We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay but go in eyes wide open”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but go in eyes wide open”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My wife and I spent 3 days and 2 nights @ the Brentwood Bay Lodge. All things considered it was a very good experience. I’ll provide feedback on the accommodations, the spa, and the 4 dining options, including room service, within the lodge.

Location: The location is about 25 minutes north of downtown Victoria. This means it has a remote feel to it which can be good or bad depending on what you’re seeking. We hired a town car (LA Limo) to shuttle us from the Victoria Clipper to the hotel and back. The cost was $89 CAN all inclusive. We could’ve rented a car but we weren’t sightseeing this trip. Or we could’ve hired a taxi which would have been about 60% of the cost of a town car. The hotel has wonderful views of the bay. There’s a nice trail that goes along the water. There’s a café on the bay but we didn’t eat there. During the summer months there are charters that run from the dock down the path from the hotel. Down the road about a mile or so are a few retail outlets (coffee shop, drug store ,etc).

Accommodations: The room was clean and nicely decorated. It had a fireplace, massage shower, and a two person jetted tub. The room had a king size bed with comfortable linens. The TV wasn’t an LCD/Plasma which was a bit surprising but not a big deal; there is a DVD player and the lobby has a decent selection of movies you could watch at no additional cost. The room also had a safe. Every room has a wonderful view of the harbor. There were a few issues. First, you access your room from the outside (sort of like a motel) which isn’t a big deal other than we had to go out in the cold to walk to the spa and the restaurants. Next, there was construction going on next door. The first day we were woken up @ 8am by a giant crane right outside our room. The second day we were woken again promptly @ 8am by sawing and hammering. When I mentioned this to the front desk I didn’t get an apology but rather some lame explanation of how they can’t predict the construction schedule. A little warning @ check-in or an apology @ check-out would have gone a long way. Lastly there were a couple of maintenance issues with the room. The safe didn’t work (complained about a low battery) and the fireplace’s automatic shutoff didn’t work. These are items the maid should have flagged and had fixed.

Spa: we purchased a spa package which included $100 spa credit. We waited until our arrival to book a treatment. That was a bad idea as everything was booked. We lucked out with a cancellation but had that not had happened we would’ve been spa-less. Lesson learned: always book spa treatments as far ahead of time as possible. The spa is on the smaller side. For example, the lounge only seats 8 people: 4 big comfy chairs and two tables with two chairs each. The locker room was also small: one each toilet, sink, and shower. The staff at the spa were very professional and accommodating. All-in-all it was a pleasant experience but not something you could make a day of like at other spas I’ve been to.

Sushi: There is an inviting sushi bar. However the goodness ends there. The sushi chef isn’t very friendly or talkative. And most importantly the food isn’t that good. The fish tasted fresh but the rice was poor and the assembly was clumsy. All told I get better sushi @ Whole Foods. My recommendation is to take a pass on sushi.

Pub: The pub is inviting and during the summer you can sit out on the patio overlooking the bay. Most nights they have live music. There is a decent selection of local beers and a full bar. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food was ok. We tried the halibut and chips, lamb burger, and crab cakes. Most things were a bit overcooked. One day I tried to order pita chips with various dips but was told it wasn’t available as the kitchen didn’t do the prep work on it that day. The menu could stand a few more finger appetizers (nachos, chips & salsa, wings, etc) to eat while sitting enjoying a beer and watching the game. Since the beer is cold, the staff friendly, and flat screen TVs all over, it’s a fun place to sit and relax.

Seagrille: This is the main dining room. We had dinner there the first night. As expected the service was friendly and attentive. The menu had a nice selection of fish (as the name of the restaurant implies). We were surprised to find a wonderful wine list with a great selection of California and French wines and a good selection of Canadian wines. I would have liked to see Washington and Oregon wines on the list. The only problem with the California and French wines was the price, almost all were above $200/bottle. This may have to do with the import tax but I couldn’t bring myself to pay that for wine; especially when I know what it should cost. We asked our waiter to help us pick a Canadian wine. He gave us a few choices with very nice descriptions of the wines. We opted for a 2006 Reserve Pinot Noir from Blue Mountain Winery. It was just as he described it and was very pleasant. As for the food: The beef consommé was near tasteless. The vegetable terrine (with pesto) was amazing. The fresh halibut was moist. And the arctic char with crispy skin was delicious. It was a very satisfying meal.

Room Service: Both mornings we order room service for breakfast. This was an easy and fast process. The food arrived in about the same amount of time as sitting in the restaurant. The price was reasonable (not the usual huge mark-up) and it was tasty. They also offer lunch and dinner service though we didn’t take advantage of these.

Summary: Overall we had a very nice time and would consider returning, albeit armed with course knowledge. We’d book spa treatments in advance, ask for a room on the top floor, and avoid the sushi bar. Otherwise, room service was great, the Seagrille was delicious, the pub was enjoyable and the accommodations were inviting. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is the right place. If you’re looking to shop, sightsee, and experience all Government Street has to offer you’re better off at The Empress or Hotel Grand Pacific; neither of which we’ve stayed but they were recommended to us and have the benefit of the location.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonesWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    129
    27
    24
    17
See reviews for
63
462
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at this romantic boutique hotel right after our wedding in September. We were looking for a place to getway and just relax. We wanted to find a place with amazing food (we are foodies), great wine selection, outdoor activites and beautiful rooms. This hotel met our highest expectations on all of the above!!! We were thrilled with our choice.
We are from Calgary, Alberta and it is a short plane ride away. Once we got there we were amazed!!!!!
This hotel is located right on the water. The view from our room was stunning. We looked right out into the Bay. The room was awesome. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. It had a large 2 person jecuzzi tub, large shower and wonderful (spa-like) bathroom products. The balcony was perfect. We enjoyed a bottle of champagne (provided by the hotel for our honeymoon) at sunset. Bathrobes were also provided which was nice for when sitting by the firplace in our room.
The room was cozy and comfortable.
The restaurant on site was awesome. We enjoyed meals on the "bar-side" and "restaurant-side". For one of our dinners we chose the "chef's selection". It was amazing and definitely worth trying. The wine selection (and beer) selection was long and amazing!!
The pool is perfect!
We also rented kayak's for the two days that we were there. We were able to take them out into the bay for a few hours each day. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a bit of an adventure. It was so much fun!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone that is looking for a quiet, romantic weekend getaway. It is 20 min outside of Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacayGirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in a few).
*Fantastic, contemporary rooms (we had one overlooking the marina). 5* standard.
*We ate in the bar/pub, which had a great atmosphere (mix of locals and guests) and great food.
*The service was exceptional.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, romantic break in luxurious surroundings, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed recently from October 23rd-26th. Overall the hotel was very nice and the rooms had execellent amenities. The doors to the room could be thicker though as you can hear all the activity in the walkway. On our second night we came back to the hotel for dinner only to find that the whole restaurant was closed off due to a wedding. The front desk never alerted us in advance that the whole lodge would be taken over by a very loud wedding party. They had music that was heard throughout the property, kids running and screaming down the walkways; kids having temper tantrums outside our door. Everything you'd fear from having a large wedding. The management and staff seemed totally overwhelmed and were semi apologetic. The next night the party was gone and we seemed to be the only people at the place, and it was then nice and peaceful. I HOPE that the last night was more towards the normal, but without knowing for sure I can't give a full recommendation of the property.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caxtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We just returned from four nights at BBL and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is the perfect size for people like my husband and me. Not too big or bustling but not too small like a B&B. It's tucked away in the beautiful harbor with an amazing view of the bay and surrounding hills/mountains.

We got a romance package which was nice b/c it enabled us to do some things we might not have otherwise, i.e. Butchard Gardens and dine at the property. We enjoyed the pub very much and appreciated the professional but friendly service (hi to Carla our server!). We met a few locals who filled us in on the history and information on the area.

Our room was very nice with a good sized balcony, every amenity and a fun fireplace.
Happily, not a Victorian flower or tea cup in sight. Beautiful earth tones throughout and leaning toward modern and Asian decor. The bathroom had floor heating, a nice shower and soaking tub and lots of nice toiletries which were generously provided daily.

A few suggestions we have would be: put stronger watt bulbs in the bathroom over the sinks and light the BBL "entrance" sign at night, it's really hard to see. Otherwise, this was a wonderful getaway not too far from Victoria.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarborGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I’m not sure what’s left to be said about Brentwood Lodge except to echo all the positive reviews below. We spent 5 days/4 nights in August and loved every minute of it.
The rooms are a nice size, bed is very comfortable, balcony and view are fantastic, fireplace is fun, refrigerator is handy, fragrance of the wood construction outside the rooms is refreshing, and the double Jacuzzi with the folding doors/candles is a treat. My husband said that the shower is the best hotel shower ever. The bathroom as a whole is rather small – but really functional. Loved the heated bathroom floor!
It’s wonderful having breakfast and watching the birds out on the deck overlooking the marina. It was so peaceful and relaxing.
I was asked many times why I didn’t choose a hotel in Victoria: well the answer was a simple one for me. We live in a big city and this vacation was all about getting out of the city and back to nature. Brentwood Lodge fit the bill and delivered beyond expectations. Victoria is just a short drive in one direction - we made dinner reservations there two nights - and boarded the CoHo Ferry from there to Port Angeles the last day. Sidney is just a short drive in the other direction - we booked a whale watching tour one day from there and the next day boarded the ferry for a visit to Salt Spring Island from there. We took the water taxi to Butchart Gardens for the Saturday night fireworks outside Victoria………which was fun.
The spa is fantastic – wonderful manicure and massage on the day I arrived. No doubt where we’d stay should we be fortunate enough to make another trip to Vancouver Island. Simply a fantastic hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjverdl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We spent 4 nights at Brentwood Bay. It was a truly wonderful experience. The view of the harbor and the bay is peaceful and calming. Incredibly quiet. The rooms are good sized, and decorated very tastefully. A large comfortable bed, lots of window and sunshine, a nice fireplace, a great shower. We could just sit on the patio and watch the bay and the peninsula across the bay and relax. The restaurant was very good - a little pricier than perhaps it should be, but they were very good meals. The workout room was small but well provisioned. The marina had lots of bustle and activity, but it seemed ordered and calm. The ferry service was fun to watch.

I said at the end of the trip 'When have I been in a better hotel?" I could not think of a hotel I enjoyed more than this one. It really surprised me, but when I thought about how peaceful and calm this was, I confirmed my initial thinking. Maybe it is just the Canadians, but their service was very good as well - everyone was extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorCalDadPaloAlto_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,129 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
975 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant Ocean Suite features king beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing