We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Scottish Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Scottish Decor”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A Scottish architect was imported to design this hotel. If you like half-timbering and gables, you'll really like this one. We had room 312, which had a single queen bed. The layout was excellent. Outside the bathroom, which featured pretty vintage-pattern tile and a long counter with sink, there was a virtual dressing room with vanity, mirror, and closet. The TV had a good variety of channels and was hidden in a wooden cabinet. The bed throw was a vibrant hunter green. The room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable, the free breakfast included bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs. Our room was well air-conditioned, although the halls were not.
I was reluctant to reserve a room at first sight because the steep roof looked like it needed some work, but we decided to try the Waddling Dog because of the good price, compared to other Victoria hotels we had checked out, and the location near the airport (we had an early flight). The desk clerks were very pleasant and accommodating and we were very glad we had tried this hotel.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed on the first two floors, but not on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    64
    31
    15
    12
See reviews for
40
57
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had stayed at this hotel over a number of years during both business and personal trips and were always impressed with the charm,size of rooms, cleanliness, and overall level of service. In fact, we brought 3 different sets of Swiss relatives there during the obligatory tour of Vancouver Island during the last 5 years. I even recommended this hotel to a girlfriend last year, who upon returning home advised me that "she thought it was not at all what we had remembered!"
So, three weeks ago we were back with a Swiss nephew only to be really stunned at the level of shabbiness and deteriorating condition overall. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing out to a roughshod backyard, TONS of bird poop on the corner of the window and the clerk who signed us in was wearing a stained t-shirt. The room was ok but certainly could have been refreshed. Now this might have been tolerable...perhaps...but the breakfast offerings were paltry, there were NO newspapers what-so-ever......and the final insult is the fact that 3 weeks later.....never having had such a condition--my husband and I both contracted Scabies. The Dr says that the time frame for contamination would more than likely correspond to our time in Victoria-- and the only place we stayed in was here. We will NEVER stay here again-- or at a Comfort Inn anywhere after this experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CoffeFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Central Saanich hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to the Island for a wedding in stayed at the Waddling Dog for two nights. It doesn't look like much when you first walk up, but the Waddling Dog delivered outstanding value for the money and we would definitely stay there again.

Some highlights of our stay:
- the room had *two* large, wide-opening windows - a feature getting more and more rare in hotels
- good, strong A/C
- a quiet, powerful ventilation fan in the bathroom
- the room was large and spotlessly clean
- fantastic water pressure in the shower
- wonderfully HOT hot water
- great, firm beds with top sheets *and* blankets (also getting rare it seems!)

I know the Tudor decor won't be to everybody's taste, but you can tell that even though the entire property is quite old it's *very* well taken care of. We found it charming - and we even got to meet the beagle namesake of the hotel!

The staff were also outstanding - they even held the wedding cake we brought in their commercial kitchen fridge for us overnight! We didn't get a chance to eat in the attached pub, but their drink prices were absolutely reasonable.

Close to the ferry, spotlessly clean, well-equipped (and well-preserved) rooms, and great staff at a bargain price - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This entire property needs to be upgraded. It has been sorely neglected far too long. Could have great potential with proper management. Owner shows no signs of trying to avoid it fast becoming a slum property. This was a wonderful place when Eric Lewis opened it years ago. We would love to see it restored it to it's former glory.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Wannacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here one night on a trip to Victoria Island. The room was clean but needed a huge remodel. The bottom row of tile in the shower were falling off the wall and black mold could be seen in the grout. Heating system was not functioning properly and I froze during the night. Staff was not friendly at all when I checked in and seemed to not really acknowledge my concerns when I informed them the next morning. They just joked that it was a old hotel. The library and woodwork is great and this could be a wonderful place to stay if it was updated. Breakfast was not of the level of other Choice Hotels. I stay over 80 nights a year in Choice Hotels so I should know.

Look at other choices if staying on Victoria Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
358 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I concluded a trip around Vancouver Island with 2 nights at the Waddling Dog. First, let me say, I was never disturbed by the dog barking. Second, the staff was extremely helpful and prompt to respond to requests.

The room had 2 queen beds and was quite large and comfortable. All of the amenities were there. We had 2 quality nights of sleep.

The hotel is near the gardens and the pleasant town of Sidney. The farm land surrounding the peninsula is picturesque and readily accessible. It is 20 minutes from downtown Victoria.

The nice things about this place ... a restaurant attached, much lower price than hotels of the same quality in Victoria or even Campbell River, and a comfortable room. The only real negatives are ... the continental breakfast (not a good one), and the expense of the restaurant/pub.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our stay was ruined by the "waddling dog" of the name. The hotel staff let the dog out into the backyard of the hotel at 6am, and left him outside for the next 20 minutes which he spent barking incessantly! The atmosphere was charming, the rooms were very spacious. The breakfast was okay but they were short on most items. If you want to sleep in, I don't recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the hotel, not above the backyard with the barking dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hownmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
3.2 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.7 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
698 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Waddling Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Waddling Dog

Property: Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Address: 2476 Mt. Newton Cross Roads, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 2B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Waddling Dog 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Waddling Dog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Waddling Dog Hotel Saanichton
Quality Inn Saanichton
Saanichton Quality Inn
Waddling Dog Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing