We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Motel, southern Vancouver Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Western 66 Motel

Western 66 Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Central Saanich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western 66 Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
nanoose bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Motel, southern Vancouver Island”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Convenient location, at the Mt Newton Cross Road/Hwy 17 (from the ferries) intersection. Mid way between Victoria and the ferries terminal, friendly helpful staff, comfortable rooms, reasonable rates, we always use them for a "base camp" when visiting the south Island area.

White Spot next door, and the Waddling Dog Inn across the intersection, so lots of dining choices withing walking distance.

They have a small library of books for your choice of reading while there.

Pick a room on the opposite side from the highway, less traffic noise, as motel is close to the main highway.

See their website for photos and more info.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have less fot traffic noise. Rooms on the side away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed here on a stop-over to our Hawaiian vacation. Were greated by great staff. Room was older but very clean, comfortable and clean. Were offered with a overnight stay a 10% discount at the attached White Spot as well as we parked for free for 2 weeks there whilst on our holiday!. This saved us paying for parking in excess of $160 at the airport.! Cab fare to airport is approx. $20 each way. We definately will stay here again and thank staff and management!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are farther away from the highway and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

This is a privately owned motel that we have been coming to for over 20 years. It is always clean, quiet and the price very reasonable. There are no fancy amenities and our room probably hasn't been upgraded in those 20 years.

We stay here for the friendly staff and the proximity to Victoria, the Butchart Gardens, BC Ferries and Sidney. You need a car if staying here although the bus does have a stop close by. There is a White Spot on site and a McDonalds across the street. There are great pubs in Sidney and another closer by in Saanichton.

There is no coffee maker, kettle or hair dryers in the room, but decent free coffee is available in the office. Some rooms have a microwave and small fridge.

If you want fancy this isn't your place. If you want reasonably priced, clean, friendly and support independent business, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This motel has a few two storey blocks buildings with rooms. The rooms are not that big and our room at the back of the motel smelled a bit musty. Our room had two queen size beds, which were too short for me (they were probably 180cm long). The room itself was clean, although there was some baking powder from a previous guest in the fridge. The bathroom is nothing special, but has a decent shower in it. The room is surprisingly quiet, and we didn’t hear the neighbors or the highway even the air-conditioning was surprisingly quiet though very effective.
The persons at the front desk were nice and helpful and the room itself was cheap.

If it wasn't for the price, I would have given this motel a lower rating.
If you’re looking for just a bed and a shower, then this could be something especially given the price, otherwise look for something else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtenay
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed in room 68 it was at the back of the hotel very shady ground floor the room was musty smelling. The TV and furniture were really outdated. The carpets need replacing they were brown in color but all along the walls and corners the carpet was grey and black. The worst thing was all the wood bugs in the room. There must of been at least 50 woodbugs in the room that were dead. I even found one on the underside of the bed quilt. They were in the corners of the room, under the heater in the carpet in the middle of the floor and in the washroom. I had to ask them to come into the room and vacuum them up while we went for dinner. I am thinking this room had not been occupied for several months and they never checked the room before renting it out in months.We only stayed one night and I could not wait to leave.This is a family run business and it looked like they cleaned al the rooms themselves.They really need to hire good cleaning staff that can do the job right and pay more attention to detail.I would never stay in the hotel again or ever recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaketilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Central Saanich hotels

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent three night is Western 66 at the start of a visit to the West of Canada. The reception services were good, we were provided with a ramp so it was easy to access the room in my TravelScoot and everyone was friendly.
For the price the room was outstanding and we enjoyed our stay, the beds were good and we would recommend this accommodation
The White Spot next door was good as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed here for a family wedding nearby in early June 2012. There were two adult couples and we drove from PG so were trying to keep costs down. We got two adjoining rooms, each with a bathroom (one had a shower, one had a tub only) for 98$ a night. Super cheap! It was clean and the front desk lady was very nice! No extra amenities (no clock beside the bed, no extra shampoo, etc) but it was good for what we needed. It has a White Spot on-site but we did not have enough time to try it out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
145 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western 66 Motel

Property: Western 66 Motel
Address: Western 66 Motel 2401 Mount Newton Cross Rd, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1T8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing