We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch in beautiful surroundings”

The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wallace Drive
Transit: From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt
Description: Open for High Tea only from January 7th to February 28th, 2017. Served from 12pm - 3pm. Reservations recommended. One of two restaurants (the Blue Poppy is the other, more casual style) in the renowned Butchart Gardens. The Dining Room Restaurant is located in the former residence of the Butchart family and is surrounded by gardens. Fresh local ingredients and local wines make for exceptional experiences. Afternoon Tea is served in the warmer months and during the Magic of Christmas season. High Tea during the rest of the year. Patio seating is available during the warmer months. Dining Room reservations can be made on The Butchart Gardens website or via OpenTable.
North Saanich, BC
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had a cheddar potato soup for $10 and creme brulee for dessert. Both beautiful done, delicious and all in all very enjoyable. Eating here at The Dining Room is a special event - for a less expensive choice the coffee shop is fine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    125
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tea at the Gardens”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Tea at the Gardens was great fun! Nice room with a good view of the Gardens. More food than either of us could eat and all of it delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kakuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazzybear@shaw.ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yuletime Treat”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What began as an alternative to Christmas gift-giving with my wife's brother and his wife has developed into an annual event. We have been fortunate to have reached our senior years with reasonable health and not a lot of needs. Consequently, in place of exchanging presents, the two couples now treat themselves to a lovely evening of conversation, great service and a wonderfully-prepared repast.
Evenings during the Christmas season, also, happen to be a personal favourite time to stroll the gardens,. The displays of colourful groupings of flowers that have attracted millions to this World-class attraction is replaced during the Yule season by lighted displays on the theme of "The Twelve Days of Christmas". In addition, one can ride the carousel, ice skate and be entertained by strolling carollers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I have season's passes to the Gardens, and often have lunch at the Blue Poppy or the coffee shop when we visit (once or twice a month) but we have had dinner at the Dining Room. Good food, although not outstanding. Wine list is very good, but pricey. Every B.C. wine of any merit at all, priced from $40 up. If you want to drink local wines, Ortega is a good white. Flowery, with citrus tones. The best red by far is Starling Lane's Marechal Foch, but as the winemaker has retired they be out soon, in which case try Averill Creek's Prevost. Generally attentive staff, but they staff a bit lightly for a really good restaurant. If the house is not full, you'll be fine - the staff know their job and service is expert, but they only serve dinner at Christmas and tourist season, so you might be less than thrilled at the service you get for the price you pay. Dinner for two with a bottle of wine will run you at least $150. Lunch on the terrace is nice is the warm months, and there are lots of reviews about that. I think high tea is overdone (not just here, but everywhere) but when in Rome....In sum, not the best place to eat in the area, but certainly the best venue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“The Best High Tea on the Island”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Forget about High Tea at the Empress! It's overpriced and not as good as what you'll get at Butchart Gardens. We had a lovely table that looked out onto the gardens, and our waiter was very attentive. The champagne cocktails were delicious, and each of us chose a different tea. There were five people in our party, so we got to sample five different teas. You get a LOT of food at high tea. Everything was delicious! This is what you expect High Tea to be, and we will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Dining Room Restaurant - Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing