We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2008

My Husband and I chose this place hoping to find a resort we could relax and get away locally with nice views and a great location and this resort didn't fit either bill for us.

The location is, as other's have said, at the end of a residential road in a small community. There is no beach or walking area to speak of other than a small path along the bluff in front of people's houses. Honestly, I personally wouldn't feel all that comfortable walking around by myself anyway. There is a small area by the marina to launch a kayak and I understand the site is good for scuba diving as well.

The rooms are quite spacious and nicely decorated. We had booked a Deluxe Ocean Suite which is an upgrade from the regular Ocean Suite. The entrance to all the rooms is from outside rather than from an inside hallway. The beds were comfortable with soft linens and there is a small seating area by the fireplace. There were some nice small touches like the welcoming letter, cookies and the glass of sparkling wine/water at check-in. This would be great if we were planning on hanging out in the room a lot. Unfortunately we were hoping to spend a lot of time relaxing on our balcony which didn't happen.

The view from our room was very obscured by vegetation, the only spot on our balcony where we could even see the water was the far right hand side where we could see a small portion of the ferry dock and bay. We did however have a very clear view of the pool and them of us. Every move we made on the balcony was followed by the pool dwellers and we could hear their conversations clearly from the second floor, so if you dislike that as much as me ask for a room AWAY from the pool as far away as you can in fact, they probably have better views too.

The pool is small with a hot tub attached. Though the resort indicates on their website that it is a resort geared more towards adults wanting a tranquil atmosphere and those under 16 not recommended (which was attractive to us) but there was in fact a toddler running around the pool and a infant with their parent in the pool during our stay. I understand as a parent myself, sometimes you need to take your children with you on vacation, but perhaps somewhere more family friendly.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but did eat one night in the Pub. The service and food were mediocre, I would recommend eating off-site but you will have to drive to get anywhere. We found a nice local Pizza/Pasta place called Romeo's about 15 minutes away which had very good food and was a great deal. You want fancy, you will have to drive further afield.

We didn't partake in any of the spa services at all.

So all in all if you are looking for a nice room to come back to after kayaking, scuba diving, golfing or spending the day doing the touristy thing in near-by Victoria this may fit your bill.

However, if you are looking for a nice place with spectacular views and a private relaxing atmosphere, I would keep looking.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Americanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
There are newer reviews for Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2008

The hotel itself is gorgeous and very romantic. It is practically on the water which is also lovely. However it is not 5 star in regard to the food or the service. We cut short our stay there from 5 days to 4 as we felt it was so poor. The staff constantly stood around in huddles talking rather than serving and on a number of occassions we had to go and ask someone for a menu or to serve us. The sushi bar was our best experience as the Chef was excellent and the food lovely. However almost every other meal we had either in the pub or Grille was OK or poor. Although the room was stunning and had lovey touches such as candles it was not serviced daily (until we called and asked as I think we were forgotten) and we also had to request that the mini bar be re-filled. We did complain to the owner who did seem genuinely concerned and sorry and he paid for our dinner on the final night which we appreciated. However, we left having felt that the hotel is extremely over priced and the service terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittyblueit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Great hotel; excellent customer service at all levels: front desk, wait staff, housekeeping; noise-free, even fully booked; located outside Victoria, close to Butchart Gardens; perfect retreat for couples; booked through expedia which included free Cont. bkfst; we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank s-s-opks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

A nice place, but they advertise themselves as "five-star" and they're not. For five-star, I'd suggest checking out the Aerie, which isn't too far away.

On the upside, the location is very accessible, just 15 minutes or so from the ferries, right near Butchart Gardens, and 15 minutes from Victoria proper. It's relatively small, which is good, and the people at the front desk are very nice. It's on the water, with easy kayaking, boating, etc.

On the other hand, the views aren't so great -- somewhat obstructed, and of a small harbor, not a spectacular view. And the service is the restaurant, particularly on weekends, was incredibly slow, plus the food was OK but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mosqer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

The is the most amazing hotel! I have nothing bad to say except maybe that its not right IN victoria. But maybe thats a good thing!

The beds were comfortable, the jacuzzi tub amazing and romantic. The service was wonderful, and the spa was great! (we had massages)

The one thing i might warn about is that the jacuzzi tub self cleans, and can be a bit loud and startling! :)

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chita229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in Deluxe Rooms on the Second Floor and were extremely happy with the hotel and the rooms (lovely ambience with fireplaces and candles). Washrooms also excellent! The surroundings are very peaceful and leave you with a feeling of being "away from it all". The pool area is very nice as well.

The only suggestions I would have is to dine away from the property. Although the food was not bad it was not notably great either. Service in the pub was quite good, but extremely slow in the breakfast restaurant, even when not busy (and again quality lacked).

Also we spent a large part of one of our days at the spa and while the appearance is of an upper end spa (as well as the prices), I would not say the services were up to snuff. If the pricing was more reasonable I would say give it a try but for the cost my preference would be the Willow Stream Spa in Victoria by a long shot.

All in all a lovely getaway with a friend or as a romantic getaway. I would definitely go back and just venture out a bit more for dining/spa.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank noname36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We stayed at the Brentwood Bay Lodge for a few nights during our honeymoon on Vancouver Island. It is safe to say that it was our favourite place we stayed during our trip - we wished that we could bring the room with us to each of the stops on our journey!

We stayed in the Deluxe Room, which is a step-up from the normal room, but not as nice or as large as the one bedroom. The room was a good size, the bathroom was huge (with a 2 person jetted tub!) and everything was clean and in great condition. The room was also very quiet. Our balcony had a nice view and some good privacy, and we sat out on it every night. We also made nightly use of the fireplace.

During our stay we marvelled at how everything was thought of - there were little touches here and there that made our stay more comfortable and more special.

We ate at the resort's restaurant one evening and while the embiance was lovely, and the view was very nice, our service was slow and the food was not as great as the prices suggested. We didn't go to the pub, but we've heard that it is better than the restaurant. We also did not get a chance to use any of the spa services.

We will definately return to Brentwood Bay Lodge next time we're on the island. The deluxe room was fabulous, and depending on the occasion of our return, we may book the one bedroom because it looks like they have private hottubs.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vulpecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,261 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,791 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,792 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range: £118 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant OceanSuite features king size beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing