012 and the flowers were spectacular. Every colour tulip you could ask for, gorgeous blossoms and awe inspiring trees. The many different themes of the gardens was great. It was very easy walking around the whole of the gardens and we were lucky to have a lovely warm day. Wear comfortable shoes! We had sandwiches and a glass of wine in the cafe and thoroughly enjoyed the break. We drove our hire car to the gardens. Make sure you allow at least half a day to allow you time to see everything and take breaks as you walk around. All in all we were so glad we were able to go and see these world renowned gardens and highly recommend them to everyone. We missed the roses in bloom but there was still so much to see.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank briggsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,849
    1,067
    263
    64
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

These gardens were abosolutely spectactular. It was amazing to see and hear the vision of how Mrs Butchart transformed the gardens and how well kept the gardeners keep the gardens to a very high standard.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robster1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Gardens far exceeded our expectations!
We went at about 6 in the evening which was a lovely time of day to go, nice and quiet and allowed us the time to appreciate the gardens and views.
The Sunken gardens literally took our breaths away, simply stunning.
The rose garden had so many varieties in, have a smell as there are some crackers!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JowilkieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disneyesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Some remarkable aspects in this garden. Sunken garden is stunning and really liked some of the area planted with various kinds of foliage. Some of the other spaces weren't that special with common flowers massed in beds. Gift shop disappointing. Dining Room very nice with lovely food and views.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grier W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Never get tired of this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We took a city bus at $2.50 each way and it was just as efficient, but less expensive than the organized tour.

There is so much color that it is something to see. To think they turned an old quarry into such a vibrant garden is amazing.

We would recommend getting there early to get the best light for photos and avoid the tour groups. If you are there when the rose garden is in bloom, make sure you inhale. You will love the sweet aroma.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butchart Gardens also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing