We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Again and Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This Resort was very overpriced for what it provided. We asked for a room on the second level and they said they would put that in as our request but could not guarantee it in case someone who was already in a second level room requested to stay another night. We asked for a 8:00 pm reservation at a table on the patio against the railing and were told that it should be available but it depended upon whether the people at that table for a 6:00 pm reservation were finished yet. When we arrived we were put in a room on the first level and at our dinner reservation the table we requested was not available and the people at it received their entree at about the same time that we did. The dinner was very good. The room was very nice but not worth the price. The pool was fine but the hot tub not very hot. Most of the view of the Brentwood Bay is of the Ferry dock which is immediately in front of you. I would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed mid August with my girlfriend and had a great visit. Good food (had sushi for dinner and crab eggs benny for breakfast), good service, very clean. Pub staff were very friendly and made us coffees to go to go look at the waterfront, bed was very comfortable, pool and hot tub were very nice and the sandals and robes to wear to the pool and hot tub were a nice touch. Every staff member was polite and very friendly. Free parking, free calls in North America, free wifi, best rain shower ever.

Very nice get-away from City and traffic. Beautiful architecture. Spouse had a Essence pedicure with french polish and said she really enjoyed the Spa, service and lounge in the Spa. She got a goody bag and a polish to take with her which, she thought was a nice added touch. Thanks Brentwood Bay Resort.

Room Tip: One bedroom ocean suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Booked before we came to Canada, the last hotel on our trip, it just finished off our holiday wonderfully. The room booked was on the "second" floor, actually the same level as the reception, with a great view of the harbour. Because of a problem with that particular room, we were moved speedily and efficiently to another. In fact, we chose to go to a slightly smaller room on the third floor, rather than the other equivalent room, which was too near the swimming pool, where the views were not quite as good as the first room. It seems all of the guest rooms at the resort do have views of the harbour.

Breakfast menu as a good choice and all of the items we tried over our three night stay were good.

You do need a car: we took a walk in the area around the hotel, but it was not that interesting: there is a small shopping strip 10-15 minutes walk away. The drive into Victoria took perhaps 20 -25 minutes: get on Route 17 as soon as you can for this.

There are a couple of golf courses to play within about 15 minutes drive and Sidney by the Sea is not a bad place to visit.

A boat shuttle is offered ($25 each) to the "must do" Butchart Gardens, not many minutes away, but our boat driver took us for a tour around part of the harbour, with a commentary, which was worth while. Go to the Gardens on a Saturday in July or August, when they do the fireworks and the boat times fit nicely with the firework times.

Room Tip: If you want a really spectacular view, take a room slightly further from the swimming pool (there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our room was at the end on the 2nd floor. Very spacious living room, spa inspired bath with wonderful shower and jetted tub, bedroom, and balcony with hot tub all overlooking the beautiful harbor. Lovely grounds. DIVINE spa, (the couples mud cocoon is a MUST), nice pool and hot tub. Turn down service came with a gift from the spa...aroma-therapy pillow spray, lip balm, lotion. Very nice. The nicer restaurant has excellent sushi (can't remember the name); we didn't try the pub. Al fresco dining is also available for both. I highly recommend the ecotour, and if you enjoy fishing, try Andy's Charters in nearby Victoria Harbor. Great fun! Oh...and BBRS welcomes you with a flute of champagne upon arrival; great way to start a vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for the end room on the second floor nearest the private residences. They told us it was the nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kersti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I ended up booking this hotel because everything else in town was booked, what a pleasant surprise! When I arrived to check in I was offered a free glass of champagne or sparkling water then the same person that checked me in carried my bag to my room (305), giving me a tour of the entire place, the restaurants etc. on the way. My room was very nice, I got the ocean view and the view from the patio was beautiful. There was a fireplace and jetted bath tub in my room along with a Keurig coffee maker and tea kettle, both with free coffee and Taxo teas. There was even real cream in the fridge! I had room service for dinner from the pub (fish and chips). it came quickly and was excellent. There was a comfortable king size bed and an alarm clock with an iPod charger dock. There was also a fairly reasonably priced mini bar ( I had a Smirnoff Ice for $5 ) but next time would bring a few drinks and snacks and spend the night watching the sunset on the patio. There is a marina that offers kayak rentals and fishing/boat tours right on the property as well. I usually stay right downtown while in Victoria so this resort felt a little out of the way (30 min drive from downtown) but if you are just looking to get away and relax it would be a great choice.

Room Tip: 305 was a great room, if possible get a room on the 3rd floor so your a bit higher up with a clear v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I were on Vancouver Island visiting my sister who lives near Sidney. She gave us a gift of a night at the Brentwood Bay Resort and what a terrific gift it was! The construction of the resort and the way the rooms are laid out already create a calm that was much needed after an active week. Little touches in the room such as a set of tea lights, healthy snacks, a Keurig brewer, hot water pot, plenty of towels and dimmers on a lot of the light switches were welcome as was the number of comfortable chairs (six), tables, a gas fireplace, a view from the private deck of the bay - the list goes on. The pool is small but never crowded and the hot tub, is just the right temperature. We did not have time to experience the aroma garden or the restaurant but I cannot imagine that it was not of the same level. The room was extremely quiet even with the windows open and the local ferry was kind enough to not blow its horn until 9:30am. The staff is outstanding - friendly, helpful and the front desk folks accompany you to the room and check you out on the many amenities. I would return in a second!

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the restaurant and pool are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This small hotel property about 20 miles north of Victoria,B.C. is located in a quiet area of Brentwood Bay. We stayed in room 305. The room was outstanding with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay, a gas fireplace for a romantic touch (and warmth when necessary), and a jacuzzi, complete with candle tea ligthts. I liked the fact that the big windows in the room could be shaded without closing out the light by the use of pull-down translucent shades. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. The hotel service was exemplary with special help from Juan at the front desk. There are two restaurants on property; a casual pub-type and a more formal dining area. Dress is smart casual to casual. The best part of the property, however, is their spa which offers a wide variety of services. I had the relaxation massage which was superior to any I have ever had elsewhere.
Brentwood Bay is a very nice hotel but several things prevented me from giving it a 5: the jacuzzi should have handrails on the side of the tub which is very deep and difficult to get out of, and the restaurants should offer a daily special since the menu can get tiresome, especially if you are not a sushi or seafood fan. In addition, the hotel's location makes it difficult to get around unless you have a car or are prepared to take taxis everywhere. A cab ride into Victoria city center is around $50 each way w/o tip. The other nearby city is Sidney which is a beautiful seaside town but again, the taxi fare is around $35 each way w/o tip.

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor have the best view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookalukus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,294 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range: £99 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant OceanSuite features king size beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing