We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit garden”
Review of Butchart Gardens

Butchart Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.41*
and up
Brentwood Bay Kayak Tour and Butchart Gardens Visit
More Info
US$55.67*
and up
Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria
More Info
US$130.93*
and up
Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens, and National Historic Site of Canada, started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A must visit garden”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We visited when the leaves had turned red, yellow and orange. The Japanese garden was absolutely charming. It is open all four seasons. Christmas lighting is said to be great. Visit this place for wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prabhakar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,372
    1,159
    293
    69
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never a Disapointment!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were especially lucky to go first thing Sunday morning and had the gardens almost to ourselves. Even though we've been to Butchart Gardens many times in the past, the magnificence of the Sunken and Japanese Gardens is never lost. No matter what time of year it's just plain magical. The High Tea at the Diningroom has got to be the best one in Victoria and not to be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Rich_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very well maintained”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We visited an hour before sundown so it was harder to see the full beauty of the gardens. I was hoping to see more native plants, but much of Butchart Gardens is filled will annual flowering plants that can be grown anywhere in the North America. Being a plant nerd, I was a little disappointed by this. I did get to see some trees and cedars native to the area and the rose garden is beautiful. I think that if our ship had docked sooner, we would have had more time at the gardens in the sunlight and I would have had a more positive experience. Hopefully you will have more time here than I did. I'm sure you will enjoy it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 86flowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I stop here every time I'm in Victoria!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

These gardens never disappoint - you will kick yourself if you don't bring a camera. It doesn't matter what season you visit, the gardens are always beautiful. You must walk out to the view of the harbor through the Japanese garden - it is always stunning, whether it's sunny or cloudy.

It's on the way into Victoria from the ferry or airport and signs easily direct you. There is no excuse not to visit here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank caliintrepidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Positive experence”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We visited the Butchart Gardens in October. The gardens are maintained immaculately and stunningly beautiful. In addition to native BC foliage there is a nice variety of other trees, plants, and flowers. The gardens are traversed easily and special access appears to be appropriate. We did not partake in food or tea time but the gift shop is nice. The butchard Gardens are a must see if you are a nature lover.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 120philg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butchart Gardens also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing