We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The rooms were good size and very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the marina. The service reasonably good. Also, the pub had. Excellent food and drink, with a very friendly waitstaff. The hotel is only a 25 mile ride to Victoria. More importantly, it is only a very few miles from Butchgart Gardens, the most impressive. It is what all gardens are measured. We were on the last few days our honeymoon, and it was a perfect spot for it. Do not bother with the spa services. They have obvious neophytes and incompetent, but the prices are for perfection.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
There are newer reviews for Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great views of the bay. The food in the hotel cafeteria was outstanding!!! Cannot remember the last time I had sushi this fresh and flavorful. Even the rice was cooked to perfection. Definitely a place to stay when visiting victoria. I never write reviews but this place is worth my time to write about.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for this absolutely wonderful review L B! It is so funny you call our dining room a cafeteria as we are just in the process of refreshing that space to make it feel less like a cafeteria! Either way, we are thrilled you had such a lovely time and we do hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As two young parents living in the hot central valley of CA, a child-free escape to beautiful Brentwood was a piece of heaven on earth. Our oceanfront room was spacious and luxe with an amazing bathtub and beautiful views of the bay. We both enjoyed massages at the spa. We ate three meals, two at the Seagrille and one at the pub - if you love sushi, the seagrille was delicious. Brentwood is not close to downtown Victoria but if you want a peaceful retreat - I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would try to get the highest floor for the maximum quiet
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vivaviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

You recent visit it with us does sound heavenly and we are thrilled to hear it! You have described the exact experience we do the best and we look forward to welcoming you as often as you can get away!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Brentwood Bay was our Honeymoon Suite. We absolutely loved the views. The room as just right in size and was tastefully decorated to be classic and functional. The soaker tub was an excellent experience and the filtering shades over the floor to ceiling windows were perfect to enjoy the view and have privacy. The wooden decor was a good choice and matched the scenery. The beds were nice and the service great! I would recommend sleeping in, having breakfast on your patio, and lingering for at least a couple of days. One day is not enough, as check out time is 11 (it would be nice if check out time was moved a hour later to noon so one could enjoy the setting). We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HomerWellsSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Congratulations HomerWellsSD! We are thrilled that your recent honeymoon with us was such a wonderful experience. We wish you many years of happiness and joy, and we hope many years of you both visiting us for your romantic getaways.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A lot of pros and cons here. The pros: gorgeous property with incredible views. The place has a rugged yet modern decor and boasts fantastic views and lots of privacy. The restaurant is quite good. The hotel has it's own dock with access to paddle boards and kayaks, which is super convenient. The rooms are very nice, with a private balcony or terrace facing the water. All very nice.
Now, the cons: is it just me, or did everyone else know that Brentwood Bay is in the middle of nowhere? There is no town of Brentwood Bay. It is just a spot on a map. The hotel is 15 miles and a $55 cab ride from downtown Victoria-- sure wish I had realized this before I booked! Ok, that's my bad. But wouldn't you think a deluxe hotel like this, charging what they charge here, would offer some sort of shuttle service to/ from town a few times per day? That would not seem to be too much to ask. Instead, we had to take the city bus which ran on a very irregular schedule and took about 45 minutes each way. (The price was very good, however, only $2.50 each way.)
Other cons: Internet service was way worse than spotty; it hardly worked at all from the room. Ridiculous.
No complimentary water in the room? That doesn't seem right.
The pool was closed for half our stay b/c some kid supposedly vomited. The pool is so tiny that it seemed to us that it could have been drained and refilled in the time they said they needed to correct the Ph levels.
(If I could give this 3.5 stars I would. As I am forced to choose between 3 and 4 stars, my kids succeeded in lobbying me for the 4th star. But just barely.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank peter z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review Peter Z. We do have a stunning spot on the Sannich Penninsula, which is a beautiful and remote community about 30 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Victoria. I am very sorry to hear that our location was an issue during your stay. I am also sorry to hear that during your stay we had to close our pool for a few hours as some of our other guests did have an accident. We are always appreciative of everyone's patience during accidents of this nature. We are changing our service provider to correct our WIFI signal and we can appreciate how annoying the spotty service can be at times!

Thank you again for your review and your feedback; and a special thanks to your children for lobbying the four star review:)

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July, 2014. The hotel is really first class. The architecture is beautiful and fits in well with the surroundings. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and nicely decorated. All rooms offer a gorgeous view of the bay from the balcony or terrace. We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View Suite which featured a king size bed, a great bathroom with a large jetted tub (when you open the shutters in the bathroom you see the sunset through your room's window) and a nice terrace. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I think this is the first hotel we've stayed at where the person checking us in actually walked us to the room and pointed out all the features. As we arrived in the early evening and dinner options near the hotel are very limited, we ate in the Pub. The food was surprisingly good and reasonably priced and the service was good too.
My only slight disappointments were: When we arrived there was only one person working the front desk and she was busy on the phone taking a reservation. The choice of channels on the HD TV was quite disappointing and the reception was lousy. I know we didn't stay there to watch TV but after a long day of walking, biking etc. it was nice to relax a bit in front of the tube. Also as I mentioned dining options nearby are limited so if you're spending the day down in Victoria you may want to consider eating there before heading back to the hotel
Over all, a great stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room here. We stayed on the first floor and it was still nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review fishr. I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time with us in July. Your note about our television channels and signal is something we just happened to be addressing now as we are switching our service provider. Our WIFI provider is also being changed so we can be sure to offer the best signals in our rooms.

That you for your review and your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to visit us again very soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I made reservations for 2 ocean view rooms two months in advance of our arrival. The room rates were charged in full to my credit card and I received notice from Expedia that our rooms were "guaranteed". Two weeks before our arrival, I was notified by Expedia that Brentwood Bay canceled our reservations-due to overbooking. One of the rooms was for my 85 year old mother who has lung cancer which has now metastasized. She has 6-12 months to live. I planned this trip for her while she is still able to travel. This hotel was on her bucket list. Do they really deserve TripAdvisor awards with this kind of treatment of guests? Denise Teal

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
10  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, General Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review Denise T. It is very unfortunate that your booking was cancelled and we are so sorry you were not able to enjoy a wonderful stay with your mother. Unfortunately, this was an Expedia error, not a Brentwood Bay Resort error. When our hotel fills to capacity, we close available dates on Expedia so we don't oversell our hotel. The dates of your stay were closed on May 3rd, months before your booking. Expedia's mistake meant that guests were still able to make bookings even after they were closed on their website and I'm afraid, you were one of them. This is not something we have encountered with our partnership with Expedia before. When we receive bookings through Expedia we do not receive the contact details for the guest. So in a very unique circumstance like this one, we were not able to connect with you personally to first apologize, and second, to find another date for you to be able to join us.

Please accept our apologies; we are so sorry this happened on what was to be a very special trip indeed. We wish you and your family all the best.

Natasha Richardson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,266 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,796 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,803 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range: £118 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant OceanSuite features king size beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing