We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Embarrassed to Say, I Stayed There Twice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Saanichton Victoria Airport
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'm Embarrassed to Say, I Stayed There Twice!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

In June my dad was hospitalized at Saanich Peninsula Hospital. My son and I traveled to visit him and booked a room at the Super 8 motel ONLY because it is just a few blocks from the hospital. The room was very modest and it was not particularly clean but, in a near-emergency, it was acceptable. The two of us occupied the room for a few short hours. The breakfast was fine - nothing fancy. Parking was adequate.
Sadly, a short time after our first trip, I returned to Vancouver Island with other family members and we attended my dad's funeral. We chose to stay at the Super 8 again because of location (only). The room rate was also a factor also. I warned the uninitiated family members that the motel is old and in a state of disrepair. I don't think my warning was adequate - all five of my family members were surprised at the state of the motel. Perhaps the most upsetting aspect of the second stay is that when my sister asked someone at the front desk to print out a document that she planned to share at the memorial service, the front desk clerk told her that the printer was ONLY for use by the motel. The desk clerk knew what the document was and she would not print out my sister's contribution to the memorial service. This is beyond cheap. It shows a lack of compassion and respect for a guest.
Frankly, i think Super 8 should take a look at this motel and should insist on improvements if the owner wants to retain the branding. We have stayed at the Super 8 Aldergrove location and it is a much, much better motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    47
    72
    69
    128
See reviews for
118
85
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel was old, which doesn't matter if it's clean. This one was not. There was dirt all around the table legs, wall corners, etc. It had been cleaned, just not that well. The bed was not at all comfortable, basically it just felt old. The screen was missing from the window, some windows had them, I saw one window that had one but it was bent and barely staying on.
When I checked out I asked the clerk if the CC hold would be taken off, she didn't even look up and said 'Yeah yeah' as if it was a bother. She just kept on doing what she was doing. And there was no one else in the lobby, it seemed whatever she was doing was certainly more important than the customer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gearman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Central Saanich hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you're seeking outstanding service, and lots of amenities, you should not be looking at Super 8. This motel had what I wanted: a good location, comfy beds, a working shower with great water pressure, and pleasant staff who all said hello.
Our flight arrived in Victoria around midnight. The motel was less than 10 minutes from the airport, just off the primary highway. We arrived, and promptly slept....soundly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The rooms were not clean. Crap all over the very stained rug. Dirt on the bathroom floor, bathroom walls and tub. Brown stains on the bedcover. Bathroom bulb was burnt out and they said they'd change it later in the day. Tough to use the sink and mirror without a light. Cheap but next time I'd rather pay more for cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hergest3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice clean, quiet facility. The young man on the front desk was very helpful and pleasant. No problems at all. We will stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank UnoSenorJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Not fancy but clean and quiet; Very convenient to Victoria International Airport. Was particularly impressed with the person I spoke to on the phone when making the reservations and arranging to leave our vehicle while we were away. Also, the staff at check-in was very friendly and accommodating - she ordered our cab for the early early morning pick-up and when we left, provided us with some "muffins and juice to go" because the breakfast wasn't being served that early.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank C O P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
152 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
3.8 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Saanichton Victoria Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Saanichton Victoria Airport

Property: Super 8 Saanichton Victoria Airport
Address: Super 8 Saanichton/Victoria Airport 2477 Mount Newton Cross Rd | Jct Patricia Bay Hwy, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 2B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Saanichton Victoria Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Saanichton Victoria Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Saanichton/Victoria Airport Hotel Saanichton
Super Eight Saanichton
Saanichton Super 8
Saanichton Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing