We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden feature at the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Central Saanich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oceanside RV Resort
Reviewed 19 July 2013

when you go down to the beach be sure to walk up the beach a few hundred feet until you can see the sewage treatment plant and its discharge pipe. not sure if beach has been tested for faecal counts or other micros. no signage to indicate. Perhaps Oceanside should be renamed to reflect this hidden gem. Also, you pay for the WIFI, but it hardly works. No real privacy between sites and for $58 per night, not great value.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank brent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceansideRVResort, Manager at Oceanside RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

We regret that your visit with us was disappointing. Thank you for your comments. We are always interested in customer feedback. Our WIFI is free of charge and generally very reliable. The resort access to the beach runs through the middle of the resort and is well south of the treatment plant. You must have accessed through the Tsawout Reserve land crossing the ditch on the north side of the Park perimeter.
The engineers have advised us that the water exiting the treatment plant is pure and very drinkable. Although it's a little cool, many guests from all over the world have told us how they enjoyed swimming at the beach and watching the Eagles nest and the Osprey soar and dive.
In 2008 the land between the resort and the beach was designated a conservation area. Five governing bodies including Environment Canada, Endangered Species Canada and Ducks Unlimited were assigned to monitor our 211 bird varieties and the unique plant life on the sand dunes of the beach. We feel very fortunate to be located in this very pristine environment.
Please feel free to contact me with any further questions or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Doing a bike tour of the island and made a reservation at this campground and wasnt disappointed. It is very accessible from the Tsawwassen - Swartz Bay ferry. I got camp set up and then easily accessed the Butterfly Gardens and Butchart Gardens. I stayed in a tenting site. The sites are very big with plenty of room for my tent, a picnic table, and 2 motorcycles. The site 1 is next to some shrubs but no large trees for shade. The bathrooms are renovated and very clean. There is a group fire pit and community kitchen accessible.
There is a remote beach that you can visit. It is a bit of a hike through some bush, maybe 500 m or so. Careful not to stay too late or you may lose the path in the dark.
Overall, this campground was perfect for my purposes. Easy access from ferry and to tourist attractions. Also, not too far from downtown Victoria. There are a few things in the neighbourhood that you may need like fast food restaurants and gas.
Staff was friendly and cheerful and had me ready for check in upon arrival.
Clean, quiet, campground.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed at Oceanside on the snowbird rate for 7 months last summer. I was very pleased with the sites, large and extremely well gardened. As I was a last minute with no reservation, the staff carefully moved me around till I got a site I could stay in for the rest of the summer. I returned this Spring. The staff are extremely hospitable. My brother who lives a luxurious lifestyle said . "Lew you live in a nice place".

In addition, they get a lot of European RV rental folks and they all seem to be pleased with the service they get. The park is so easy to get to from the Ferry and has great direct access to Butchart Gardens and downtown Victoria.

Room Tip: Try to get in a site with view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lewferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank JwKb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Edgar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Nyyfann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelikahirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Central Saanich hotels
4.1 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
738 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
3.8 mi away
Benvenuto Bed & Breakfast
Benvenuto Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Central Saanich
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Brentwood Lighthouse
Brentwood Lighthouse
#2 of 2 in Central Saanich
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside RV Resort

Address: 3000 Stautw Rd, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 2K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Central Saanich
Price Range: £11 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open All Year! Situated on the shores of the Pacific Ocean on the stunning Saanich Peninsula, Oceanside RV Resort boasts modern and spotless facilities in a pristine beachside location! Our award-winning resort offers spacious, full service seasonal and overnight voyageur sites. Located a short 10 minutes from Sidney, 20 minutes north of Victoria, and 15 minutes from the Swartz Bay Ferry Terminal, you can easily enjoy the many activities this unique area has to offer! Experience the resort's friendly and peaceful atmosphere, take a short stroll to the beach, socialize with friends and family at the resort cookhouse with its extra large barbeque, and take advantage of the immaculate facilities including laundromats, public washrooms, and hot showers (6' x 6' shower facilities available for wheelchair convenience). Oceanside RV Resort is designed for your comfort and enjoyment. From bird watching (with over 120 bird species) to whale watching, the breathtaking natural environment provides a wealth of activities for you to enjoy! The Saanich Peninsula is surrounded by an archipelago of accessible islands with many bays, inlets, and small harbours, creating inspiring views for hikers, safe harbours for boaters, and habitat for abundant marine life. With such a beautiful setting, we know you won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing