We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent motel at reasonable price”
Review of Western 66 Motel

Western 66 Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Central Saanich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western 66 Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent motel at reasonable price”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Western 66 for 4 nights in July. It is well priced and despite being on the main road the traffic noise is not an issue. Although this is a no frills motel it was clean and had what was needed. It would benefit from a little updating just to improve it. The staff were friendly and helpful. Ideally located near to Butchart Gardens and has a White Spot restaurant next door which is good for food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy707xh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upper island
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were coming home late from a wedding in Vancouver and needed an inexpensive hotel just to get a few winks so we did not drive tired, we had to go up Island. We stayed here, before years ago, and thought it was pretty decent, not so much any more.
Right from entering the office to the room itself smelled old and musty and the office reeked of cigarettes. But we were tired and all the other hotels were booked or really expensive, so we just put up with it. every thing was really outdated. The beds were really uncomfortable, the furniture old and so were the carpets. Two positive things were it was cheap and the White Spot Restaurant. I would not recommend this place for a holiday destination. I would think the White Spot Co-operation would want a better representation for their establishment. The entire place needs a severe make over and completely updated.

Room Tip: check room before reserving it. Check out the bed, the air conditioner and the smell etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chariotawaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Central Saanich hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Reservation met on time, short stay in satisfactory quarters, will return. Ideal spot for a one night stopover including proximity to White Spot for meals. Close to San Pen Hospital and M.D.'s office in Sidney.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Love that we can leave our car here while we fly! Close to Airport and very convenient. Very good for us to travel from Duncan and stay overnight so we can make an early flight and leave our care there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BabeVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We found this motel on our way to Vancouver Island’s west coast after departing the ferry. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room that they provided us with was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were nice and there are ample restaurants and stores in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustic-Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for - unfortunately there were loud banging pipes all night long. Best way to describe it - " its a room" this hotel is in a serious need of an update - time for new carpet and Lino.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elana1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had to be close to the Island View Beach Regional Park for a family outing, and there are 3 or 4 hotels/motels 5 minutes from the park. After searching prices and reviews, we decided on the Western 66. We just needed a place for the night. If you are looking for the extras, holiday style type place, i.e. pool, complimentary breakfast, etc., this is not it, that will cost you more. We had Room 35 on the ground floor at the back, and I do not remember any traffic noise. The room was not large, but totally adequate for the two double beds. They had the same patterned bedspreads I have seen in dozens of motels over the years, ha ha, but not worn. The bathroom had a stand-up shower, no tub, so maybe ask if you want a tub, and there was no coffee maker or hair dryer. However, the room was clean, did not look old, newer TV on wall, and there was a fridge and microwave, yay!. The coffee in hotel rooms is generally terrible anyway so when we travel by car, we always bring our own coffee maker and coffee, cream/sugar/spoons/cups, which works super well. There is decent coffee available in the lobby till noon in any case and if you need a hair dryer, all you have to do is ask. I didn't have to use heat or air, so can't comment on that, I had the window open. Beds are decent, but when people say the beds are comfy, I can't say that, I find them too hard everywhere. There is a White Spot immediately next door, so very convenient. And McDonalds, Tim Hortons just down the way. We had no complaints, I had no trouble with WiFi, and would come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniemary58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
151 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
3.8 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western 66 Motel

Property: Western 66 Motel
Address: Western 66 Motel 2401 Mount Newton Cross Rd, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1T8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing