We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful venue that showcases the Penninsula and cider!”

Sea Cider Farm & Ciderhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful venue that showcases the Penninsula and cider!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I live on the Penninsula and visit local enterprises to support local production. I visited Sea Cider a few years ago, and loved the product but left feeling like the servers didn't care. Much has changed!!! Today, this beautiful lodge-like venue with sea views to James Island and Mt. Baker had a totally different attitude. The cider is an experience on its own; add the view and you are relaxed. Now add discreet but excellent service and this place should be on your must-do list. They were busy getting ready to host 5 weddings but the staff were attentive, informative - adding to an excellent afternoon taste-testing cider that rivals wine in excellence. Well done Sea Cider! I'm going to become a regular...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    52
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the experience we were hoping for”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I have been to several different wineries and tasting rooms around the world. We absolutely love hard cider so thought this would be amazing. We walked into the charming cider house not sure if we should go ahead and sit down or go to the counter. We were instructed to find a seat wherever we liked. There were around 4 people working and 75% of the tables were full. We were given a menu which labeled the ciders and details and then the small amount of appetizers they offer. We got the largest Ploughman Plate because were we starving and the long flights which includes 9 different ciders. We got our plate after about 10 minutes and the ciders around 15. Which seemed unusually long considering they just needed to be poured. This is where the service from our other tasting experiences differed. The "server" literally dropped off the ciders and walked away. We had a list on the table that described the ciders but usually someone is around to answer questions or explain the different tastings. We were not even offered water during the whole time we were there. And after ordering the two most expensive items on the menu, that seems a given, especially with tastings. No one asked us if we were interested in buying bottles or how it worked. We eventually paid, which you have to tell them again what you ordered, there's no check and we left not really sure on what we just experienced. It was strange to say the least. I think this place could be awesome, maybe we just experienced a bad service day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
457 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Fun cider tasting”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a great visit to Sea Cider on my way from the ferry in Sidney to Butchart Gardens. The ciderhouse is a little off the beaten path, but seemed popular. Since I was solo, I could only sample 3 ciders. I didn't buy any, but it was a great afternoon to sit and relax with my "short flight". Great location and the staff are great too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lirwin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
474 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Amazing view and Cider Sample on a sunny day”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After slogging with the Blue-Hair crowd through Butchart we NEEDED a drink. Having tried our first cider ever a few days before in Washington we decided to compare apples to apples (literally) and give Canadian Cider a try. Easy to follow signs pointed us down the residential neighborhood and once there we were treated to a gorgeous patio deck spot built out over the vineyard from the re purposed barn and decided to split the full sampler and a dip/cracker spread. Such a lovely treat. The 12 cider sampler was enough to share between 2 (and still leave some of the stronger ones unfinished) and the nibbles were just enough to soak up the booze and hold us over for a late lunch when we got back to town after more adventures. Beautiful, quiet and tasty - 3 of my favorite things!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful venue for the occasion. Service, excellent, views spectacular, weather even co-operated. Food great and cider tasted great. Well worth a visit and anyone planning a wedding should give it the once over.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sasaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Cider Farm & Ciderhouse also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sea Cider Farm & Ciderhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing